We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian choice”
Review of Verandah

Verandah
Ranked #26 of 71 Restaurants in Berkhamsted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $63
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian choice”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have paid many visits and always find the staff charming and very attentive. Although I am a keen meateater when it comes to curries, I decided after a friends recommendation to try some vegetarian dishes. They were excellent with my favourite being the bean and cashew nuts.
This being said, the meat dishes are just as tasty and full of flavour.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzy4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    9
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best curry in Berkhamsted”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We often go here for a curry. The service is excellent and the food very good. There is a meal deal night on Sunday and Tuesday which is excellent value. We are never disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“appauling”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Through the location, i decided to have a take away from Varandah. Whilst i cannot comment on the staff or service in the restaurant itself, the food was dreadful. Popadoms stale, rice was a compressed mush and any of the sauces and curries were flavourless. Even the chicken in one curry was hard and dry. I will not be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited this restaurant with friends and were given a friendly welcome by the staff. The menu was wide ranging and apart from the standard dishes served in all Indian restaurants it also featured many unusual choices - all of which sounded delicious. We were all impressed with our meals and the service was also good - although it was fairly quiet the night we were there.
I would certainly visit again, mainly because there are so many new dishes to try out!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mabel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The food was very good with a range of vegetarian dishes. Prices were reasonable. I went with a very large party so unfortunately service was slow though the food was worth waiting for.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnH887125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verandah also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing