We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in the Tree Top Cottage and it was very clean and nicely furnished with everything we needed to be comfortable and to cook our breakfast the next morning. It is situated near a grove of trees filled with singing birds morning and evening. Delightful! The host were very helpful and welcoming. This is a lovely place to stay, just 10 minutes from Raglan, but quiet, secluded and private.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFunVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Bellerby, Manager at Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us and for leaving a review. I hope we get to see you here again one day,

Cheers Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Magic! Fabulous break away for our 10th wedding anniversary. will highly recommend to our friends. Raglan is awesome! enjoyed the kayaking to pancake rocks a massage, cafes and curry at manu Bay at sunset stunning! Thanks for creating such a tranquil retreat at Hidden valley, a far cry from life with 3 noisy boys. The Spa was lovely,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Bellerby, Manager at Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for coming to stay with us. Look forward to seeing you here again when you get the chance!

Cheers Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urenui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Clean, orderly, secluded, quiet, warm, cozy, romantic, style-ie, and comes with a wonderful hostess!

Sheep great you as you make your way to the lodging. The accommodations are are well furnished, Then to top things off, you can sit in the hot tub, in one direction watch the birds fly in and out of the neighboring woods and in the other, watch the sun set over the rolling hills.

Divine!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrigitMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Bellerby, Manager at Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to leave a review. I enjoyed meeting you and your beautiful family and hope to see you here again one day!

dekuji vam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We discovered this place off the internet and decided to spend two nights. Wish we could've stayed longer! Absolutely beautiful backdrop, so very tranquil. Handy to Raglan as well. Can't wait to spend another weekend here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Bellerby, Manager at Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us at Hidden Valley Retreat and taking the time to leave a review.. Much appreciated! Hope we get to see you here again sometime to try the new unit out

Kindest regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We'd never been to Raglan before and wanted to find somewhere great to stay for a few nights for my partners birthday..The Mountain Views room looked Fantastic and was simple to book over the net and easy to find on the road. Only a short trip from Raglan itself..
Sue was very friendly when we arrived and because there had been a cancellation she offered us the Tree Tops Chalet to stay in both nights to which we were ABSOLUTELY STOKED!!!
It was a beautiful little 2 story Chalet, very stylish and with everything we needed ..The bathroom was HUGE and very nice, as was the Bedroom.. We did day trips around Raglan - Bridal Veil Falls and the Pipiwharauroa Walking and Biking Trail and Dinners at the Super Relaxed and Friendly spots in town..The weather was a fantastic 27 degrees all 3 days we were there and upstairs did get very warm - but we only had to look in the same cupboard as the Bathrobes to find a Fan..The spa pool was just the right temp and was a great treat after a long bike ride!! We even borrowed a chilly-bin for a day - No problem for the Hosts..
We didn't hear any Traffic from the road the whole time we were there, just cows, birds and cicadas..
We'd definately go back and would recommend to anyone looking for something better than just another Hotel room!!

Room Tip: The Tree Tops Chalet was a lot more secluded and out by itself - perfect for just getting away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hidden Valley was just the kind of place we wanted to have a relaxing holiday in - and we certainly weren't disappointed in the Tree Tops Chalet. We found it to be a lovely couple's private retreat with absolutely no interruptions. So beautiful looking over the hillsides and neighbouring bush with all the manu (birds) playing in the trees. We sat endlessly on the deck area playing guitars and sipping on a cold brew or two, not too mention several dips per day in the spa pool - which was incredibly tranquil at night time with the stars overhead and the candles lit. Our hosts Sue and Frank were very friendly and went out of their way when we had car troubles, which was gratefully appreciated. We will definitely be back to this little slice of heaven in Aotearoa - AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: The Tree Tops Chalet is definitely the one to book if you are wanting more space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Bellerby, Manager at Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us. I enjoyed meeting you and appreciate all your feedback to me. Hope you got home safely with the car! Hope to see you here again soon! Many thanks Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had such a great stay in the Tree Top chalet, just what we had both been needing. The setting was idyllic, quiet and very private. Loved the walk through the kahikatea forest, having a spa at sunset with the birdlife chattering and the general ambience of the chalet. The chalet was very well presented and the hosts were great to deal with. Will definitely be going back sometime.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Bellerby, Manager at Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thanks for coming to stay with us it was a pleasure to meet you and I hope you can back to us some day! Cheers Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
16.1 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
16.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
6.6 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
10.0 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat

Property: Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Address: 3205 State Highway 23 | Te Uku, Raglan, Raglan, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in a secluded valley ten minutes from Raglan, on thirty beautiful acres of picturesque farmland and native bush is Hidden Valley Raglan accommodation.We have two self contained Chalets, both with private outdoor forest edge spas, Perfect for a romantic and truly relaxing getaway. The decor and surroundings are all unique to Raglan.Our accommodation in the Waikato countryside connects with nature and we have preserved the natural environment for your enjoyment.Come and experience eco-friendly accommodation at its best - we are proud of what we have created at Hidden Valley and look forward to sharing it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing