We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it so much we ate there three times in three days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shack

The Shack
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Restaurant open 7 days, excellent food and table service.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we ate there three times in three days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

There is no doubt in my mind The Shack has the best food in Raglan. It's healthy and absolutely delicious. Lunch the first day was good and the coffee fantastic, but breakfast on the next two days were outstanding! If we'd realised The Shack wasn't open for dinner on the Saturday night (winter hours), we'd have made sure to have dinner there on the Friday as well. The place was heaving and the signboard showing tapas and a few menu looked great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NZ_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    114
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch today at The Shack and it was great! I had the chicken and chorizo roti and Kate had the king fish. We enjoyed it so much, we are going back there tomorrow night for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziano di Fiemme, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped here on a rainy and windy Sunday afternoon for a quick bite before leaving this wonderful town! The cafe-restaurant was packed as we entered but luckily we found a place to seat. The waiting staff was efficient, nice and really friendly!
We had lunch, an amazing tasteful lunch in this good looking place, really characteristic.

NOTE: if you happen to be there when they have grilled pork, go for it! (Even though it was a little bit too sweet, that tasted like heaven!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“average all round”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

not overly impressed. looks fantastic however food didnt live up to expectation. over curried kedgeree and my husbands big breakfast over cooked bacon with rock hard toast. a real shame as great looking place and nice surroundings.... sorry guys need some work in the kitchen

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I'm an ex local. Walked in to the cafe and staff member asked if we wanted takeaways, which made my husband and I feel like she hoped we would. Decided to dine in (as originally planned). Hubby had mocha and poached eggs on toast. No complaints. I had salmon bagel (different but delicious) and iced chocolate which was not nice at all. Overall, nice but was not what we were after and the staff were lovely. Will try bakery out tomorrow :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JasmineTOP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

Raglan, Waikato Region
 
Raglan, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing