We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting a little more...”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I was expecting a little more...”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I'd heard good things about the other Oakman Restaurants so thought I'd give the King's Arms a try. Initial impressions were good, a nice interior and attentive staff. I found the menu a little lacking but I presumed they adhered to the only-a-few-things-but-all-done-well school of cuisine.

My partner's meal arrived (Pepper Croquettes ) and it was beautifully presented. Mine on the other hand (Sea Bass Fillets) looked a little like less than impressive. Fillets (plural) turned out to be just a small single fillet and the chips were burger-joint style fries. For 17 quid I expected a lot more - both in terms of quality and quantity.

Post- meal there was also an unpleasant smell of old cooking oil emanating from the kitchen.

I'll no doubt go there again but it's been relegated to a place to take the kids for lunch rather than a special evening out with the Wife. As mentioned in another review - the Gatsby trounces the place.

On the plus side though - our waitress was superb as was the Prosecco and the other wines we drank. Oh, and the sticky toffee pudding, despite looking a bit 'instant' was very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommy_Brk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    52
    45
    35
    29
See reviews for
47
69
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

6 of us had a superb meal on Good Friday night. The change in the menu has worked out very well but some favourites like the scotch Egg starter have stayed. Attention from our waitress was very good and she got all of our requests right. I imagine we were not the easiest to serve. The seafood platter was excellent as was the rib of beef for 2. Even the wine price was reasonable.
I highly recommend a visit soon. When the sun shines the courtyard is very pleasant for a pre dinner drink.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We came to eat , surprised to find a bouncer and the bar heaving ! We were kept waiting for our table , but the staff were great and kept us informed . We were also given a bottle of wine while we were standing waiting for our table
The food was excellent, the atmosphere buzzing and the staff brilliant
We will come again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I really enjoyed my meal at the Kings Arms; the portions were perfect and it all tasted lovely. However, I really didn't like the way that everything was served on a wooden board! It meant that my chips kept falling off the side and there was not much room to spread the food out, as many people like to do. Bring back the old-fashioned plate! Also, considering we were 2 of only 6 other people in the restaurant, it took over 45 minutes for our starters to arrive! But they were delicious so all was forgiven.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Law86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My stay at The Kings Arms Hotel in Berkhamsted was very enjoyable. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. I had lunch in the restaurant on my arrival and was blown away by the cottage pie I had. It was well presented and was possibly the best cottage pie I have ever tasted! I also had some bread to start which was freshly brought in that day and it was gorgeous. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and restaurant to a friend or family member and will be coming back to stay at some point again this year!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_bunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I have visited twice now for lunch and also tried to book business events via mail. The restaurant is hot, noisy and on the second occasion smelt of un changed cooking fat. Service was slow on both occasions on the second visit I went to the bar and to place my own drinks order, had to get up and fetch the waitress to find out if there were any specials. The bar guy sympathised and said the drinks would be removed from the bill, this did not happen and as I was desparate to escape so didn't push the matter.

We will be sticking with the Gatsby where the quality of service and atmosphere never fails, and holding our company meetings in the private dning room at the Old Mill which again keeps up a good level of service and more importantly appreciates the business. Red Lion from the same chain at Bourne end gets it right maybe they should swap mangers for a while!

Hopefully the rooms will will live up to the London prices and I will be booking some next month for US based colleagues, it will be interesting to see how this goes keep you posted

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequentdinner10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkhamsted hotels

Hertfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Just eaten at the Kings Arms this evening after being taken over by the Akeman crowd, Decor very nice, waitress very good even though it was her first evening, attentive but not overcrowding.
Food was good until we got to dessert, starters and main course were very good, though menu in general was a bit was a bit heavy going and 'samey' with the sweet potato, the desserts were abysmal, sticky toffee pudding was a ball of what seemed microwaved to death dry ?? I'm not sure what to call it. Chocolate . port and plum trifle was nothing short of disgusting, I have never left a dessert in my life but this one beat me. The chocolate plum and port slop in the bottom was unpleasant, the layer of rubber(Custard??) was powdery and quite revolting, the cream or whatever was on the top was beaten to butter and then chilled to death. I always look forward to a good dessert but these were, very sadly, disappointing. There was no option for someone who wanted something a bit lighter for a dessert either. You have got your dessert menu very wrong which is a shame.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uk-Traveller300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Penny Farthing Hotel
The Penny Farthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
118 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
399 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
408 reviews
6.7 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
614 reviews
5.6 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms Hotel is a fine dining restaurant, boutique hotel and bar. Recently refurbished this historical building has been modernised offering quality in all departments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing