We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raglan Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Raglan
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We tried to stay here for two nights but they couldn't accommodate us. Instead they found us a lovely place for the second night. The motel was clean, the facilities were immaculate and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Raglan Sunset Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 134 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked this accommodation a night or two before landing in Auckland. It's an ok drive after landing in Auckland and a famous place for surfing. The accommodation was typical, with no problems but nothing exceptional to give a 5 star rating. The room was spacious, had appropriate facilities and a comfy bed. The hosts were nice and polite. There was no view but a good place to stay for the night in raglan. The only disappointment was raglan itself, as from someone used to living by the beach for their life it is still a drive to get some waves and get to the main breaks. Overall nice and easy location, level walk to a range of restaurants, pubs and swimming in the lake. 4 stars

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Visited Raglan and accommodation limited in the town where we wanted to be based as I am in a wheelchair. This motel was the perfect location, flat and easy distance to restaurants and bar. The disabled accommodation was just marvellous. Clean, spacious, with all facilities needed to have a comfortable place to rest. All rooms have use of a central courtyard with tables and umbrellas as well as a barbecue. Welcoming staff. Upstairs rooms also have a balcony, downstairs we had a small decking area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

With rather limited accommodation options in Raglan we stayed here for a second time. Pleasant enough though nothing spectacular.

Bad points...
- No aircon and room nearby another businesses noisy chiller unit so sleeping with windows open proved annoying
- Firm bed (for those of us that prefer a little cushion comfort)
- Free wifi worked intermittently then not at all
- Sparsely appointed room

Good points...
- Pleasant and friendly motelier
- Large spacious and tidy clean room
- Good parking
- Close to town centre
- Large bed

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MCWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had to wait at reception on arrival and after two bell rings we were greeted and told where our room was positioned, no other information was provided. The room is ok, it was spacious, with a nice bathroom. The bed was really uncomfortable and I understand what others have said about the bed spread but I think it is just the material that makes them uncomfortable rather than them being old. Everything was clean and the balcony provided a pleasant outdoor space. The position of the motel is excellent close to the centre of town and easy walk to the beach. The only down side apart from the lack of welcome was no air conditioning. It had been really hot so all windows had to be open and noise could be an issue for some - but I dont think the motel can do anything about that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a nice place to stay in Raglan. Situated in the heart of town just a block off of Main Street and close to the waterfront. My room was very nice and clean feeling with large modern bathroom - nothing fancy. I would NOT in any way describe it as shabby as another recent reviewer described. Small kitchenette with fridge and microwave, tea pot and plates/utensils was very convenient for breakfasts and lunches. Nice balcony with small table and chairs to enjoy the sunshine and have a cup of tea. Nice courtyard area with bar-b-que, shelter, tables and chairs. Spa. Convenient guest laundry. Very inviting atmosphere.

The only down-side was the lack of a kitchen sink in the room. It was a bit awkward filling the tea pot in the bathroom sink. The staff did collect dirty dishes daily, but it would really be nice to have a place to stow that stuff until then. Another downer; there is a pub just around the corner that plays music...Loud...every night including Sunday. Closed doors does muffle the effect a bit, but still an annoyance. Luckily I carry ear plugs for sleeping. Except for the lack of peace, I would have given this place an "excellent."

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank MilouSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, Owner at Raglan Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback it was most valuable. It is our policy to service the rooms daily which includes removal of rubbish, supply new towels and replace all dirty dishes. It disturbs me that this did not happen. "I an sorry" it looks like this time we failed . I have spoken to all our staff to highlight this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights here and was not disappointed. Great position in the centre of town with beaches close by. The room had all facilities for cooking and a barbecue area for all to use. The Management were very helpful and showed us to our room and pointed out the jacuzzi. There was also facilities to hire bikes, kayaks and paddle boards. Would have no hesitation in recommending this as a base to explore a Raglan.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but prefer courtyard views
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert186266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
22.6 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 63 in Hamilton
948 reviews
22.6 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,162 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
0.4 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raglan Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raglan Sunset Motel

Address: 7 Bankart Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Raglan
Price Range: $111 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raglan Sunset Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Raglan Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing