We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful meal!”
Review of BlueBella Roo's - MOVED

BlueBella Roo's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bluebella Roo's is a fine dining restaurant in Berkhamsted. We specialise in modern British cuisine, with high quality food and friendly and unfussy service. With an intimate setting, we can cater for up to 18 covers and private hire functions are available. Whether you are looking for a party venue or somewhere to have a romantic dinner, Bluebella Roo's is the place to be.We are open for dinner from Tuesday to Saturday. As one of the few independent restaurants in Berkhamsted, we are free to change both the menu and wine list quickly and easily. At the moment we change the menu every two to three weeks, using fresh, seasonal produce from local suppliers.So, if you are looking for something a little bit different, come in and try us out.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful meal!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spotted this when wandering in Berko and booked this evening. Fabulously presented, sublime quality. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rswworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    30
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having read previous reviews of this restaurant, one is naturally sceptical about so many 'Excellent' comments. Having lived in the area for years, and eaten in most local restaurants, this one one we had not heard off. So off we went to see if it really was this good. We were not disappointed. It really does feel like an intimate, almost personalised dinner. It is a small dining room with about 6 tables, and the lack of soft furnishing does make it a little noisy. The staff and the food however are the finest we have experienced in this area. A very warm and friendly welcome awaits, with the kitchen and chef just off the dining area very visible . Menu is brilliant ; enough, but not too much choice. I could have ordered anything and everything! Starter of sea bass with crab mayonnaise was extraordinary and the chicken with black pudding for main, a brilliant combination. Good portion size and really sticking to the principles of fine dining was very pleasing. The wine list caters for a variety of tastes and will suit the wine amateur all the way to the connoisseur. We had a lovely bottle of Riesling and a glass of Merlot with the main. Overall I feel I have made new discovery in quality dining in this area. Clearly run by a young team with a passion for good food, attention to detail and exceptional service. More decor to soften the noise of other tables would be my only suggestion. Despite this, we will, without doubt, be back - very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best of Berko”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Without doubt the best eating experience in Berkhamsted. Fantastic food, super service, amazing atmosphere. Highly recommended

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“At last”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I've waited 20 years, it's finally here. This is the restaurant Berkhamsted has been crying out for. There are some good chains, more not so good chains but nothing like this. Yes it's small but who cares. Modern, understated decor. Front of house laid back but v professional. The food? Well what can I add to other reviews? This chef is a bit of a star in the making. Won't waffle on about what we had as the menu changes(quite rightly) on a regular basis. Can only say the halibut was beautifully cooked and worth every penny,as were all three courses. I can only add we will be back and this chef(and the front of house) are ones to watch.FABULOUS

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsypickieuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The trouble with 5 star reviews...”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

is that the everyone will want to go making it harder for me to get in next time! However this place is so good I couldn't not give it a mention on here. Best food in Berkhamsted and the surrounding area by some distance coupled with relaxed great service. Will be back soon! Thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonBerko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BlueBella Roo's also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing