We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good taste of Raglan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raglan Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Raglan
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good taste of Raglan”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Staying in Raglan for business it was nice to have somewhere convenient to local eateries and not too out of the way. The rooms were fine, no problems. It was nice being able to use the courtyard area. If I stayed there again I would prefer a room on the second floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
77
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our second time staying at this motel, and again we were not disappointed. We stayed in a two bedroom unit, over two floors. The unit was finished to a high standard and had everything you could need. Also it had two bathrooms, unlike all the other two bedroom units we stayed in on our trip around the North Island.
The motel is located just a few minutes walk away from the main street.
We are already looking forward to our next visit to NZ, and this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked in November for a 3 night stay in February. We booked a two bedroom apartment. The motel advised that these were not actually at the motel but down the road a bit so we asked for something similar at the motel itself. We were told then that it would be a studio which we could live with but we were not told that it would not have proper cooking facilities. After being shown to our room and discovering this we went back to reception to advise that we had brought food with us and intended to cook meals, in particular breakfast. They were not at all interested in putting us in a room that better suited our needs. There is an electric frypan and some basic plates, utensils etc but no sink, no way to clean up at all. They told us to use the frypan then stack everything up when we went out in the morning and they would clean it up. We returned at 1:30pm on day 1 having purchased some local bread and fillings and everything was just as we had left it - no clean plates or cutlery. We went to reception again and asked why they hadn't done what they promised. Again not interested, we were told, they would get to us when they could. It was done eventually. On day 2 this worked slightly better. The room servicing is basically a dishes and towel swap. They don't make the bed or clean anything. On the third day they didn't replace the coffee or any other supplies which we discovered the next morning when getting up to make a coffee. We rang reception to get some. Again not interested, wait until 8pm until the office is open, tough luck, was their reaction.

Other gripes - despite booking a long way in advance we were given the disabled unit. We don't know why this wasn't kept for disabled people or last minute walk ups. Wasted on us. The bed was quite firm as many have said.

Good points - the location, which is an easy stroll to town and many other places is excellent and the courtyard in the middle with outdoor furniture was very nice.

Could be a great motel but let down by shockingly bad service. There is lots of accommodation in Raglan, try elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We tried to stay here for two nights but they couldn't accommodate us. Instead they found us a lovely place for the second night. The motel was clean, the facilities were immaculate and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked this accommodation a night or two before landing in Auckland. It's an ok drive after landing in Auckland and a famous place for surfing. The accommodation was typical, with no problems but nothing exceptional to give a 5 star rating. The room was spacious, had appropriate facilities and a comfy bed. The hosts were nice and polite. There was no view but a good place to stay for the night in raglan. The only disappointment was raglan itself, as from someone used to living by the beach for their life it is still a drive to get some waves and get to the main breaks. Overall nice and easy location, level walk to a range of restaurants, pubs and swimming in the lake. 4 stars

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Visited Raglan and accommodation limited in the town where we wanted to be based as I am in a wheelchair. This motel was the perfect location, flat and easy distance to restaurants and bar. The disabled accommodation was just marvellous. Clean, spacious, with all facilities needed to have a comfortable place to rest. All rooms have use of a central courtyard with tables and umbrellas as well as a barbecue. Welcoming staff. Upstairs rooms also have a balcony, downstairs we had a small decking area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

With rather limited accommodation options in Raglan we stayed here for a second time. Pleasant enough though nothing spectacular.

Bad points...
- No aircon and room nearby another businesses noisy chiller unit so sleeping with windows open proved annoying
- Firm bed (for those of us that prefer a little cushion comfort)
- Free wifi worked intermittently then not at all
- Sparsely appointed room

Good points...
- Pleasant and friendly motelier
- Large spacious and tidy clean room
- Good parking
- Close to town centre
- Large bed

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MCWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
21.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
4.2 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
231 reviews
21.8 mi away
Atrium on Ulster
Atrium on Ulster
#2 of 63 in Hamilton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raglan Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raglan Sunset Motel

Property: Raglan Sunset Motel
Address: 7 Bankart Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raglan Sunset Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Raglan Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing