We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Kerasia
Nearby Hotels
Idi Hotel(Zaros)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keramos(Zaros)(Great Value!)
$47
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Bay Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eleonas(Zaros)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Hotel(Anogia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Poseidon Hotel(Amoudara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Stork(Amoudara)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lambi Hotel(Amoudara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel LiLi(Heraklion)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
158
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine presswine and olive oilyogurtminute drivecomfortable roomsevery morningcharming houseknossoscreterakiguestskerasiaeurosmaria
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 170 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

What an impressive place. Tucked out in the middle of the amazing wine country, we parked our car and pretty much said 'wow' all the way into the villa. Everything was so tastefully executed, retaining traditional elements like the stone olive press.

Although we were privileged enough to have the place pretty much to ourselves, we did miss out on the experience of Babis cooking for all his guests at the grand dining table. However, he was kind enough to book us in for dinner at a wonderful local taverna in nearby Dafnes which is a short drive away.

We were however able to enjoy breakfast the next day. We were waited on magnificently, served breads, cakes and preserves along with eggs and meat with lashings of coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice.

Our bedroom with high ceilings was simple and stylish with a separate lounge area which felt rustic yet glamorous. Great bathroom too. Our views to the hills were splendid.

We are very glad we stopped here if only for one night but which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJonazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel is just amazing. The surrounding, the view, the building.. just everything.
When you arrive you are just amazed about the location and the lovely building and the garden. Important information for travelers.. just inform the owner about your approx. arrival time. They are not in the hotel all the time.

The rooms are huge and lovely decorated. The stone walls and the wooden roof make it perfect.
Everything was clean.
Important too, it to have warm clothes with you. It can be quite cold in the evening, especially in low season.

The garden area is a place to relax. Once you have arrived, you really do not want to leave anymore. The owner is so nice and the hospitality is just amazing.

Breakfast has good choice. Bread, cheese, cold cuts, juice, tea, coffee, eggs, yoghurt, fruits, jam.. everything you desire, served at a long table. It feels like a family table with all the other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Babis, who owns villa Kerasia, is a wonderfully welcoming and friendly host for whom nothing is too much trouble. I was in touch with him before we arrived as one of us has issues with dairy and wheat and he confirmed this would not be a problem at breakfast, and he was right, there was plenty of gluten free bread and dairy free alternatives available.
We stayed for 2 nights and it was a delight to stay in this beautifully refurbished farmhouse. Our room was large with a lovely comfortable bed and a lovely clean bathroom.
Babis kindly phoned a local taverna for us one our first evening to check it was open, book a table and also ensured they could provide dairy/wheat free food. It was a local taverna, good simple food.
Breakfast at kerasia was wonderful. Fresh orange juice, eggs cooked as you like, cheese, meats, yoghurt, bread and preserves. And lots of coffee. Sat on one large table with the other guests.
Babis makes his own wine and it is lovely. He gave us a bottle when we left as we'd commented how nice it was!
Kerasia is in a lovely quiet location. Hard to find, especially in the dark (the satnav we hired with the car couldn't find it. But then it couldn't find knossos either, so not sure that means anything!). It is close to the main road running south from Heraklion, but the roads off the main road are rather confusing and signs are not in abundance. But it is a great location to visit Phaistos and Knossos (assuming you ignore the sat nav and can get back into the main road without driving through fields and along tracks clearly made for goats).
We stayed at the end of October so didn't really get the benefit of the lovely garden area and pool, but we did make friends with Babis' 2 lovely cats.
This B & B is a wonderful rural escape, with lovely views of the countryside, excellent breakfasts and above all a kind and generous host.
I can thoroughly recommend Villa Kerasia

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Close enough to the port and airport (about 30 mins drive) to make this a good choice at the start or end of a Crete adventure.
Charming and welcoming. Babis wants to care for you.
We were fortunate to be there for dinner -there has to be a minimum number of guests for this.
It was a fabulous night -delicious food, too much wine and amazing conversations with 5 different nationalities! We got on very well -only a certain type would choose to stay here in this peaceful location! And most reasonably priced!
Babis lovingly restored a derelict house and aesthetically transformed it. It is on the side of a "Tuscan" type of valley -pretty.
We had an early morning ferry -so Babis set up a serve yourself breakfast for us -most thoughtful.
A very happy stay.

Room Tip: one at the front with a balcony -romantic!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BronwynMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This villa in wine country has great views but if the proprietor is not cooking you end up searching the scruffy taverna offerings a few miles away. Walls were so thin that we were kept awake by snoring next door, and the furnishings were funky but offered no comfortable place to read and inadequate light.
No screens on the windows meant bugs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews