We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

The Boe Rigg Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Charlton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Description: The Boe Rigg for a sandwich, a slice of cake or a 3 course meal. We serve all day, perfect for those going to the Kielder Observatory. Situated just outside Bellingham, come and relax in the bar or sit out and enjoy the views.
Restaurant details
Description: The Boe Rigg for a sandwich, a slice of cake or a 3 course meal. We serve all day, perfect for those going to the Kielder Observatory. Situated just outside Bellingham, come and relax in the bar or sit out and enjoy the views.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch, I had sea bass with steamed veg, mango and chilli sauce, my other half had gammon, beautifully cooked food, reasonably priced. We are both looking forward to trying the Sunday lunch .

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lainey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Visited the Boe Rigg on the final day of a mini break and we weren't disappointed. Very friendly owner and most excellent food. They even catered for a starter that I requested that wasn't on the menu. Drinks were very reasonably priced too. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sparklyfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

sunday lunch here was lovely. we had the quad meat roast and it was lovely. kind friendly staff and excellent food. The views accross the northumbrian countryside is lovely

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sueh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Went here for our evening meal, at first it seemed ok. The waiter came out, she was so negative and sounded very depressing - understandable people can have a bad day and feel bad, but it made us feel like she didn't want to be serving us. When the food came, it looked nice but tasted awful. The chicken was burnt, the mash potatoes were horrible and lumpy. In our other dish, the noodles tasted bitter and bad. We were unsure whether this was poorly made because the staff were miserable, or personal opinion. We did have to leave all of our food as we couldn't stomach it. When another man came to take our food away, he saw we had a full plate, and asked us if we enjoyed it. He asked, we were honest, and said no. Before this, he had a smile on his face, afterwards, he was passive and sarky. Not everyone is going to like the food, it is very unprofessional to sulk and make us feel bad for not enjoying it. This made us feel extremely awkward and bad. It is us that had no food even though we paid over £30 for it. I would NOT recommend going here unless you want to walk out feeling terrible.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank protectedowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, Owner at The Boe Rigg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Madam you ordered the char grilled chicken off of the children's menu, it is as it says 'char grilled' you didn't even try the chicken you chased the mash around the plate, didn't eat any veg, your other meal again wasn't touched, it is not the kitchens fault if your partner ordered something they later discover they don't like, the only taste to the noodles was the Hoisin sauce please dont waste a kitchens time and order that again. As for the staff I can honestly say it could only of been a reflection of the custom they were serving. In hindsight I should of stuck to my initial remarks to the waiter when you returned the untouched plates, do not charge them and ask them to leave. Finally you did not pay £30 for it, you haven't mentioned the deserts or the drinks which you completely cleared the plates of. Many thanks for your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Had a great meal here in the evening. It was quiet, nicely lit, well laid out, cosy. The staff were great. The menu choice was really good and the food we had was delicious. The salt and pepper chicken was amazing! The prices were astonishingly low and the portions were a good size so it was great value for money. The only thing that let it down was lipstick on the glass I was given. But never mind

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank johnandlizb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boe Rigg Restaurant also viewed

Bellingham, Northumberland
Wark, Northumberland
 
Stannersburn, Northumberland
 
Bellingham, Northumberland
Bellingham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Boe Rigg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing