We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Waoku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waoku Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Sharon operates a small choice of self contained units a few minutes from the Raglan town site.

The accommodation is spacious, well appointed and very clean. While these are self contained units, you are provided with the basics for tea and coffee, dish detergent and basic bath amenities.

The view of the Raglan coastline is great and we were treated to lovely sunsets, across well maintained and sprawling lawns. One should be travelling to Raglan for the quiet, the surf and the scenery. However, you'll want to stay (and return) for Sharon's pizza!

We had an excellent weekend and were well pleased with the treatment we received at Waoku Lodge. I'm reticent to say too much about our stay because we want to make sure it's not booked out the next time we want to head up to Raglan.

Thank you Sharon, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask Sharon, she'll give you a fair direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d-milne_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    22
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
168
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This place is SOOO AMAZING....super friendly hosts, fabulous 5 star accomodation...and views to die for!!! The perfect romantic get away - we had the best Valentine's Day / Night ever staying here. Can't recommend enough - will definitely book again :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I am not sure when to begin with this review but I wanted to take the time to thank the lodge and Sharon's hospitality. From the moment we arrived we felt extremely welcomed.
Everything about the experience was great. Sharon went above and beyond for us and we were extremely appreciative.
The accommodation is superb and luxurious, you really relax - one night and we felt quite rejuvenated for our working week. The spa pool on the deck is sublime and everything is top quality in the apartment itself - you really feel special.
The area is beautiful and close to Raglan centre and not far from the lodge you can watch all the local surfers finding the perfect wave. The views in the area are lovely.
I think whoever you are Sharon will welcome you the same way - this is stunning for couples wanting a romantic getaway but equally good for people like us who had a four year old in tow.
We left knowing we would be back - thank you to Sharon for being such a great and generous host!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

When you can relax in your private spa pool overlooking a magnificent view of the Raglan coast line and the Tasman Sea with a luxury self-contained apartment then you know you have really arrived!

Waoku has a five star rating and definitely deserves it along with Sharon who is a most gracious hostess who is looking to provide you with every comfort.

If you want luxury; if you want 5 star treatment; then in Ragland you have only one choice – WAOKU LODGE

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

There are not enough superlatives to describe Waoku Lodge! It offers beautiful scenery, complete comfort combined with luxurious apartments, and fantastic service. We stayed 2 days and arrived needing to rest, and left feeling rejuvenated. The apartment we stayed in had our own spa, and even though it rained for a day, we were able to enjoy the scenery from our spa pool, and totally relax. Once we arrived and relaxed - it was hard to make yourself go out and do anything! The lodge offers dining with 'room service' - and the food that Sharon prepared for us was restaurant quality, and absolutely delicious! I've stayed in many top class hotels around the world and the wonderful thing is that Waoku Lodge in Raglan matches my past experiences, and leaves little wanting. We enjoyed it so much that we have already booked a return visit. Sharon made our visit very special, thanks Sharon!

Room Tip: If you're not worried about the view and want total privacy, book the Moana apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raglan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had a great night here in one the apartments with a spa and a lovely outlook over the bush.
Sharon welcomed us in the afternoon and had a massage arranged for us. She cooked us a lovely meal of fresh fish, vegetables and salads from her garden. Dessert was an amazing taste sensation.
Breakfast was just as good the next morning.

Although we live just a few kms away, this was truely a relaxing night. We left feeling relaxed and chilled out the next day.
Everything was clean and tidy and the fittings are good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raglantripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Waoku lodge where everything was of very high standard.

To start with, Sharon, our host, had a little issue with our booking, but solved this by upgrading us to two lodges instead of one, with an even better view, all this for the same price!!! That is proper customer care!!

The lodges were very comfortable, spotless clean, and furnished with a lot of taste, not one of those fancy but generic interior. And the view from our terrace was amazing.

Breakfast (which you can order separately) was very good, I would highly recommend the eggs benedict, best of our all trip!!!

Finally, if you're a surfer, whale bay is just down the road...

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErwannJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raglan hotels
4.2 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
134 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
10.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
1.1 mi away
Solscape
Solscape
#6 of 11 in Raglan
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waoku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waoku Lodge

Property: Waoku Lodge
Address: 51A Whaanga Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waoku Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Mt Karioi, overlooking Whale Bay and the Tasman Sea, Waoku Lodge offers five-star luxury accommodation for the discerning traveler. Four self-contained apartments with ocean or bush views provide the base to relax, enjoy Raglan's arts and cafe culture or just chill on the adjoining decks. Surfing fans especially find Waoku Lodge a perfect base for watching for when surf's up and can be at Indicator's Point, Whale Bay, Manu Bay or Ngaranui Beach within minutes! Although equipped to a high specification for self-catering, an exclusive menu for breakfast and dinner is available with meals served in the privacy of your apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waoku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waoku Hotel Raglan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing