We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to end a great holiday in New Zealand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waoku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waoku Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place to end a great holiday in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

After eight days exploring the top of teh North Island, the Coromandel Peninsula and the Rotorua area we arrived at Waoku Lodge ready to rest and reflect on our holiday. It was teh perfect place - a spa tub that soothed the body and a beautiflly appointed unit along with stunning views, excellent food and drink soothed the soul. We loved every minute and can't wait to get back. Highly recommended for quality down time and to really get away from it all without sacrificing comfort or quality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midageSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    21
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
164
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

A group of 5 friends (all in our 30's) traveled throughout New Zealand for 2 weeks. We stayed at upscale B&B's throughout the trip and picked Waoku Lodge due to the reviews and description of the rooms. While the lodge was beautiful, upscale and modern, Rob's attitude was lacklaster. He did not greet us with a hello only that we were early and he had not finished cleaning the apartment. Once checked in, we had to unload the dishwasher ourselves, he never restocked the mini bar (and actually accused us of drinking a bottle of champagne that we purchased on our own at the grocery store), items were missing from the apt including silverware and we were given no trash bags. We were excited to BBQ that night but found that we were given a dirty BBQ with dirty BBQ cooking utensils and nothing to clean any of the dishes with. We left early the next morning and when we returned later (after putting the ‘please clean’ sign up on the door) that evening we were shocked to find that no one had cleaned the apt. The beds had not been made, no fresh towels given and no coffee for the next morning. Upon our departure we cleaned the apt to the best of our ability since we were given no supplies. Considering the cost of the lodge I would have expected better service and at least someone to restock and make the beds. We later received a very rude, childish email from the owner which prompted me to write this review. The room even had a complaint form in it, which leads me to believe that other travelers have also experienced issues in the past. I hope one day he learns what customer service actually means. This was the only place over our 2 week travel that we ran into someone who was unfriendly. All other hosts treated us as friends rather than inferiors and additionally complimented us on our friendliness and cleanliness. We were all very disappointed with the overall experience at this lodge. Plus, it was far from town.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank metzger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

We couldn't have picked a better place to spend our long weekend away together. It seemed Rob and Sharon have thought of everything to make the stay perfect. The food was exquisite and being served in the room was actually quite a refeshing change. We were left to relax and unwind in our room (it was actually a house!! with a very modern fully equipped kitchen, 2 bedrooms, living room, sky tv etc). The only negative i can think of is that the couches were a little small, but then again there were still two 2-seaters, so im nit picking really.

We stayed in the Matangi room and were treated to great views of the sea, a relaxing spa pool and a huge deck complete with sun loungers.

Raglan is a great little surf town, with huge waves and the must see 'Bridal Veil Falls' is only 20 mins or so away.

We definately recommend Waoku lodge to anyone and everyone!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EnglishmaninAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

My partner took me away to this exclusive lodge and proposed to me - total surprise! It was incredible .. the most romantic setting I could have ever wished for. Sharon and Rob did an outstanding job and went over and beyond their call of duty .. when I walked into our lodge Rob had put all the candles on and we had beautiful music playing ... lovely lighting with fresh cut flowers .. it was just so romantic. They had gone to so much effort it made our engagement. Our highlight was the degustation dinner - I highly recommend this to anyone who loves food. Sharon your food is some of the best I have tasted in the world.
To Sharon & Rob - thank you so much for all of your happy energy and effort that you put into making a memorable weekend.
Love John & Olivia

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed at this lodge at the start of our trip. We remember Waoku Lodge as one of the best places that we stayed in our 16 days in New Zealand.

Here are the good things about it:

* Location is gorgeous, and the view is stunning from morning to night
* The owners are generous, caring, and fun to talk with
* The food was excellent
* The apartments are tastefully decorated and far exceeded anything else we've seen in New Zealand
* It's close to the beach
* The building is built using a "swan's flight" design from traditional Japan castles -- you cannot see the neighbors from your windows. It's a brilliant way to design a lodge -- even when you walk outside onto the deck, your neighbors cannot see you.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

We found Waoku Lodge based on its high ranking in Trip Advisor, and it fully met everything we had hoped for. We stayed three nights in a luxurious two-bedroom apartment. The kitchen was miles better than what we have at home - it's got everything you could need. Best of all was the beautiful view over the bay, via our private patio and outdoor hot-tub, of course.

It's newly opened, and the owners take obvious care to cater to a high standard. Although there are good kitchen facilities, Rob provides a good-sized menu which he can serve to your apartment. We can recommend the wine he chose for us: Manu Bay. Personally, I found my main course too salty, but there was a wide selection of other dishes I didn't try. The portions were definitely on the generous side, perfect after a long day out in the country.

The only thing that some people might find a disadvantage is the location is about a ten minute drive out of town - however this does mean the lodge is in a peaceful setting. We loved waking up to the sound of the surf, just a few minutes' drive away.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the Waoku Lodge and the laid-back town of Raglan. We had only booked three nights and were sorry to leave so soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

My husband and I have busy lives in Auckland and were looking for a weekend getaway, I was also wanting the 'honeymoon' I never had! We choose Raglan as our destination, it seemed the ideal spot. We feel very lucky indeed to of found Waoku Lodge, this place is amazing! The luxurous feeling was instant, the food perfect and nothing was a problem as far as the owners were concerned. I would more than highly recommend Waoku Lodge. This is the ONLY place to stay in Raglan! From Imogen, Pt Chev Auckland.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imogenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
4.2 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Solscape
Solscape
#6 of 11 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
24.5 mi away
Quantum Lodge Motor Inn
Quantum Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
23.5 mi away
Kakaramea Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waoku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waoku Lodge

Property: Waoku Lodge
Address: 51A Whaanga Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waoku Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Mt Karioi, overlooking Whale Bay and the Tasman Sea, Waoku Lodge offers five-star luxury accommodation for the discerning traveler. Four self-contained apartments with ocean or bush views provide the base to relax, enjoy Raglan's arts and cafe culture or just chill on the adjoining decks. Surfing fans especially find Waoku Lodge a perfect base for watching for when surf's up and can be at Indicator's Point, Whale Bay, Manu Bay or Ngaranui Beach within minutes! Although equipped to a high specification for self-catering, an exclusive menu for breakfast and dinner is available with meals served in the privacy of your apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Waoku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waoku Hotel Raglan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing