We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
109
6
5
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
6
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon wonderful hotel pasta rooms are beautiful star property the hustle and bustle montalcino peace castle grounds surroundings bellissimo luxury jacuzzi wedding region feeling
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 125 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2017

This hotel was a huge disappointment, and I hope this review can help others avoid making the mistake of staying here. As many others have stated, the air conditioning was a huge problem. The AC units in each room just did not work, and as there are only tiny windows in each room (old castle) it is impossible to get any fresh air/breeze. We also had several other issues - our initial room reeked of smoke. The walls are covered in fabric, which must absorb smells and make this issue worse. When the problem was first brought to the staffs attention the solution was to "air out" the room, which did not work. After an unpleasant night we were moved to a different room which did not smell, but when trying to take a shower we discovered there was no hot water. The room they changed us to was an upgraded room which we didnt really care about - we just wanted a room that didnt smell and had working hot water/AC! They were able to fix the hot water issue within about 5 hours, but it was still a pretty big inconvenience for a '5 star' facility. Dinner was mediocre at best (and overpriced). The only thing I can compliment is the wonderful pastry chef. The breakfast pastries were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017

I have been in Castel Porrona with my wife for a lovely weekend, the place is very beautiful, you can feel the history everywhere around you.
Rooms are very big and well decorated with modern amenities.
We liked a lot the beautiful spa, spending all day between sauna, massages and the internal heated pool.
Dining in the restaurant was a great experience, you can choose inside restaurant, more elegant, or the open air patio. You can find easier BIO preparation or gourmet food at the same time.
Good wine list and excellent house wine.
We look forward to retourn asap

Room Tip: Great Spa and Food
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aldo1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

The unconventional layout of the hotel - dictated by the adaptation of the original borgo buildings - gave a lack of indoor lounge/communal areas which may not appeal to everyone. But the place is undoubtedly steeped in history and character.
Our room was very comfortable but let down by a leaky shower. The attractive restaurant served very good food with excellent and friendly service throughout.

Room Tip: the larger the better
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Dear Barbara S,

good morning from Castel Porrona Relais & SPA.
Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding the hotel with other travellers.

Further to your review we would like to take the opportunity to inform that, as you correctly pointed out, the hotel is the result of an important renovation of a Medieval village from the XII century. The rooms, the apartments and the services are all obtained from the ancient walls of historical buildings and, in spite of this, the interior areas Castel Porrona offers are more than one .. the intime Tolomei Wine Bar, the Il Chiostro indoor dining room and the Club House and elegant and spacious living you probably did not notice but available for guests who wish to read, play billiard, pocker or simply relax. We apologize if we did not catch this lack of service ..
Regarding the leaky shower you should have informed us about it .. our mainteinance staff is always available to intervene and fix immidiately most of the malfunctions to guarantee our guests all the comfort of a 5* hotel.
In any case Barbara, thank you for your nice words regarding the quality of food and the staff; it is always a pleasure to hear nice comments regarding services we offer.

Thank you again Barbara for your review and your visit at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa !

Have a very nice day

Tania Guidarini
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

When we checked in the staff was very polite and courteous. We were assigned a room that was black, dark, stuffy with only 1 window that was 30 in by 24 in. The a/c was not working. The manager came to explain there was a problem with the air conditioning and that it was turned off since it was later in September. The room was very uncomfortable.
See other write ups about the a/c. We were finally switched to another rooms with cross ventilation which was quite satisfactory. The food was good but not 5 star. The beef carpaccio was average. The pasta was fair. My pork tenderloin was very good but my wife's beef was tough.
Good but no were near 5 star

Room Tip: Look for another place if you want a 5 star experience
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Richard O,

greetings from Castel Porrona Relais & Spa !
We thank you for your review and for sharing your opinion with other travellers.

We apologize once again for the inconvenience you had with the A/C system; we decided to turn it off since we were approaching colder temperature, as our colleague explained. Regarding to your room it is a shame reading you did not like it and considered quite claustrophobic; it is clear your stay at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa did not meet your expectations and we apologize for this consideration; each guest has its own opinion and feeling and we accept each point of view.
In case you would like to speak with us about your stay we invite you to send an email to direzione@castelporrona.it and we will be more than glad to discuss about it.

Best regards

Tania Guidarini
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

We loved our stay. Everything is perfect. The restaurant is of an excellent standard, the rooms are splendid. The SPA is beautiful .... it feels so good, the staff is both discreet and extremely attentive. We are waiting for one thing, Return to castel Porona

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank valeriesoccorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Valeriesoccorsi,

greetings from Castel Porrona Relais & Spa !
Thank you for your very nice feedback.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the property, the services we offer and the atmosphere of this quiet Medieval village.
We hope to see you again at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa soon !

Best regards

Tania Guidarini
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews