We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Naigani Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Toberua Island Resort(Toberua Island)
$167
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$115
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort(Suva)(Great Value!)
$38
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel(Rakiraki)(Great Value!)
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$105
$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Studio 6(Suva)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
40
39
13
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
39
13
8
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 104 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2008

This is a review I posted on my return to Naigani on the RCI website. Nothing has changed since!

Well I don't really know what to say - I think I am still in shock. When we booked this resort (3 woman) we knew it would be quiet but didn't realise that we and a group of 7 meditators would be the only guests. Thank god for the 3 litres of spirits we took with us and for the sunshine, otherwise I think we would have ended up going mad. Actually we were going mad after the 7th day and couldn't wait to get off the island.

In my opinion some of the bad points are:
1. No other guests so very very quiet.
2. Shop closed and in any event didn't sell anything, not even insect bite cream or much wanted snacks, not even a pack of chips!
3. Meal plan expensive - $55 for breakfast and dinner which you had to choose at breakfast time. Food of average quality for top dollar. Also when we were there the group of meditators ate at 5pm and accordingly some days our dinner tasted like it has also been cooked at that time and then reheated.
4. Electricity goes off for 4 hours during the day - not really a problem unless you want a hot or cold drink (ice melts very quickly) Electric also went off during the night so going to the toilet was fun.
5. Day trip to latoka (sp?). We NEEDED to get off the island for a day - this trip was advised as a sightseeing tour. In fact it was the resorts shopping trip and we were tagging along. No visiting of school etc as advertised, just a quick trip to some monumement and then onto latoka for 2.5 hours whilst the staff shopped. This was all for the grand price of $75 each.
6. General feeling of boredom with the staff and they really where not bothered whether the guests were happy or not, very unlike the Fiji I know and love.
7. Village trip didn't take place as not enough guests wanting to go (the other party had done the village tour the previious week so they wouldn't do it for just three of us.
I could comment about getting to the resort but for us this wasn't a problem - we flew back from Suva to Nadi and transfer ok - I could recommend this rather than travelling by coach for 4 hours from Nadi.

I would also agree with another reviewer about the accommodation being full of ants etc and the beach being full of rubbish.

Would I come back? Not in a million years!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hoathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Naigani ( pronounced nine gani) is a small resort about 25 minutes by fast boat, after an hour by taxi, north of Suva in Fiji
(both of which are not necessarily included in your bill). The resort is self contained on a 540 acre island. At the time we were there there were 10 other guests, in a property that probably could take 50 ish.
The island is ringed by magnificent reefs, and as we were there to scuba dive, we got to enjoy them thoroughly.
This place is a divers paradise, and if you are reasonably experienced I would recommend these reefs to anyone. But bring your own dive gear, the hire stuff didn't appear well maintained. Friends snorkeled the house reef while we dived, and they were equally enraptured by their experience.
The overall resort experience is both laid back and quirky.
Laid back in that you mostly provide your own entertainment, there is a small golf course, and villiage tours ( presuming the Villiage people have sufficent people to entertain you, and there are enough in your party), but this is a beach resort without too much mechanised support.
Having said that, by booking ahead (and paying), you can go fishing, or diving, or to visit the old imperial capital Levuka as a day trip. Just remember the boats get smaller if less people are going.
The quirky includes power for only part of the day, and night (which made sleeping difficult with no fans), ordering your lunch and dinner at breakfast, and having the island staff providing entertainment ( singing and guitar playing) on a rotating basic at night. Most Fijians in our experience have at least 2 major attributes, a wonderful outgoing nature and magnificent singing voices.
So, the food was reasonable, the accomodation was clean and well laid out, drink prices were acceptable ( although the tropical temperatures don't always do good things with white wine), diving fantastic, people magnificent, and every thing ran on Fiji Time - which makes the concept of "mañana" seem hurried.

As long as you are prepared to ask lots of questions about exactly how much things cost, are comfortable with a very laid back to attitude to time and organisation (not just on the Island - everywhere), and are not welded to the "electronic age" then Naigani is very friendly and well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

In our most recent stay at the Naigani Island Resort I would first say that the staff was wonderful, helpful, very likable people but grossly underpaid considering what we were charged. An example, Beach side massage $60, masseuse gets $2. That being said, the management is lacking to say the least. It’s clear from the old posts I’ve read, that this was once a paradise, it‘s now a paradise lost. There were only 11 guests total and we were replaced by 8. They claim the capacity for 50 plus but I would doubt they could pull that off in it’s present state of repair and staffing. We were shown pictures of a two bedroom bungalow with a shared living room and they do exist, but for some reason , all three groups were placed in the older quarters in the rear while the ocean front cottages set empty. Those were the one’s we were shown when making our arrangements. Instead, the old ones were crawling with ants, the toilet didn’t work in our unit and the beds are very sway back. There was an adjoining structure for the other couple but the door between the two was nailed closed, so much for our mutual living area. The food was palatable, if they didn’t run out, which they did, and overpriced for what you got. Everything costs extra with the exception of 6 kayaks that every single strap or handle had long ago rotted off. Of course you can only use 3 of them as there are only 4 paddles and one of them is broken. They said they had wind surfers? We never saw them. The pool had so much floating stuff in it that we tried to clean it for our own use but the skimmer had a hole in it. By the time we left you could not see to the bottom as the water had become so milky. Worst, for a westerner, is the fact that they don’t realize that trash everywhere is off putting to us. They would clean up the leaves and natural vegetation while leaving plastic bottles, papers and diapers, yes diapers just lay around as though they were the norm. Unfortunately, Fiji is a third world country and garbage is everywhere except in the nicer westernized hotels and resorts, which this was supposed to be.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We went twice to Naigani, once for our honeymoon in 1994 and then with my sister and her family in 1998 along with our daughter who was 18 months old. We loved it! We felt safe with our toddler who just loved the beach but hated the mosquito's.

  • Stayed: January 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FijiianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

As a Fijian resort owner (Matei POinte on TAveuni) I feel compelled to write about my recent expeerience at Naigani Island Resort.
Epi, the manager, met us when our boat arrived and gave us just wonderful service for our 3 night stay. The island is delightful and Epis' staff are equally as nice. The food is good, not gourmet, but just good food. Our 3 bedroom house was right on the beach, well maintained, spacious and comfortable. Again, not luxury but certainly a great value and very clean.
We took a day trip to Lavouka which was alot of fun and did some great snorkeling a short boat ride away.
I highly recommend this place. Certainly worth the effort to get to (the road should be paved by now which will make it easier to get to the boat).

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank bulaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews