We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Penny Farthing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Pinner, Middlesex
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small hotel centrally located”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at The Pennyfarthing as we were attending a wedding at Berkhamsted Town Hall. We arrived early and were able to check in before 2 pm. The friendly welcome immediately relaxed us. The hotel car park is secure with a barrier which is useful as the hotel is located in Berkhamsted High Street. The room was large and clean. Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked which makes a change from the "hot" buffet larger hotel chains offer. We enjoyed our one night stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuesPinner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
42
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
An American living in Northwest England
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at the Pennyfarthing for one night, needing something within walking distance of the train station. I would rate it highly for a comfortable stay.
Our room was very attactive (pretty, contemporary furnishings, moden bath) and had all the amenities I expect for such a stay -really comfortable bed, nice linens, two slightly different pillows (one firmer, one softer- a nice touch), tea kettle and makings, hairdryer, great shower and toiletries. Very good TV, too. It also had a few extra touches, like a trouser press and an iron in the closet. And unlike some much fancier hotels I have visited, the WiFi was free and had a good strong connection.
Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Plenty of help-yourself cereals, fruit, yogurts etc. and a nice menu of hot choices cooked to order. I had fried egg and bacon, cooked just right by the friendly woman on duty. I will add that she saved us quite a bit of money on our train fare the next day by giving us good advice for a more economical route to reach Kew Gardens, much appreciated and completely accurate, as it turned out.
I give the Pennyfarthing a very high review, not because it is the swankiest or most luxurious hotel I have ever stayed in, but because for a small hotel, it fulfilled all our expectations, with cleanliness, amenities and friendliness in abundance.
Berkhampsted looked lovely, several attractive restaurants right around the corner, nice High Street we didn't have time to explore, and a lovely canal through the town with canalboats active on it, and a canal-side path looking like it would be a beautiful country walk... if you didn't have to be catching the next train like we did. Train station was about a four minute walk away.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, and were given a room furthest away from the main street -and yes, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJP-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I did an overnighter here while attending a function. The service was excellent and very friendly. Room very nice, clean and quiet, with all the bits and bobs you need (tea, coffee good tv etc). Breakfast was excellent, being freshly cooked by a lovely welcoming lady in front of you. The only downside is that the breakfast room is rather spartan and echo-y.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at Pennyfarthing when my first choice hotel was full over xmas. I thought that I had stepped into an old persons bedroom! The decor was in need of bringing into this millenium. In saying that, the bed was comfortable and clean.

I thought it was expensive for the location and facilities. There is no bar or restaurant for evening meals. They are attached to a Cafe Rouge but you cannot charge anything to your room, not ideal for the business traveller.

There is a breakfast room which distinctly lacks character. You can hear a pin drop as there is no TV or radio being played. Staff were friendly and service good at breakfast but needs something to bring the whole place to life.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 879Kevin_G879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

the staff here were always helpful and friendly, we stayed here a few times while in town and each time was great, the rooms were not overly large but they were big enough and had the amenities needed and were always clean. the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was also nice getting cooked as you order so always fresh, the hotel is situated in the centre of the small town and easy to walk to the supermarket and town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vampslayer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I read the previous review and felt prompted to write a review in favour of the hotel. I have just returned from a two night stay and once again had a very enjoyable stay in this little hotel. I stay at the Pennyfarthing each time I visit a relative and have always been made to feel a very welcomed guest. The receptionists are always friendly and helpful and our room has always been nicely presented, the bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the whole embience has been warm and welcoming. Yes the shower on this stay was noisy but not an issue and the room and bathroom was clean to a high standard. I am surprised by the previous '1 night only' comment left. I have stayed at another hotel chain just on the outskirts of Berkhamsted and that was one of the worst experiences I have ever had and wouldn't recommend anyone staying there. The Pennyfarthing is by far the best place to stay if you are staying in this area. It is a small friendly hotel which I'd choose everytime over the chain hotels and the parking is safe with a coded barrier. Thank you Pennyfarthing for another nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokiejoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We chose The Pennyfarthing as ideally situated for a function in the town. The receptionist, a friendly a helpful woman, showed us to our room which was on a strange corridor on the street, off the courtyard. The smell of damp on entering the room couldn't be masked by the plug in air freshener. The patch on the ceiling may have been the culprit. On entering any hotel room I do enjoy plonking myself down on the bed to start any possible relaxation, however I had to strip off the grubbily stained counterpaine to do so. Apart from some splattered tea like stains down the inside of the bathroom door and grubby bathroom skirting, everything else was very clean. The air con and dark dingy room were welcome on the hottest day of the year. The complementary shower gel etc is probably the cheapest of the cheap, combined with the thinnest toilet paper, screamed out we're cutting cost but will still charge you £90 a night for the displeasure. The full English in the odd canteen was very good though. On leaving, a different receptionist didn't bother to ask us about our stay or provide the exit code for the car park or a smile. There is nothing welcoming at all about The Pennyfarthing. Not a picture or a flower in sight. It's fine for one night if just needing somewhere to rest your weary head, but most definately over priced. We were glad to finally get that exit code and go home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaia405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Berkhamsted
224 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
3.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
744 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
408 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penny Farthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penny Farthing Hotel

Property: The Penny Farthing Hotel
Address: 296-298 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Penny Farthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing hotel is nestled in the market town of Berkhamsted, providing stylish, comfortable rooms perfect for a business or leisure stay. Our sister hotel just down the road, the Kings Arms, is available for fantastic food and drink during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Penny Farthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyfarthing Hotel Berkhamsted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing