We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the Doctor ordered”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Martins Pond

Martins Pond
Ranked #5 of 69 Restaurants in Berkhamsted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $65
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Melanie, Neil, Daniel and the team warmly welcome you to Martins Pond. As valued guests to our home we aim to exceed your expectations in the delivery of everything from the food to the ale, the wine to the service all within a relaxed & informal atmosphere.Being passionate about our business we endeavour to provide the best quality produce and have selected local suppliers to ensure outstanding results.Following the reviews on this website we have also extensively refurbished the bar area as we honestly value our customers experience and listen to constructive criticism
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just what the Doctor ordered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Found on TA, Martins Pond is just as described. In need of a place to have a bite to eat after walking our dog, Martins Pond is perfect. There are four walks from the pub (maps on the website) of varying lengths and difficulty. We did the red route in just under and hour returning to have lunch. Service was prompt, food was freshly prepared and prices were very reasonable. We will return!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChunkyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    110
    37
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chesham bucks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous food..a chef to keep an eye on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a freehouse, run by independent free thinking souls, who source all ingredient locally; it’s difficult to improve upon. I have been eating the delightful creations of the chef (Andrew Mayersbeth) over a few years now so decided to visit this establishment. He cooks with honesty and integrity before ravishingly adding his unique creative flair.

The Bass was as and generous good as I have tasted anywhere, served on a bed of mashed potato, ginger and chilli..piquant light and refreshing. The pork belly with crackling, apple crumble and black pudding worked so well (we shared). The pork beautifully tender and moist, the portions spot on. Put good people together and this is what you get, wonderful food prepared with passion. Delightful service too, thank you all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrCaretaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly, rural pub & vegetarian Sunday roasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked Sunday lunch for 4 with our elderly dog. We weren't disappointed, the pub is lovely; facilities & setting. The atmosphere was perfect, not too crowded or noisy but lively and interesting. The food was tasty, vegetarian and conventional. It was so nice to be able to take the parents out and have traditional Sunday roast vegetarian style, that's what my 95 year old father appreciates! Most importantly for me, Melanie & staff were genuinely welcoming & understanding of our 16 year old dog who needs to be with us. She was offered healthy doggy treats on arrival, which mum-in-law almost nibbled by mistake, and a comfy towel was provided for her to curl up on, due to the hard wooden floor. Meg enjoyed the fuss from everyone & it made the whole experience more relaxed for us all. Thank you for a day dad can remember & being truly inclusive, bless you all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic food and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first time and we were really impressed with the food and service, especially given the price was firmly in the "normal" price (e.g. a high street chain).

The menu read like a list of recepies from Masterchef. I had the salmon & haddock crabcakes on correnation coldslaw and it was divine. This was followed by Duck on pearl barliey which was succulent and well seasoned. Dessert was their take on sticky toffee pudding and again very good. I tried some the other dishes in the party and the taste/quality was high throughout.

We visited on Saturday evening and the place had a nice relaxed atmosphere but still bubbly. On less busy days it my lack atmosphere but wouldn't most places.

We'll be going back very soon - one of out definite favourites.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No atmosphere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The food was ok but there was no Restaurant atmosphere!
We felt like sitting in a waiting room of a station.

Shame, the lack of cosiness ruined the entire dinning experience.

Not coming back...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank travelguide08186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPond, Owner at Martins Pond, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us.

Unfortunately sometimes like a Monday or Tuesday evening we are quieter and other times like the weekends we are extremely busy to the point people that there are so many people a previous reviewer said he felt cramped.

We would love to be consistently busy every day but unfortunately in 7 years of running Martins Pond we know it just doesn't happen like that, especially straight after the school holidays when there's less money around

Would welcome you to try us one more time by coming back on a Saturday or Sunday if you prefer a bustling atmosphere as I know you'll enjoy the experience far more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martins Pond also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Martins Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing