We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Journey for the senses”
Review of Waoku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waoku Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Journey for the senses”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a beautiful place to spend a romantic weekend. The site surrounding the lodge, which is encompassed by stunning native bush, functions as a natural amphitheatre where native insect and birdsong stimulate the senses and put one’s mind at rest at once.
The timber lodges are aesthetically pleasing and very successfully harmonize with and complement the organic surroundings.
One is greeted by very friendly and efficient hosts, who not only ensure that the guest room smells amazing by using only natural products, which do not interfere with the organic aromas from the surrounding environment, but also cook the most gourmet food, which makes the taste buds go wild.
The Waoku Lodge is not merely a place to stay on your journey, but a complete journey for your senses.
I would very highly recommend this place to anyone planning on a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    22
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
168
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

What a lovely place !!!
The apartment we stayed in was beautiful , warm and had a stunning view.
The dinner we had was very , very nice.....the scallop soup was to die for !!
The service and the touches of fruit,muffins and fresh coffee were perfect.
Would recommend this special hideaway for a quiet , tranquil escape !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband recently surprised me with a 'kid free' weekend away to Waoku Lodge in Raglan. What a treat! Couldn't wipe the smile off my face the whole weekend. The most amazing bush setting and ocean views and everything you could need at your fingertips! The spa looking out onto the bush and native birds were magic! Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moana lodge-very nice!!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My other half and I have visited in Raglan a number of times and stayed at a few different places – Waoku Lodge is hands down, the best. We have returned here a couple of times because really, no where else compares!!
Beds are SO comfortable, it’s quiet, the ‘apartments’ are more like luxury cottages with everything you need – fully equipped kitchens, lovely bathrooms, heat pump, Sky TV, a whole heap of DVDs….
Rob and Sharon the owners are LOVELY and go out of their way to help you – as an example, on our most recent trip, our car broke down, and they lent us their daughter’s car to use!
I can’t rate this place highly enough, and would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a great relaxing stay at Waoku Lodge this past weekend and would love to go back. It was a Sunday night which was perfect for us and we were delighted to retreat to the quiet and have time just with each other. The Moana suite was so comfortable and beautifully decorated, we enjoyed the spa out on the deck many times, the food was great, we loved having it delivered to us in our room, the bed was so comfortable. WE would go back this weekend if we could. The less than 24 hours away felt like a real little holiday. THANK you Rob and Sharon!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GMirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The stay here was mixed - so much potential - but not realized for us I'm afraid. Didn't meet Sharon altho she sounded lovely on the phone and whilst everything was ok, for the amount of money - even with a $10 discount on the advertised price per night - we felt the service needed to up its charm level.... It wouldn't take much but the thing about accommodation and the people that run it that brings us back - is warmth, aroha.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a special spot to escape to and relax in luxurious surroundings. Wish we could have stayed longer. As kiwis, was great to explore Raglan for the first time and be pampered. Weather was perfect too!
I am sure you won't be disappointed. The food was first class!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0yce57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
3.9 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
3.8 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
23.5 mi away
Kakaramea Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waoku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waoku Lodge

Property: Waoku Lodge
Address: 51A Whaanga Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waoku Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Mt Karioi, overlooking Whale Bay and the Tasman Sea, Waoku Lodge offers five-star luxury accommodation for the discerning traveler. Four self-contained apartments with ocean or bush views provide the base to relax, enjoy Raglan's arts and cafe culture or just chill on the adjoining decks. Surfing fans especially find Waoku Lodge a perfect base for watching for when surf's up and can be at Indicator's Point, Whale Bay, Manu Bay or Ngaranui Beach within minutes! Although equipped to a high specification for self-catering, an exclusive menu for breakfast and dinner is available with meals served in the privacy of your apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waoku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waoku Hotel Raglan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing