We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An afternoon of pampering at Waoku Lodge”
Review of Waoku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waoku Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“An afternoon of pampering at Waoku Lodge”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We (six grils) spent and afternoon at Waouku Lodge and were totally spoilt by Sharon and Rob. The setting was so tranquil with wonderufl sea views. Sharon's hospitality was just supberb and the food was devine. The treatments (massage, facial and manicures) were wonderful and totally relaxing. We got to enjoy the wonderful spa pool and just relax and enjoy a superb afteroon. - thanks Sharon and Rob and we will look forward to returning one day soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    22
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
169
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just far enough out of Raglan to feel pleasantly remote, Waoku Lodge's spacious rooms, gorgeous view, native birds and generous hospitality from Rob and Sharon was utterly seductive. Although we didn't eat there - we took Rob out to the local Cambodian, and the man has had a fascinating life -- the menu that Sharon offers looked superb.
The lounge/kitchen is spacious, there is Sky TV ("57 channels and nothing on," said Rob quoting Springsteen - he knows his music too), the local coffee he provided was terrific and the loungers placed exactly right on the large deck near the spa to kick back, loo at the ocean, listen to tui or watch massive wood pigeons fly past.
Restful, five star luxury without being showy, and very pleasant people. Highly recommended for a getaway weekend or a serious retreat. Rob says they get a lot of return visitors. I believe it.

Room Tip: There are sea views or rooms looking out into the native bush (Rob and mates have weeded out all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsewhereAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 day stay At Waoku Lodge. Its fair to say I am a pretty fussy customer having travelled extensively.

I'm happy to say that I can't recommend Waoku highly enough. What Sharon and Rob do so well are the things that are the surprise and delight. The sampling of duck pancakes left in our room. The little chocolate on the pillow at night. The beautiful range of spa toiletries replenished daily. The flowers adorning many surfaces giving a beautiful smell. The beautiful table settings for breakfast with exquisite looking and tasting food.

The service is amazing with nothing too much trouble and they are both local experts. Our apartment was beautiful. The photos on the website do not do it justice. We learnt Sharon has a fine arts degree and this attention to detail and love of the aesthetic is apparent in everything from the placement of flowers to home furnishings to table settings. Its this love and attention to detail along with exceptional care that stand Waoku lodge apart and gets a rare 5 star rating from this super fussy reviewer!

Its impossible to stay here and not have an incredible holiday -highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapeHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I decided to take some time away from the hustle and bustle of Auckland during the New Year holidays and found Waoku lodge to be the perfect retreat. Stunning views, more than comfortable accommodation and outstanding food made our stay a rare and appreciated treat. I would highly recommend Waoku lodge to anybody looking to escape for a few days!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Waoku Lodge in the Whenua Apartment, and for one night we were treated to pure bliss. The apartment was immaculately appointed, beautifully furnished and with a vista like no other. In the afternoon we indulged in full body massages, the Spa Therapist was an absolute professional and also gave us tips on the best swimming spots in the area. To top off the evening we dined on the most amazing lamb shanks I have ever tasted and followed up with a delicious dessert. Sipping a glass of wine in the private spa while watching the sunset can only be described as absolute bliss! Waoku Lodge is heaven on earth, the service and hospitality is world class. We are already planning our next stay and when we checked out I purchased one of their gorgeous handmade scented candles, so I could take a little piece of heaven home with me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyBMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Waoku lodge for one relaxing night in the Moana apartment. It was extremely spacious and comfortable, and we loved the access to our own private outdoor spa with partial ocean views. We pre-ordered dinner and everything was on time, fresh and delicious. It was a bonus to have both dinner and breakfast served in our apartment. Overall, it was a great stay and we would love to come back here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caliswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waoku, Owner at Waoku Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
And we'd love to have you back!
Wishing you all you wish yourselves for your future happiness together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had an amazing time staying here over the weekend with family.
The food was to die for and we had beautiful weather. Loved having our own private spa bath and waking to the sound of tuis.
Close to the township but seemed like we were worlds away.
Will absolutely be going back again.
Thank you Sharon. :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolliipoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waoku, Owner at Waoku Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raglan hotels
4.2 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
134 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
10.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
1.1 mi away
Solscape
Solscape
#6 of 11 in Raglan
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waoku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waoku Lodge

Property: Waoku Lodge
Address: 51A Whaanga Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waoku Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Mt Karioi, overlooking Whale Bay and the Tasman Sea, Waoku Lodge offers five-star luxury accommodation for the discerning traveler. Four self-contained apartments with ocean or bush views provide the base to relax, enjoy Raglan's arts and cafe culture or just chill on the adjoining decks. Surfing fans especially find Waoku Lodge a perfect base for watching for when surf's up and can be at Indicator's Point, Whale Bay, Manu Bay or Ngaranui Beach within minutes! Although equipped to a high specification for self-catering, an exclusive menu for breakfast and dinner is available with meals served in the privacy of your apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waoku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waoku Hotel Raglan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing