We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raglan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation
Ranked #3 of 8 Raglan B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had an absolutely lovely peaceful relaxing couple of days here at the cottage.Its cute and cosy.My partner even he said it was cute.The sound of the birds in the back ground,looking at the water from the property on a lovely sunny weekend stay felt like summer is just around the corner.Will be back .Awesome thank you.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyBoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suekendall, Owner at Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
So glad you had a good time- and look forward to seeing you back again to enjoy the magic that is our little slice or paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Water's Edge for two nights during winter. Photographs of the location looked beautiful and we weren't disappointed. On the harbour edge in a quiet bay a few minutes drive from Raglan township, the north-facing cottage captures all day sun. The new owners, Sue and Gus live in another home on the property, and had lit the gas fire before our arrival, so the 100 year old bach (the NZ term for an old holiday home) was nice and warm. Closest to the water is a long room with a comfortable queen bed at one end, two lounge chairs facing a television in the centre, and a dining table at the eastern end. French doors lead from this room to a sunny deck with BBQ, chairs and table. Separated from this room by a curtain is a room containing the kitchen and two cabinets of crockery and games. A small single bedroom leads from this. Beside the kitchen, at the rear of the cottage, is a bathroom with one basin, a good shower, and a separate WC. The only toiletries supplied are soap, so you will need to bring shampoo, conditioner, etc. In the kitchen, there is no stove, which may be fine in the summer with the BBQ outside, but was limiting in the winter. There is a microwave and an electric frypan, but to have a plug-in two burner cooktop provided would be a great help. Kayaks are available for guests' use, and would be ideal in the summer for stooging about the bays. Take binoculars for watching birds rounding up fish, and at certain times of year, orcas chasing kingfish up the channel. In view of the cooking facilities, and the lack of toiletries, we felt Water's Edge was a little over-priced, but the location, and warm welcome from Sue and Gus would mean we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Summer time ideal if you want to get out on the water in kayaks. Winter time cosy with the gas fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadarnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suekendall, Owner at Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review and the balanced feedback you have given. As the new owners we are always looking of ways to provide the perfect stay- we will investigate the suggestions you have made. We hope you may be able to make it back to Raglan another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

On the strength of the other reviews we thought we'd stay here for a couple of nights in July... but we loved it so much we stayed for a week. The cottage is so cosy, quiet and clean. And waking up on a winter's morning to look out over the water was just magical. Therese and Edi are the best. They made sure we had everything we needed and even sent us back the bits and pieces we forgot to take home with us... thanks guys:-) All the little touches like the cut flowers, the lovely china, and the quaint decorations made it seem that we really belonged there rather than just being visitors. We were very sad when we sat outside on our last night to look at the sun set and listen to the silence... but we still have the photos to remind us of this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage. There were just two of us, but there is another bedroom that would make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian_Thalamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaglanParadise, Owner at Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on your stay in the Beachfront Cottage. We really appreciate the time you took to do this, but also to know that you were happy and comfortable here, and that you received the parcel last week. We hope next time you need some 'r & r' you will come back. During the summertime the mountain walks are wonderful, and we know you had to eliminate them this time because of the weather. Kindest regards Therese and Edi, Waters Edge Raglan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

A wonderful spot with outstanding views. Edi and Therese are wonderful hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend here. The decor was tasteful and the extra touches - fresh flowers, real linen napkins and beatiful china - and it was only for breakfast, made it special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaglanParadise, Owner at Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your weekend here, and that you took the time to post a review on our site. Thank you! Do hope to see you here again so you can enjoy more of Raglan. Kindest regards Therese and Edi Waters Edge Raglan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This bed and breakfast sits right on the bay in Raglan is beautiful. We stayed in the cottage which was clean, quaint, had a kitchenette, could sleep 3 and had beautiful views. It was so serene it was a shame to have to check emails occassionally. They do have wi-fi and have the option for a continental breakfast. The weather turned while we were there so we were unable to make use of the kayaks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaglanParadise, Owner at Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
So pleased we have more guests who enjopyed their stay here, and also took the time to write a review for us. Thank you so much! Raglan has such a lot to offer both summer and winter, and hope you can get back here during another season. Take care...Kind regards Therese and Edi, Waters Edge, Raglan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Waters Edge lives up to it's reputation. Wonderful site, a cottage that could double as the old curiosity shop and charming hosts. At $185 a night it's beyond our usual tariff, but every now and then you should treat yourself, and this is the pace to do it.

Room Tip: We preferred the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaglanParadise, Owner at Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review on Waters Edge. We were so pleased you were referred to us and weren't disappointed. We enjoyed seeing you both taking a break here and enjoying the ambience of The Cottage and surrounds. We hope to see you here again some time.
Therese and Edi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Waters Edge is a truly amazing, beautiful place. Our three night stay started with being greeted by our charming hosts, Therese and Edi. Absolutely delightful people who couldn't do enough for us. Edi was a great help when we decided to go kayaking. They have all the gear. And the freshly baked bread by Therese, an added bonus. We stayed in the Cottage - highly recommended. Beautifully decorated with Therese's flair - warm, inviting and very romantic with beautiful views over Moonlight Bay from the private balcony. So peaceful and very private - an ideal spot to contemplate whatever it is you need to contemplate, both from the balcony or the chaise lounges on the beautifully manicured lawns. The beautiful gardens only add to the peacefulness
of the place. Both Therese and Edi are very informative of things to see and do around Raglan.
Super people who run a super retreat. Would return in a heartbeat. Thanks Therese and Edi. Gayl and Jeff McLachlan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayl and Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaglanParadise, Owner at Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are so appreciative of the time you took to write your review of Waters Edge. We loved having you both, and we hope it won't be the only time we see you here. So thank you. Hope you carry on finding places you can go to when you want to 'run away from home'. We have a few special ones up our sleeves too! Therese and Edi, Waters Edge, Raglan NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
20.7 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
1.6 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
5.3 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation

Property: Waters Edge Holiday Accommodation
Address: 100E Greenslade Road | Moonlight Bay, Raglan 3295, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas all enjoy beautiful water views and semi tropical gardens. Enjoy a peaceful, private haven with all the fun of kayaks, harbour cruises and safe swimming from our absolute beachfront location (life-jackets, provided). We offer excellent parking with only a 3 minute drive to great cafes, artisans and interesting and eclectic shopping. 30 minutes from Hamilton City, 90 minutes from Auckland International Airport.Both villas are self catering- so guests need to bring their own food supplies. The price per night is $195. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing