We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashridge Estate

Ashridge Estate
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Berkhamsted
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ashridge Estate consists of 5,000 acres of woodland, chalk downlands and meadows. You can walk for miles and see a variety of wildlife such as Fallow deer and Muntjacs as well as the more common, foxes, badgers, squirrels etc. We have a well-stocked shop at our visitor centre, as well as toilets and a non-NT cafe, which serves hot meals all day long. If you need help when you arrive you will find a helpful volunteer on the reception desk who can point you in the right direction.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We live in walking distance of the Ashridge Estate and count ourselves lucky. The views are scenery is stunning you almost always see deer roaming and it's peaceful even when you have to share it with other peopel

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wetravel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    123
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We went for a walk on the estate and enjoyed it. There are a lot of people about, walking dogs, running, riding horses, Everyone having a good time. We particularly liked the fine autumn colours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Black_Doris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Woodland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I live on the estate so am slightly biased, but the change in the seasons is always spectacular.
Spring is beautiful with the early daffodils and foliage greening up. Summer is always busy with walkers and picnickers, but stray off the well used paths and you will see plenty of wildlife.
I have often encountered a fox sunbathing in a secluded spot or when I was horse riding I have met large bucks resting behind large trees. The fawns are born in June and in early evening I watch them jumping around with their fellow youngsters whilst mummy grazes.
Autumn is amazing with the change in the colour of the trees, stand on a high point and scan all the different shades of green, or walk down Thunderdell drive under a canopy of red and orange foliage. Watch the deer rutting oblivious to an audience.
Winter can be bleak if the snow is heavy but it is peaceful, glorious blue skies and crisp frosts.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The forest is ever changing, and each season brings with it beautiful sights. Even if you walk the same trail, your walks are never the same. Go there early in the morning to see the deer, then stop at the cafe for a nice hot drink!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Lise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Free national trust woodlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The woodlands are beautiful! It would be nice to have visited when the bluebells are out!
There is a cafe and a gift shop with some nice chocolate, chutneys and jams.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashridge Estate also viewed

 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Ashridge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing