We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of Martins Pond

Martins Pond
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Berkhamsted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Iain, Chris and the team warmly welcome you to Martins Pond. As valued guests to our lovely country pub,we aim to exceed your expectations from the moment you enter,delivering the friendliest service possible within a relaxed & cozy atmosphere. Being passionate about our business we endeavour to provide the best quality produce and have selected local suppliers to ensure outstanding results. We have extensively refurbished the pub to create a wonderful space for any ocassion, whether it be a leisurely lunch, family dinner, or just a few cheeky drinks!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Another great lunch at MP. Have the roast beef on a Sunday as its served slightly pink and rare. Have some local beer from Potten End where the pub restaurant is in. Great staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marminiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    115
    42
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“This one's a winner!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We visited this attractive venue on a dank,miserable day and were welcomed with a roaring fire and cheerful staff. The restaurant is very highly rated by patrons and this first visit confirmed their enthusiasm.
From a fairly limited but very interesting menu we chose the duck spring rolls and red snapper both of which were very well presented and delicious. Our main courses were duck breast and a sirloin steak,both of which were cooked to perfection,my steak being exactly as ordered,with home made chips and salad.The portion sizes were large,my steak must have been 10 ounces.
Washed down with a very acceptable glass of house wine there was very little room left for a pud,but I made space for a delicious home made honeycomb ice cream,ably assisted by my wife with spare spoon.
All in all an excellent meal served by very cheerful staff in pleasant surroundings.
Pricewise it's at the high end of pub food but well worth the money given the quality f the meal.
Having said that,we were on a 2 for 1 deal,which made it a fabulous bargain!
Lovely location overlooking a pretty pond and village green; ask about their loyalty scheme.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden 5* dining....”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our last meal together as a family before our daughter went back-packing for a year!
I have driven past Martin's pond many times without really noticing it, and we only booked because of the Trip Advisor reviews and were really pleased we came.
Personal service from the time we arrived until the time we left.
All 5 of our party had different dishes - all were delicious - highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyAppeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Visit by family and friends eight of us in total”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visited the restaurant which is part of Martins Pond Public House on 4th October 2012 with friends and family. The greeting was very friendly and we were shown to our table which was neatly set. Our drinks order was taken and our pre-ordered starters and main course was served quickly and efficiently with a nice smile from the staff. Every member of the party remarked on enjoying their starters and main courses which were well cooked and presented. Compliments to the Chef. I would not hesitate in recommending the Public House and especially the restaurant to couples or a large party. The owners make a point of enquiring if you enjoyed the meal and service received.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good dining pub”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a nice venue by the Green and village pond of Potten End. There's a small car park on the other side of the road from the pub. There is seating outside for when the weather is warm.
Inside the hostelry reveals its direction: both the main bar and a light airy conservatory style extension are filled with tables set out for dining. That said, there were a couple of real ales available when we called in for lunch: Fullers London Pride; and more interestingly, a seasonal beer from the local Tring Brewery stable.
The market it is aiming at appears to be a mid-range gastro-pub. So the menu has more class than a standard array of platters/surf & turf styles at the low end of the market, but nothing too risky or esoteric that might scare suburban Hertfordshire - kind of New-English with a nod to the French. It also very wisely keeps the menu structured and tight, essential to maintain quality in a small establishment aiming at fresh in-house preparation. Beware such places with menus extending across pages - it inevitably means much has been bought in or is pre-prepared, and merely heated up.
The place was quiet, unsurprising on a Monday in October, but it was a pleasant lunch in a polite and friendly atmosphere, with more than acceptable service and well created and cooked dishes with good flavours. Prices at the higher end for the market it is pitching at, but not excessively so.
We would happily visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11diner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martins Pond also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Martins Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing