We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Sunday lunch”
Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 71 Restaurants in Berkhamsted
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Great Fresh Food, Top Quality Beers, Wine and Spirits and cheerful friendly team!
Tring, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent Sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we went here for Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday and we were all welcomed warmly and professionally. Our party of 6 all enjoyed our meals, the quality of the food was exceptional and no-one had any complaints. They ever organised a small birthday cake which really helped take the stress out of trying to smuggle one in. I felt that the bill was very reasonable too and wouldn't hesitate in returning here again in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    171
    121
    88
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“lovely gastropub food.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

went here for a special occasion and it was very good. most of us had a steak and they were all very well cooked and seasoned. the only bad point was that the type of steak one of us had ordered was not available so they had to pick another. great food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast At An Exorbitant Price”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I strolled down to The Old Mill specifically for breakfast and was aghast to discover that a very mediocre breakfast cost £10.00! Along with the usual tomato, toast and beans there was only one egg, one sausage, one rasher of bacon and one mushroom! Adding insult to injury, coffee is not included in the price! I must add that there is "free" toast, butter, jam and honey but these condiments are open and in a jar; serving oneself after several others have dug their knives in is, in my opinion, rather unappetizing! While the breakfast itself was edible, it is certainly not worth the exorbitant price and, having felt that I had been ripped off, I shall never eat there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew-AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my second visit and personally wouldn’t have gone but for the fact our group of friends had already arranged the restaurant. I had the crab cake to start which was dry and pretty much tasteless. This was followed by the gammon steak which was heavily salted to the point of being unpleasant but the chips were ok. The waiting staff were polite but the service was below average. £36 per head wasted.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M7CKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“a great sunday treat”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

just moved around the corner to the old mill so will defo be a regular and i have to say it was lovely last night - we went in for a drink at lunchtime and it was so busy we decided to go back in the evening

it was quiet but great service ( unfortunatley a few items were off the menu due to a busy lunch but what we had was yummy) - i am a veggy so it wasnt that easy finding stuff on the menu but the waiter happily swopped things over to suit

lovely venue, lovely food - a tad pricey hence the 4 stars not 5 but worth it

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing