We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Place”
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
View from Lanai (facing North) Map to the Retreat at Rum Point
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
View from Lanai (facing North)
Map to the Retreat at Rum Point
Aerial view of the Retreat
Star in your own Corona Commercial
Typical Beach Crowd
Rum Point Pier
Exterior Location of Rum & Kai
Rum & Kai 3rd Floor Walk-up Entrance
Dining Area
Dining Area
Living Area
Dinning Area and Entertainment Center
Bedroom with King Bed
King Size Bed
Bedroom Windows
Living Room - Sleeper Sofa Bed
Kitchen
Kitchen
Full Size Washer & Dryer
The Pool
The Pool
Retreat's Game Room and Gym
Retreat's Gym and Game Room
Tennis Court
Snorkeling at the Rum Point Boulder Coral Garden just out the door
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the way to the house reef
Sting Ray City Sandbar trips leave from the Pier
Get up close and personal with a Ray!
North Wall Diving
Bio-luminescent Cove across the Street
Hammock at the Neighboring Rum Point Club
Water Sports Rentals at the Rum Point Club
The Wreck Beach Bar next door
The Wreck Beach Bar next door
Neighboring Rum Point Club Dinner Restaurant
Kaibo Restaurant and Bar (1 mile down the road)
Starfish Beach near Kaibo
Your Own Private Beach
Shady Casuarina Trees
Shower
Bathroom
Beach from the Point
On-Site Management Office
Floor Plan
Retreat Site Map
Evening Fireworks
Perfect End to the Day
View flying back home :-((
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rum Point, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colette S
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for spring break this past week and lets just say, it was difficult to leave this condo, weather and island. We fell in love with the outstanding snorkeling right outside and the quiet and uncrowded beach right outside our doorstep.
The owners have a beautifully decorated space that was spotless. They have thought of all the comforts of home and then some. We typically stay at all inclusive resorts however, we loved this condo and would definitely come back to stay. The weather was perfect while we were there and couldn't have asked for more. So glad we chose to be away from 7 mile beach and have this place to call home for the week.
We used Red Sail Sports next door for dive trips and other excursions, Walter and Fozzy were exceptional men to deal with. We also did the bio luminescent Kayak tour next door and it was a little disappointing. We had lunch at Tukka, Kurts Corner and Over the Edge and all were good places to eat. The lighthouse Sunday brunch was spectacular and the Lobster Pot was a nice dinner.
The island was simple enough for us to get around and Matt and Tracys detailed instructions were much appreciated. We will definitely recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
345LuLu34...
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at The Retreat early in January. I can not say enough good about The Retreat and Lucky Condo #13. We were looking for rest and relaxation and that is exactly what we got. The beach area is perfect for relaxing, lounging...and snorkeling! We did LoTS of snorkeling! Right off of the beach area around The Retreat was some of the best, easiest and most varied marine life! The condo lacked nothing! Clean, fresh, relaxing, excellent view....comfy bed, LOTs of towels...perfect. Thanks!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This condo has it all! The screened in porch has a beautiful view with comfortable furniture to relax all day. The bed was very comfortable also and there was plenty of room in the condo to spread out. We enjoyed the beach and the snorkeling outside the door. They do a wonderful job of providing all the basics you may need so you can relax and enjoy yourself.
The Retreat is a quiet get away from 7 Mile Beach with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The Wreck next door is a great place to have a drink or meal and the view can't be beat! We can't wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Matt and Tracey are very easy to work with.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great home away from home”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location with lots to do close by. Put on your snorkel gear and just go right out. Go next door and book your visit to sting ray city. Local restaurants and secluded beaches with snorkel-tunities are nearby. The condo is a 3rd floor walk up, is modern and well-appointed, and is in a very well-maintained development. Wi-fi worked very well and the HBO connection allowed us to watch the season finale of Game of Thrones. Great way to relax after a day on the water. The kitchen is nice, well equipped, and conducive to cooking enjoyable meals. The outdoor charcoal grills proved useful too. The screened in porch was a nice place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine at night. One of the greatest features? The quality king-sized bed in the master bedroom. It was absolute bliss. Thank you so much. Yes, we want large comfortable beds when we travel.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msupsic
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Grand Cayman, for the Do-It-Yourself Kind of Person”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Like many tropical islands, the Caymans have their share of polished, glitzy hotels and jewelry shops, high-end restaurants and expensive homes. Georgetown (on the west end) is a mix of the aforementioned ritz, alongside of cheesy souvenir shops, loud tourists, cheap piña coladas, bargain beach towels and flip flops for the loads of cruise-ship tourists.

But the rest of Grand Cayman - the friendly natives, peace and quiet, the beautiful blue water, the flora, the fauna, the food and the culture: This is what staying at Rum and Kai will put you in touch with.

Located far from the hustle and bustle, on the breezy tip of Rum Point, about a 45 minute drive from Georgetown (you need to rent a car to get here from the airport), the Rum and Kai rental is everything you see in the pictures. There is no embellishment, no stretching the truth about the location or the view - it's exactly what you see here. This is Grand Cayman for people who like to do things in their own way.

The apartment is very clean and well-appointed. No cheesy island decor, it's tastefully dressed and has all the standard amenities. The kitchen is well-equipped and we had no problem cooking meals. There is a dishwasher, should you need it, a clothes washer and dryer too. Everything works, there is no broken equipment or things falling apart. The space sleeps 4 comfortably, but there were only two of us, so all the better.

The rental is on the third floor, so you have to climb a few steps to get there. Keys are kept in lock boxes so you don't have to forget or lose the keys in the ocean somewhere.

Some people will want to run the air conditioner, as it gets pretty hot here. We preferred to open the windows and doors and just let the breezes wash through the room. We didn't use the air conditioning all week. There are screens on all windows/doors and the patio, so no problem with mosquitoes or other creepy-crawlies.

The beach in front of the rental makes for a beautiful view, but is pretty rocky and probably not the best place to go for a swim. No problem at all, just a few hundred feet down from the apartment is Rum Point Beach, which has pristine aqua waters, lounge chairs, and depending on what time of year, almost nobody in sight.

The Rum Point beach features two simple bar/restaurants right on the beach, that serve nibbles and a variety of Island drinks, most notably the original Mudslide which they claim as their own invention. They're really nice there and you'll find a revolving cast of Expats from all over the world serving up the drinks. They rake the beach clean every morning and set up shop with care. There is also a higher end dining establishment there, but it was closed during our stay.

Matt and Tracey are very thorough. My wife and I have rented many places abroad and sometimes you're left with some questions. Between Matt and the condo association that looks after the Retreat, you'll get extensive instructions and guidance through the booking process, and lots of friendly tips and suggestions too.

Shopping centers are closed on Sundays, so the condo association offers to pick up groceries for your arrival if you need something. This came in handy for us, but be advised they charge ($20 C.I.) for the service.

Between Georgetown and Rum Point, there are no shortage of excursions you can buy from local tour guides. The most popular are trips to Starfish Point, Stingray City, and Snorkeling points on the island. These trips tend to be expensive, and often show you only a brief glimpse of the location. If you rent a car, you can actually see a few of these things on your own. For example, Starfish point is a ten-minute drive down the road. There is also a rental booth next to Kaibo Yacht Club, where you can rent a kayak for $35US and see the mangroves and bio-luminescent bay.

Matt and Tracey's condo provides all beach towels and even snorkeling gear should you want to explore. I suggest this approach to paying for an expensive excursion. You can see some beautiful ocean life right on Rum Point, or by asking locals for good snorkeling spots. Just pack a lunch (in the provided coolers) and do it on your own terms.

If you have a car, pretty much everything is within reach. There are grocery stores for your food and provisions, liquor stores for your rum, beer and cigars.

If you're feeling lonely and want some company, there are plenty of good restaurants within half-hour's drive. I suggest Over the Edge Cafe, which is deceiving in looks but has a great back deck and some amazing local cuisine, and Tukka (on the east side), an Australian Michelen-star rated restaurant that serves LionFish tacos and Australian Rum. Kaibo on the Beach is a five minute drive away, has great outdoor seating by the water and offers fairly healthy options like ceviche, hummus and chips. There is a fruit stand along the highway that sells local produce too.

I'd also suggest making the 45-minute drive to Georgetown at least once, to visit the "fish market" by the harbor where the catch of the day is cleaned and prepared for you to take back to the kitchen and enjoy.

From high-end glitz to low-pressure living, staying at the Rum and Kai affords you the ability to do Cayman in your own way. This is the perfect home base for a mix of quiet reflection and an island immersion experience, and for such a reasonable price too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breezes at night, coming into the condo. The view from the patio.
Liked least: Shower water pressure could have been better.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhops1965
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a first trip away from mid-teens children to reconnect. All I can say is wow! What a great condo. We've traveled (as a family) to a number of condos at various locations along the east coast and the Caribbean, but this is by far the most comfortable, warm and clean unit we have ever stayed at. Has everything you need...everything!!! Extremely CLEAN. I can't recommend this enough!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieQS
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unit #13 at The Retreat in Rum and Kai”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Rum and Kai is an absolute paradise! And The Retreat, where we stayed, provided us the best accommodation and venue for a wondrous vacation. Unit #13 is especially a comfortable place -- it is not only tastefully decorated but it has everything one needs while away from home, including all the gadgets and equipment required to enjoy the beach and all that Cayman has to offer. My husband and I went with our 10-year-old grand daughter and all three of us enjoyed swimming, snorkeling, soaking in the sun, dozing off in a hammock, lunching on cheeseburgers and fries, and enjoying nature itself- everything right in "our backyard"!! Such an experience is priceless and we're definitely going back to Rum and Kai, and specifically staying at Unit #13 again! That was a delightful week's vacation, we did not want it to end!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance afforded by the accommodation, as well as its location vis a vis the beach and the other water activities in the area.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing