We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic accommodation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bow Street Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raglan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bow Street Studios
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay - I felt relaxed as soon as I set foot in the apartment, with its wonderful view out to a garden from the lower floor, and the beach from the upper floor. Spacious comfy rooms, great setting, and lovely owners too. I'd highly recommend Bow Street!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otagotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
76
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in this accommodation on a business trip, but it was so enjoyable I would gladly go back for a holiday. The spacious studio apartments are immaculate, well equipped and thoughtfully decorated. Location is brilliant, too. Right next to some nice river walks. Despite being on the main street, which was convenient, it was well set back from the road itself and consequently quiet and peaceful. The apartments open onto a wonderful courtyard with river views. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming - it felt more like staying with friends! I would strongly recommend this accommodation and would definitely love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently stayed here for one night, the accommodation was gorgeous, nicer than some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed at in Auckland, very spacious and light and sunny. Would totally recommend! we will hopefully be back soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed only one night with my two daughters for a girls weekend away. Fantastic accommodation! Very clean, gorgeous view from the upstairs huge bedroom. The young lady who looked after us is a real asset. Very friendly and helpful, outstanding service, nothing was too much trouble. Great location, easy walk to restaurants, cafe and quaint township. Just wish we had been able to stay longer, will definitely return!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend for a romantic winter escape and we found the studio breathtaking! The studio was spacious, warm and beautifully furnished and decorated. The first accommodation I have come across where it really does look like the pictures! The views from our studio were gorgeous and we really enjoyed the privacy of studio 7. The best part? With prior arrangement by my partner, the owners turned our studio into a romantic setting while we were out to dinner. We returned to our studio full of candles, burning oils, flowers and chocolates on the bed.. the perfect backdrop for my partner to propose! Thank you so much for making this so special for us, we would love to come back every year for our anniversary. I cant recommend this accommodation and the hosts enough! Great location too!

Room Tip: Studio 7 is great for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLOVESP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Loved staying in these apartments perfect end to our nz holiday the view of the water from the upstairs bedroom was wonderful and great to wake up to each morning. Great location just walk over the bridge for a swim. Owners parents were helping out and couldn't have been more helpful. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athenscalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
187 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of a few weeks in NZ and what a great choice.

Raglan is a delightful town with a mix of restaurants, bars and the like that should suit all. We found it very relaxing and welcoming and did not want to leave - Raglan or NZ.

The studios themselves are delightfully suituated by the waterfront with a ground floor with lounge and kitchen area, and terrace - very comfortable, upstairs is a huge bedroom whose windows open in a concettena to give fantastic views over the river and bay. The bed is huge and very comfy. Bathroom has shower rather than bath - but very powerful shower and one of those great lights in the ceiling with a heater light in.

Hard to fault yes - if I had to find a fault it would be that there is not washing facilities - but even that turned to be a bonus when we tried a launderette for the first time - great fun - helped by running a triangle between the bank for change, the pub to wait (and seek a pint) and the laundrette itself - all adds to the experience....

Highly recommend Raglan and Bow Street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
22.1 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
0.3 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Street Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Street Studios

Property: Bow Street Studios
Address: 1 Bow Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand (Formerly Bow Street Waterfront Accommodation)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, Waterfront, Motel Apartments More than studios, Bow Street Studios waterfront location offers seven beautiful self-contained, two-story apartments. Each Apartment has a grandstand view of our famous Raglan sunsets. No Payment required to secure your booking How big are the Studios? Bigger than an Auckland apartment! Guests are often surprised at the size, enjoy the homely feel and love being right in the heart of Raglan. Need more space? Choose our Cottage. Moved to Raglan by barge in 1874 it is one of Raglan's original homes. The cottage sleeps up to five, has a full kitchen and living area. It is Raglan's oldest bookable bach! Bow Street Studios welcomes you to enjoy your stay, in one of New Zealand's most unique destinations. Whether it's a romantic weekend away, a reunion, an epic road-trip, or an action-packed adventure you're after, Raglan is the place to visit and Bow Street is the place to stay when you need Raglan accommodation. Cafe's and restaurants are outside your front door. Within 20 minutes you could be paddling out to one of the world's best left-hand surf breaks, climbing the majestic Mt Karioi, or strolling with the kids to nearby Bridal Veil Falls. Our team are happy to help you arrange your itinerary! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing