We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bay Gardens Hotel(Rodney Bay)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$297
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Palm Resort(Rodney Bay)(Great Value!)
$303
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
$176
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
blu St Lucia(Gros Islet)
$103
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Gardens Beach Resort(Gros Islet)
$186
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ginger Lily Hotel(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie's Hotel(Gros Islet)
$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Palm(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (7,297)
Filter reviews
7,297 results
Traveler rating
4,808
1,596
506
222
165
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,808
1,596
506
222
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla toccrepesclub levellondon pubour honeymoonenglish pubmain poolbutler servicebutler suitespeedboat tourjerk shackred lane spast luciafort rodneyno pressurelagoon poolpigeon island
Filter
Updating list...
3,578 - 3,583 of 7,297 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have stayed at this resort before, and were delighted to find that things were just as we expected. From check in to departure and everything inbetween all went smoothly and standards were as good as, if not better than, we remembered. The room was maintained to a high standard, the staff throughout the resort were cheerful and helpful, and everyone from the General Manager to the lady cleaning the room was happy to stop for a chat. We also enjoyed every meal - the overall standard of food at Sandals continues to improve as the years go by. We did pay extra for a Butler room, but we would not criticise any aspect of our stay. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Pay the premium for a better room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked our wedding moon at the Grande St Lucia as we had heard that it had an excellent reputation. We were not disappointed. Our wedding planner Monica was fantastic. she forfilled all of our expectation of a dream wedding. Monica planned it as if it was her own, every detail was perfect even though we changed it several times so thank you to her and her team.
The hotel was amazing, there were seven restaurants and the food was fantastic in all of them from the butler service to the pizza and crepes. It was very clean very tidy very modern and our room was breath taking , we had a swim up pool room on lovers lagoon. All the staff around the hotel were friendly attentive and genuinely interested in our wedding and us as guests. We found them to be so lovely from the house keeping team to restaurant staff even the management team were fun and mixed with the guests and held cocktail parties for all who wanted to attend.
The ground to the hotel were kept to perfection, manicured daily, pools cleaned daily the beach was swept and cleaned daily. We genuinely had no complaints about anything , everything was so beautiful, everyone was so happy and friendly and we had the most fantastic wedding on the beautiful beach . If any body was thinking of getting married at this resort or just stay for a vacation stop thinking just do it you will not regret it, our wedding moon was a dream come true and will stay with us for the rest of our lives and we will definitely be going back for an anniversary or two. Thank you Sandals

Room Tip: for that little extra treat get a club level room you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went for a relaxing week and were not disappointed. The room was great. The staff were all very pleasant and willing to help with anything. The playmakers were good at getting many people involved in the activities everyday. This Sandals could add more in the line of Restaurants. There is not to much of a variety and we felt the trip to one of the other locations for a meal was to long. We would definitely return to this location in the future.
-Team Moxy-

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Team-Moxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I only heard fantastic things about Sandals and specifically about the Grande St. Lucian resort from a friend who had stayed there years ago. My husband and I thought it would be the perfect place for a honeymoon. While the grounds were lovely and St. Lucia itself is amazing, our first experience with Sandals was not something we reminisce about fondly.

Our originally scheduled flight was canceled due to severe winter weather, but thanks to our amazing travel agent (who worked relentlessly to make sure Sandals had a room for us early and got us on an earlier flight) we were able to start our honeymoon as we planned. We were very excited to get our vacation started.

When we first got to Sandals, it was around 2:30 pm, which is only half an hour before check in time and we still had to wait about 2 hours for our room to be ready. When we were finally taken to our room, we were extremely disappointed. There was absolutely nothing in the room that indicated we were on our honeymoon, which we know our travel agent made very clear to Sandals. To us, this was a very special trip and we were expecting there to at least be a cute heart made of towels or something - anything - signifying this special event. Secondly, the room was outdated and dirty. The curtains were stained, the bathroom was old. The tub actually had mildew/mold and was stained and rusty. I still can't even believe that they put people in that room and charge them upwards of $800 per night for it!!

We phoned our travel agent to tell him that we were unhappy with the room to see if there was anything he could do. In the meantime, we decided to try and make the best of it and get ready for dinner. While I was getting ready, my husband discovered a large blood stain on one of the pillows on the bed. The pillow itself actually had a BLOOD STAIN on it, and a pillow case over it. Once he saw that he went to the front desk and demanded they change our room ASAP. A representative from the hotel came up to the room to see the blood stain and advised us to go to dinner and during that time they would bring our things to a new room. Thankfully, the new room was perfect, it was exactly what we thought we were going to be in, what we picked out online. It was very clean and the bathroom was very nice, definitely updated fairly recently. There was still nothing signifying our honeymoon in the new room when we were moved into it that night. When we came back from the beach the next day, they FINALLY had pretty rose petals set up, with some champagne, and a plate of cheese, crackers and fruit. It was lovely, and what we thought we would have seen the moment we stepped into our room.

Another thing we did not like at all at Sandals Grande was the lack of courtesy shown to us from the staff. We were often answered with one word replies, and with attitudes as well. We felt like a lot of that stemmed from the fact that Sandals doesn't allow their staff to accept tips. There were definitely a few of the staff who were friendly, and nice, but the majority of people we interacted with did not seem to be very happy. We totally understand that maybe Sandals doesn't want their guests to have to worry about carrying around cash to tip everyone with, but if the service the guests receive is going to suffer as a result, I am sure people would gladly tip for a job well done. I know we would be more than happy to show our appreciation to a bartender or waitress who made an effort to be friendly with us and show us they care.

There were also no pool or beach waitresses. This seems crazy to us, based on the amount of money people spend to stay at Sandals. The drinks are also completely watered down. This is kind of expected, but when you have a waitress bringing you a new drink every so often, it's not as bad. It seems the only way you get that kind of service is with a butler level room. They also charge you $15 PER DAY for WIFI, and they don't even have a computer or office room in the lobby for guests to use. Again, this is crazy - for the amount of money being spent here, WIFI should not be an extra charge.

To make up for our room disaster, they did take the time to make dinner reservations for us for the duration of our stay, so that was nice.

The island of St. Lucia is amazing, the people who live there are great, and every excursion we did outside of the hotel was awesome. As far as our Sandals experience goes, we were sincerely underwhelmed and will not be going back to a Sandals resort at any location, nor will we recommend Sandals to other people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KristenM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hello Kristen,

We were so disappointed that your first Sandals experience did not live up to your expectations. We apologize if you felt that you were treated with anything less than a hospitable nature and I assure you that this is definitely not the the norm for us. We value your input, as it is a crucial tool in perfecting our guest services. I will be notifying the resort team of your concerns immediately and they will address them promptly.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This Sandals was by far the best we have been to, the staff, grounds, room were great. There is only two things I hope they improve on the first is more restaurants, the second would be another beach bar, other than that it was a fabulous stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sloopy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews