We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service with outstanding wait staff”
Review of The Shack

The Shack
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Restaurant open 7 days, excellent food and table service.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best service with outstanding wait staff”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We enjoyed one night in Raglan and chose to have a light meal at The Shack. The meals we ordered hit the spot for the time of night and the occasion, but what impressed us the most was the service. The staff were on the ball without being in your face, nothing was too much bother. Our female waitress was just perfect! Highly recommend A+++

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nokeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    127
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best eats in Raglan”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Raglan isn't huge, and the Shack fits perfectly with that small town mantra. It was incredibly busy on the Thursday morning we were there, but the staff were incredibly good natured and attentive (they apologised for not giving us more attention!), and the food was delicious. My girlfriend commented that if you could move the Shack to London that she would eat there every day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Possibly the best breakfast ever...”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Coffee was top notch and food simply delicious. I had the chilli con which was just right and something different for brunch.My partner had the big brekko with pork belly. He loved it! Was really busy so knew it had to be good. Service was still good although very busy...highly recommend

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FinchyNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Group of 6 of us for dinner. Great food. Highlights probably the Peking Duck pancakes, pork belly and seafood risotto. Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Compass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and coffee”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I walked past this place a couple of times during my stay in Raglan and it always looked busy, which is a good sign. I visited for breakfast and timed it right, shortly after I arrived there were no tables left. It has an interesting menu with a few twists on the usual cafe fare, good strong coffee and great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

Raglan, Waikato Region
 
Raglan, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing