We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shame”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Tamworth, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A shame”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Kings Arms for 1 night as we were attending a function there. our room was lovely 4 poster bed and a beautiful walk in shower I could'nt wait to use, unfortunately when waking on Sunday morning there wasn't any hot water the boiler had broken so I never got to use the shower! The breakfast could have been warmer.
The function we attended was very badly organised by the KA and was no where near enough food for all the guests and was not what had been ordered and paid for by the hosts.
As we had travelled nearly two hours to get there and the disapointment felt by our friends, we will not be visting again and would definately NOT recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    49
    45
    35
    29
See reviews for
47
65
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Godd on the surface, however the staff are grumpy and on every Friday and Saturday night they have private functions until 1am which don't cool down until 2am. The rooms are situated around the function room whith very loud music. I stayed on two nights and suffered until 2am both nights. The staff couldn't really care despite repeated calls to the front desk. They need to DECIDE whether they are a HOTEL or a pretentious club for the kids of Berko who think they are from Essex!

In addition the rooms are very overpriced £140 I would expect proper hotel service - not that akin to a Travelodge"

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkhamsted hotels

Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for a three day business trip. Had stayed there several years before and it has got much. much worse!! The car park has disappeared and you now have to park several hundred meters away in a public car-park. When I asked about this the receptionist said with a sneer "you haven't come by car have you? Most people come by train!" The room I had was cold (it was in one of the outbuildings). The heating wasn't working and they'd left some oil-filled electric radiators - but not enough to warm the room properly - and the cleaner kept unplugging them! The barman was also very pretentious and was either mute or refused to speak - just seemed like he couldn't be bothered with customers. I'd avoid this place at all costs - it is very expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakmanInns, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry to hear you felt disappointed with your stay. Please email us at marketing@oakmaninns.co.uk and we'll look into your experience and try to restore your faith in the Kings Arms. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

On the face of it, a nicely modernised pub style hotel but has a serious identity crisis. We booked most of the rooms to attend a wedding. On the Friday night they held a disco, not connected with the wedding party, on the first floor, where most of the rooms are located. Worse, this went on until 2.00 am. Despite our scrupulous care to book people with walking difficulties into ground floor rooms, these requests, having been accepted and checked again prior to our arrival, went completely awry. The restaurant is great and the breakfasts lovely but there are staff training issues and questions over cleanliness in public areas. Cigarette ends had been left on the stairs from the rowdy late night clientele which gave a poor impression the following day. The rooms, mostly very well appointed are of no use if you can't sleep in them and taking people's money for them when you plan to run the place as a nightclub is tantamount to fraud. Avoid.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else entirely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceFansBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakmanInns, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi there, we're sorry to hear you felt you were disappointed with you stay. Please email us at marketing@oakmaninns.co.uk and we'll look into your experience and try to resolve any issues. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Kings Arms hotel for a wedding - the hotel room and bathroom were lovely, and I was impressed by the decor, and the quality of the food.

However, the noise was utterly unbearable - we were located behind the outdoor bar, and the windows were jammed open for fresh air (we were unable to close these, and when we tried to call Reception, it was closed). The bar itself is open to 1am, and the noise eventually simmered down at about 1.30am.

I would love to say I could recommend this hotel to friends, or visit again, but I'm really not sure I could with that level of noise, and especially at the rate you pay for that level of noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had booked a night in kings arms for a Saturday night. They had some terribly noisy party in the function room on the same floor with the hotel rooms. The function room isn't anyhow isolated from the residents area, so we had drunken people running through the corridor shouting and for them to see my annoyed face seemed fun!! You could hear that party even in the bar downstairs which was full of people talking, so you can only imagine HOW loud it was in our room.
Contacted the staff about 10pm about the noise, they were trying to sort something out with change of rooms, but as it took them more than hour, we just packed our stuff and went back to our nice London flat.
I think charging £120 per night to torture clients is disgrace indeed. Avoid this place at all cost!
Food in the restaurant is all right but won't blow you away, probably bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMIka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi there, we're sorry to hear you felt you were disappointed with you stay. Please email us at marketing@oakmaninns.co.uk and we'll look into your experience and try to resolve any issues. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in a family room which is extremely near to the outside bar area. When we arrived back to our room at about half eleven that night it was to about 100 people outside in the bar area. The noise was so bad that we basically waited until 1.30am till everyone had gone before we could even sleep. The pinkie room is opposite the kitchens and at various times staff are outside smoking. There was also bins very close to the rooms where glasses were noisily tipped into them at past midnight.
The rooms even though they look ok they do not function well. A tiny corner shelve in a huge bathroom, a mirror in the corner of the room and when having the sofa bed out it was very hard to manoeuvre in and out of the bathroom. A soap with hairs on it was left in the shower much to my husbands surprise when he decided to have a shower.
We did complain the next day and they did give us a 50% discount so instead of £120 for the night it was £60 which I think is a more realistic price for this so called boutique style hotel.
The restaurant was pleasant and the surroundings are nice which is a shame as this could be a great hotel.
Last but not least when you put on your menu breakfast slow roasted vine tomatoes and sautéed mushrooms it would be nice to get that instead of half a small mushroom (surely we deserve a whole one!) and half a bulk standard tomato with a few herbs on top to disquise the fact they are not vine tomatoes.

Room Tip: Check your room does not overlook outside bar area and kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybaby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakmanInns, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi there, we're sorry to hear you felt you were disappointed with you stay. Please email us at marketing@oakmaninns.co.uk and we'll look into your experience and try to resolve any issues. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
4.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms Hotel is a fine dining restaurant, boutique hotel and bar. Recently refurbished this historical building has been modernised offering quality in all departments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing