We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!”
Review of Waoku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waoku Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I would highly recommend this place for anyone who is after a 5 star experience tucked away in the beautiful hills of Raglan looking out over the west coast! Amazing place and even better experience with Sharon going over and above looking after you as if your guests in her own home :-) just booked to go back with all the girls for a girls night away!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otucker474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    22
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
168
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We found Waoku Lodge to be a hidden gem! Amazing sea views from the hot tub on the deck, very comfortable beds and tasteful decor, clean and modern bathroom with a double shower and spa toiletries. A beautiful surf beach is only 2 minutes away, and it is only 6-8 minutes to Raglan town by car which makes it very accessible but it still feels like a secluded get away. The owner Sharon was incredibly friendly and knowledgeably and we will look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a 2 person spa on the deck however only one is a larger spa so it is worth checking w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We certainly did find a little sanctuary tucked away in Raglan. Welcoming, warm host who couldn't do enough for us. In fact she upgraded us as there was a no show. We had a grab one voucher which having now visited I can honestly say was a bargain. It included a late check out and wine on arrival. Perfectly peaceful retreat with fabulous views and total privacy. A short drive into a quaint small but popular surfers town. Enough to see and do for a relaxing weekend break.
The lodge furniture, fixtures and fittings were sumptous and cost had not been spared judging by the high quality and tasteful balinese style contemporary decor.
We will certainly return now we have found a secluded retreat of such guaranteed quality.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just wanted a quick weekend getaway - pleasantly surprised! Excellent location, apartment, and especially the service. Sharon was very friendly and accommodating, the apartment was more than ample, and everything we wanted (including food) was there! We will most definitely come back and make it a regular weekend trip - VERY highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itskazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Best birthday ever - Sharon upgraded our apartment from the Moana room to the Whenua which had the most spectacular ocean views. The atmosphere matched and the decor was absolutely stunning. Imagine waking up to the peaceful sounds of the tui's singing and the ocean waves crashing in the distance, with spectacular panoramic views to match. The hot tub on the deck taking in the views is breathtaking. To top it off, we had the best breakfast delivered to our room, which my babies loved the pancakes and waffles with the eggs benedict to die for. Waoku Lodge you rock!!! Once you stay, you don't want to leave. We will be back. Thanks Oriwa, Rueben, Ani and Jade

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Over the last 6 months my partner and I have stayed at Waoku lodge a number of times. On every occasion we have found staff welcoming, and the apartments meeting the advertised standard of a luxury self-catering apartment.
All apartments sleep up to 4 people. The kitchens use a large “Island” layout, which is perfect whilst preparing a meal - for fostering an inclusive atmosphere.
The kitchens are beautifully appointed and fully equipped. On most visits we have taken food to cook. You can also purchase groceries in the local Raglan supermarkets. If this is not for you, then the Lodge can prepare gourmet pizzas and snack food, which on some occasions we made use of. I found the food truly delicious and on par with 5 star hotels I have had the pleasure to stay in over the years.
The decor and furnishings are, in my opinion, is as good as any of the international hotels I have stayed during my 20+ years of business travel. Each is designed with a slightly different theme, all with a warm and comforting ambiance. This attention to detail has been extended to the large sun decks attached to each apartment - where I personally have spent many hours laying in the sun, reading or just watching the amazing vista.
Three of the four apartments come equipped with spa pools, two with a spectacular view of the ocean. The third is set facing away from the sea allowing for a very sheltered and secluded setting, ideal for weekends away with loved ones.
We have a few weekends pre-booked over a few long weekends for the remainder of 2014 - which will personally get me through the winter.
I have no problem recommending Waoku Lodge to the more discerning traveller, where quality and comfort meets the expectation.

Thank you so much Sharon

Room Tip: When making a booking ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukmk_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Sharon is an angel. She went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and at home. We came to Raglan on a surf trip and stumbled onto Waoku Lodge by accident. The food, the views, and most importantly, Sharon's attention to detail, make this a place that I will be returning to for years to come. Waoku Lodge is about as close to a slice of heaven as you can get!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btoddrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
3.9 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
3.8 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
23.5 mi away
Kakaramea Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waoku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waoku Lodge

Property: Waoku Lodge
Address: 51A Whaanga Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waoku Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Mt Karioi, overlooking Whale Bay and the Tasman Sea, Waoku Lodge offers five-star luxury accommodation for the discerning traveler. Four self-contained apartments with ocean or bush views provide the base to relax, enjoy Raglan's arts and cafe culture or just chill on the adjoining decks. Surfing fans especially find Waoku Lodge a perfect base for watching for when surf's up and can be at Indicator's Point, Whale Bay, Manu Bay or Ngaranui Beach within minutes! Although equipped to a high specification for self-catering, an exclusive menu for breakfast and dinner is available with meals served in the privacy of your apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waoku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waoku Hotel Raglan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing