We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Bow Street Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raglan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bow Street Studios
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a great apartment, and I enjoyed staying here. It was conveniently located close to the estuary, town centre, restaurants etc. It was quiet, clean and well equipped. Only two small things niggled - the batteries had been removed from the smoke detector, and the stove top markings had rubbed off, making it difficult to turn off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    24
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
81
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

exellent location, very friendly staff, a great place for our last motel of our 5 week tour of new zealand. Thye upstairs bedroom had a wonderful view of the bay. we have limited walking and could get to the bay and town from here. very pretty outside area, clean and comfortable rooms

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When I booked the studio, I wasn't expecting much because it was a long weekend and everything had been taken. However, I loved it straightaway: the courtyard and the building itself. More surprises awaited us after the friendly owner opened the door. The area downstairs was tastefully decorated. Then we realized that it wasn't really a studio but a one-bedroom unit and the bedroom is upstairs that we checked out immediately. And oh my god, what a view it was! From the second level you have unobstructed views of the estuary and in the morning, you wake up to the sound of the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the cottage for one night in january just after new year.

The cottage is absolutely gorgeous, very well appointed and super comfy beds. The staff are helpful and made us feel very welcome.

The only downside is that due to its central location it's very close to a noisy nightclub (the Yot Club) a few doors up the road, and at 2AM when we couldn't sleep for the thump thump thump vibrating through the building and the screams of drunken girls in the street we had to call noise control at the council (0800 492 452) and get them to come and sort it out. We may have been unlucky, as it seems the venue isn't open every night, but if you're a light sleeper beware. It might be wise to check the website of the Yot club and see if they're having an event on the night you're planning on staying.

Other than the noise in the night, I can recommend this place in every other area.

Room Tip: If you're traveling as two couples, the cottage is gorgeous and better value than two studios he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthewgough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

As reviewers have pointed out these units are well located, spacious and have spectacular views, particularly from the bedroom upstairs, where you can lie in bed or sit on the couch to enjoy them.
However I found the cleanliness varied with the kitchen not being as clean as the rest - eg accumulated dust and cobwebs between fridge and cupboards, dust under sofa and grimy toaster, jug and microwave front. The unit was serviced after 2 nights, with fresh bed linen and towels.
While I would still choose to stay there, potentiaL guests should be aware that local kids gather in the vicinity of the wharf and can be noisy with lots of yelling into the night, and the band at the nearby Yot Club reverberates through the apartment some nights! Ear plugs will help.
The apartments, strangely, do not have washing machines, so longer term travellers don't rely on catching up on your laundry. I arrived mid afternoon and Strachan kindly let me use the office machine - much appreciated! Overall, very good but not quite perfect.

Room Tip: They are all well sited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just spent another relaxing weekend here. Apartments are extremely clean, large and well presented with everything you need. Great position at the end of Bow Street, short walk to all the shops and cafe's and a lovely walk around the river right outside your door. Great harbour view from the upstairs bedroom. Nicely set up patio area outside your lounge area. Great place to stay for a nice relaxing weekend

Room Tip: All rooms perfectly positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donny777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a lot of driving and sightseeing it was great to get to this large and airy studio. It is in such a good position with a beautiful walk by the water in cliff street just outside the door and all the shops minutes away .
Went on a most enjoyable sunset cruise which was great value as it included a fish and chips supper on board. can be booked at the Handmade shoe shop on the wharf.

Dominique was very helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed our stay here.














L

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raglan hotels
0.1 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Solscape
Solscape
#6 of 11 in Raglan
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Street Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Street Studios

Property: Bow Street Studios
Address: 1 Bow Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand (Formerly Bow Street Waterfront Accommodation)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, Waterfront, Motel Apartments More than studios, Bow Street Studios waterfront location offers seven beautiful self-contained, two-story apartments. Each Apartment has a grandstand view of our famous Raglan sunsets. No Payment required to secure your booking How big are the Studios? Bigger than an Auckland apartment! Guests are often surprised at the size, enjoy the homely feel and love being right in the heart of Raglan. Need more space? Choose our Cottage. Moved to Raglan by barge in 1874 it is one of Raglan's original homes. The cottage sleeps up to five, has a full kitchen and living area. It is Raglan's oldest bookable bach! Bow Street Studios welcomes you to enjoy your stay, in one of New Zealand's most unique destinations. Whether it's a romantic weekend away, a reunion, an epic road-trip, or an action-packed adventure you're after, Raglan is the place to visit and Bow Street is the place to stay when you need Raglan accommodation. Cafe's and restaurants are outside your front door. Within 20 minutes you could be paddling out to one of the world's best left-hand surf breaks, climbing the majestic Mt Karioi, or strolling with the kids to nearby Bridal Veil Falls. Our team are happy to help you arrange your itinerary! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing