We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveler rating
468
249
47
28
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
468
249
47
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reduit beach richard michelin virgin crew pool bar st lucia rex resorts separate shower beach front resort and spa two sinks sitting area air canada the general manager rodney bay area turn down service beach vendors all inclusive option
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 810 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile



We had a wonderful time at the Mystique Royal St Lucia Hotel. All staff are extremely friendly and will always greet you when they walk past.

Reception

Easy and quick check in by Shannon. With Kriston our bell boy getting us a tropical drink and cold damp flannels to wipe our face. He then took us to our room and showed us all the facilities in the room. There was a complimentary fruit basket which was nice.

Bedroom and Bathroom Facilities

These were very clean along with our living room. Only issue for me is they cut fresh flowers to decorate the room and so there were very tiny ants crawling around. So I immediately had to throw them and wipe everywhere down. Once this was done it was all ok. See pictures

There is a separate bath, toilet and shower which is good, but we did not like the single sliding glass door between the latter two which was odd and impractical. In addition there were 2 sinks.

Hanging space, plenty of draws, iron, ironing board, mini fridge freezer, safe and TV which you can connect your own media to. Plenty of mirrors and lights.....which is unusual as normally I can't see to put my makeup on! WiFi is good when you have it but can be patchy. We had it one side of the room and bed, but not the other!

Breakfast

Good variety of breakfast from all the tropical local fruit to your apples, bananas and pears. Cooked English breakfast, where there is an egg station to get omelettes, fried or boiled eggs. Variety of cereals with jams and peanut butter. Then there is the local fried bakes and oven baked bakes with salt fish. Bread, croissants and cakes to. You will be spoilt for choice. You will get a lovely welcome from Shanel, Melissa and Sadia these ladies work with a smile all morning and it's a pleasure to see.

Pool and Beach

Good sun loungers some with umbrellas and towels provided. There is a pool bar which is in the shallow end of the pool with seats in the water to sip on your cocktails. Then there is a deep end. Wi-Fi is very patchy and will drop without warning. When working it's good enough to stream videos. See pictures.

The beach is sandy and clear blue seas with sun loungers for the hotel residents. There are locals selling coconuts and boat rides etc.

Gym and Spa

There is a gym and spa room. We used the gym 5 times whilst there. It's not the best gym equipment in comparison to other hotels we have stayed in. However you can get a full workout.

Local Restaurants, Mall & Supermarket

There is just a short walk to the local restaurants, bars and shopping mall and 2 large supermakets, this is a hotel we would have no hesitation recommending to visitors of the Rodney Bay area.

Two restaurant I would recommend if you want good tasty local food Royal Palms and Matthews Roof Top.




Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Biggadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalStLuciaResort, Sales and Marketing Manager at Mystique Royal St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear valued customer

On behalf of our Management and Staff we would like to thank you for choosing the Mystique Royal St.Lucia and for taking the time to write such a great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience of our hotel. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

Your positive comments about our staff members is well appreciated as we place a lot of effort in training to ensuring warm and personalized service towards our guests. Rest assured that it will find as well its internal recognition as we take your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your next visit.

We have noted your comment on the gym and we are grateful for this feedback and would like to advise that we are working on upgrading our facility to enhance our guest experience.

Thank you very much again and we certainly look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you at our property.

Kind regards,
Beverley Antoine
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

We actually were supposed to stay at the Royalton but had friends stay there in April and we’re not impressed to say the least. So in May I rebooked to this hotel and I’m glad I did. The rooms definitely need a facelift but they are large and clean therefore met my criteria. The staff was very friendly beginning at the front desk including the serving staff along with the bartenders. We had one rude staff member during breakfast and lunch and that was it the rest were just lovely especially Melissa! She even secured for me the recipe to the delicious fry bakes which is a typical Caribbean doughnut and absolutely wonderful - fresh every morning! The chic restaurant was a total disappointment but we are foodies. The service is very excellent but the food average. The L’ epicure restaurant even prepared the tuna my daughter caught on her fishing charter and it was absolutely out of this world. They also cut up a fresh pineapple we bought from a roadside stand which was absolutely delicious!

We had two rooms with mostly adult kids but we do have a five year old and were initially told we could only have a garden room. They upgraded us to a Seaview rooms which was quite lovely and we never felt our five-year-old was at risk of getting hurt. The bathroom design is not very good because there’s no door on the bathroom so there is virtually no privacy. We had the same issue when we stayed at the Sandals in Grenada. I don’t understand why the Caribbean designs rooms like this. Also the modern flat sinks splash water all over the mirrors which is such a silly design. The linens and bed were comfortable.

The pool was very clean and staff friendly. Some of the guests wore thongs and I thought was very offensive but I don’t know if the hotel can monitor all that. The beach had lovely white sand and the water in Rodney Bay is extremely safe for young children, great for swimming laps, and the snorkeling is easy but not exciting. Well we did see a starfish . Our friends told us the beach near the Royalton drops off very deep very quickly and would not be good for our young child plus there are currents that can be dangerous. The least desirable part of the beach on Rodney Bay and apparently throughout the island are the sketchy locals that try to sell their wares and even come under your umbrella to get your attention which I thought was very inappropriate. By the end of the week we were so tired of these guys we literally just stayed at the pool to stay away from them. The island of St. Lucia should really do something to stop that because it is a major negative to the island and I probably would not return based on that fact alone. This does not happen in the Bahamas Bermuda or Turks and Caicos where we have stayed before. Even in Grenada the locals were there but not in a threatening or inappropriate manner just available if you wanted to purchase something for them or a trip through them. At one point a total pothead was staring down my 18-year-old daughter and I thought I was going to have to punch him out but fortunately the security guard came and got rid of him!

The island of St. Lucia is the most beautiful of all the Caribbean islands I have been to. The pitons are truly magnificent and almost surreal they are so beautiful. The rainforest like in Grenada is a very beautiful part of the island and give some dimension to a beach venue. There are lots of things to do on the island such as mud baths, sulfur Springs Cocoa plantations, zip lines, scuba, snorkeling, fishing, hiking, shopping, boating, etc. The negative to the island besides the beach vendors bothering you throughout the day every day is the transportation is tricky. If you stay on the north end of the island which are where most of the family friendly resorts are it’s a 2 Hour drive along windy roads. We opted for the 10 minute helicopter ride and although I was very stressed that I would be claustrophobic or anxious it turned out to be a delightful experience! I would highly recommend it especially if you have people in your party like me that get carsick. On the way home I hired a water taxi to take me to Soufriere and from there it was only a 40 minute cab drive to the airport which allowed me to see a different part of the island. Even that was a bit too curvy and I had to keep my eyes on road so not to get sick. The other negative to St. Lucia is the airport – in addition to seven yes that’s right seven checkpoints for your passport all the flights leave at the same time so the airport is so full there is no where to even sit down. In addition to that they make you get there three hours in advance so that adds to your already five hour flight home (we came from NC in us)a dimension of exhaustion. The airport should try to schedule the flights where they are more spaced out and only require a two hour arrival before your flight. I think one or two passport checkpoints should be enough.

Our favorite thing we did on the island was to rent a private chartered catamaran through carnival sailing. It was US$1200 for the day and definitely worth it as we would not want to be on a boat with 40 other people especially with free alcohol that is just not fun for us. We have the boat to our self and a crew of three that treated us wonderful. We had lunch at hotel chocolat which is definitely worth eating at and the snorkeling was very nice although I wish we had snorkeled at the pitons as well had we planned better. The sunset cruise was very lovely.

All in all it was a delightful family vacation and had it not been for the beach vendors we would probably return however the transportation and airport was also a struggle for us that we did not enjoy.

Room tip: You definitely want the Seaview room
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mchans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalStLuciaResort, Sales and Marketing Manager at Mystique Royal St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day valued customer:

The Management and staff would like to thank you for your recent stay at our resort and for making it Mystique Royal St.Lucia. We are very pleased to read that along with our team we were able to fulfill all your expectations. We would like to express a special thank from all our employees mentioned on your review and for the time you spent to score our hotel and the kind words expressed.

We sincerely apologize for any rude manner from our team members and we will certainly look into this comment further as this does not meet the standard of our resort.
We have noted your comment on the room in need of a facelift and although our rooms were recently renovated we are still working on upgrading our facility.

Your feedback is very important to us as it is only through your feedback we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary improve the service that is provided to our guests.

Our beach is a public beach however our security team and beach rangers ensure that on a daily basis our guest
experience is a memorable one without the discomfort from any inappropriate behavior from the beach vendors.

Again we thank you for your feedback and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Beverley Antoine
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Do not stay here if you have children. We travel all over the world with our 7 and 5 year old...would never trust staying here again.

Be aware if you have children they stick you on the first floor and wont let you move rooms. They wont let children stay anywhere besides ground level. Total joke of a hotel and policy. Also, never disclosed this at the time of book - just drop that information on you when you arrive which is a surprise that obviously changes the dynamic of a family vacation

DO NOT STAY HERE WITH KIDS.

Room tip: Do not stay here with children - stick you on the first floor and cant move.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robk976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalStLuciaResort, Sales and Marketing Manager at Mystique Royal St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Dear Valued customer:

Thank you for your comments. It is most unfortunate that you would not return to the Mystique Royal St.Lucia. We have over the years have had many families staying at the resort. During these tgime we have only accommodated children under the age of six (6) years on the ground floor for saftety reasons. Our travel partners have been made aware of this policy. We are sorry if this was not communicated to you prior.
We sincerely hope that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay with us.

Warm regards,

Beverley Antoine
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

We stayed at Mystique ROayl from May 19 to 25/19. This resort is beautiful and the is food is amazing. We booked all inclusive and had the pleasure of eating at CHIC which was a real treat. Mr. Mac and his crew are truly professionals - the food was EXCELLENT - if you get a chance please do try this restaurant. I want to mention that there is a guy down the beach that gives massages - I believe his name is Steven - he has been doing this for 12 years and is very professional - you get a 1 hour massage for $ 40.00 US - so worth it. The rooms are very clean and the service is amazing just ask and you will be taken care of. A bib thanks to Nigel, Frederick, Danielo, Hilarious and Troy. The security on the beach do a fantastic job of taking care of some of the vendors on the beach as they can get a bit pushy at times. We did the Catamaran cruise to the Piton's - mud baths - botanical gardens and some snorkling which were all so worth it. Please try to visit Pigeon Island - so much history there. On Friday nights they have a street party at Gros Islet - what an experience that was, they cook fresh fish and have music to dance too - taxi is $ 15.00 each way US. Very safe to walk down to the malls 5 to 10 minute walk to the right coming out of the resort. This is such a beautiful Island with very winding roads - the mountain and rain forest are breath taking. Would go back to this resort in a heart beat as this is one of the best beaches in Saint Lucia....

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank busterbrown480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalStLuciaResort, Sales and Marketing Manager at Mystique Royal St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Dear valued customer,

The Management and staff of the Mystique Royal St.ucia would like to thank you for your stay at our resort. We are very pleased to read that along with our team we were able to fulfill all your expectations. We would like to express a special thank from all our employees mentioned on your review and for the time you spent to score our hotel and the kind words expressed. Your comments is certainly be passed on to our management and team members. We have noted that you found our CHIC restaurant a real treat and our service professional. We are happy to have accommodated you and we certainly look foward to make your future stay with us an even more memorable experience.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Beverley Antoine
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

We stayed at the Mystique 11 nights in a sea view suite which we highly recommend. It was spacious, beautifully laid out, comfortable and very clean. There is a coffee maker in the room. It was nice to be able to enjoy the view of Pigeon Point on our very large veranda in the morning and have coffee before going to breakfast later. There is a turn down service every night with something yummy left behind for the guests. We included breakfast in our plan which we also enjoyed. There was a fair variety, enough to satisfy our taste. The staff is very gracious, accommodating and kind. We spent most of our time at the pool and enjoyed the swim up bar. Plenty of loungers both at the pool and the beach. The beach is also very nice and we are told, one of the best on the island. There is another snack bar on the beach as well, so don't have to go far for service. The grounds are very well kept and pretty. The only things that I would say needs to be updated are the gym and the spa. I didn't use the spa but had to go through it to enter the gym. It is not appealing. The gym could also use some work.

Room tip: For a very spacious suite room with a large balcony with 2 loungers, a table and 2 chairs, we suggest the sea view rooms.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MTA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalStLuciaResort, Sales and Marketing Manager at Mystique Royal St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Dear valued customer,

The Management and staff of the Mystique Royal St.ucia would like to thank you for review of our property. We are very pleased to read that your found our resort comfortable and clean and along with our team we were able to provide you with our usual royal service. We have noted that you found our staff very gracious and accommodating and kind. We have also noted your comment re the updating of our gym and spa. We are currently working very hard in updating and upgrading our facility. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary improve the service that is provided to our guests. Thank you very much again for your recommendations again and for your positive comments! and we certainly look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Beverley Antoine
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews