We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raglan Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Raglan
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We paid more for this basic room than the luxury spa room the night before in Napier. Our room was on the first floor. It was clean and the bed was comfortable.The kitchen area had no sink .A toaster, kettle, plates, cutlery and electric frypan were provided but there was no work surface to use.There was a large shower room , a storage cupboard off the hall and a balcony overlooking the inner courtyard which would be very pleasant on a sunny day. The bar was not open when we were there. Perhaps it is only used for conferences or in the high season.The motel is in easy walking distance to the village,restaurants etc. The gentleman on reception was very friendly and helpful. We could park our car near our room.

Room Tip: All rooms would probably be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dustylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

nice and very accommodating people who welcomed us..excellent location as everything is on walking distance

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We made the decision to stay here based on the fact that it had a spa pool (we were tired and travel weary). When we went into reception to enquire about room prices, the man in the office quoted $140/night which we discussed in front of him and clearly stated that the spa pool would be nice.
After we'd checked in, we went to check out the spa. The spa had been moved out of it's footings, was empty and clearly not working!!!!!
When we queried this at check out we were told the spa had only been out of action for 2 days (it was quite obvious it hadn't been used for much longer than this). We told the man we were disappointed with this as we clearly stated in front of him at check in that the spa had been the reason we'd decided to stay here, and he had not mentioned it was out of action. He offered us a $10 refund which was quite an insult, so we left.
Over all, even if the spa had been working, this motel still wasn't worth $140/night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, Owner at Raglan Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Please read this review in conjunction with all other reviews, where in fact we score high in aspects of customer service.

Yes our Spa pool was out of action for two days whilst we fixed a major underground water leak, we have no recollection of a customer stating that they were booking with us on the understanding that we had a functioning spa.

This customer demanded a sizable discount (on checkout) and threatened to write a bad review if we did not comply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Helpful, relaxed staff, hassle free place. Gentleman at the desk who appears to be running the place is very nice. Had a small problem with our room at first but we were sorted and moved straight away. Comfortable and spacious and very well located with good facilities and no hidden charges.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarchMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spenrt a Saturday night at the Raglan Sunset Motel. This is a very clean and tidy motel with friendly service. The motel is just a few minutes walk from the restuarants on the main street, and the walk along the harbour edge. The motel was impeccably clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very roomy. This is a great place to stay if visiting Raglan for a few days.

Room Tip: I dont think there are any bad rooms. The street is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adderleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Had a one-night stay in the Raglan Sunset Motel this week. It's in a great location just a few metres walk to Bow St - the town centre where there are numerous cafes, restaurants and art & craft shops, etc. Our first floor room had a large King sized bed (two king singles joined together), a small balcony with a table and two timber chairs, two armchairs and a small table with three dining chairs. The kitchenette had a microwave and the usual furnishings including an electric frypan, but the only sink was in the bathroom. The bathroom itself was pretty basic. Soap dispensed from a fitted hand pump on the sink and a similar one in the shower. Bath & hand towel for each guest and a bathmat for the shower. But no frills and no other toiletries provided. That said, it is a simple beachside motel. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the room was very quiet. No complaints, but at $150 a night we thought it was over priced, given our other accomodation experiences these last few months.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We just stayed here over Christmas time for 2 nights & We really enjoyed our Stay here. The Owners were very helpful. Polite & very Friendly & couldnt have been kinder. Unit was very Clean & Spotless. Very Peaceful Surroundings.
We would most certainly stay at Raglan Sunset Motel again.
Thank you Raglan Sunset Motel.

Room Tip: Very Comfortable Beds & all amendities were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferrit47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
22.6 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
962 reviews
22.6 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,188 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raglan Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raglan Sunset Motel

Address: 7 Bankart Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Raglan
Price Range: $110 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raglan Sunset Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raglan Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing