We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Review Highlights
Superb visit with guided tour

We visited Chateau de la Merciere today and enjoyed an english language guided tour delivered by... read more

Reviewed July 16, 2019
George N
,
Gourville, France
Amazing on going restoration

Amazing chateau overlooking the countryside near Ville Bois Lavalette. The main reception rooms... read more

Reviewed June 2, 2019
pbhPlymouth
,
plymouth
Read all 63 reviews
  
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
28
26
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
26
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two brothers guided tour well worth a visit scottish guide extension josephine mix difference chateau thomas restoration volunteers viewing information french english cupboard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2019

We visited Chateau de la Merciere today and enjoyed an english language guided tour delivered by Josephine. She certainly knows her stuff which made the visit for us. Thank you Josephine! We visited the rose garden which was very impressive and then found the internment places for the two brothers who owned and brought the Chateau towards its current state. There is a lot of renovation going on now and a lot more to do in the future. Well worth a visit

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

Amazing chateau overlooking the countryside near Ville Bois Lavalette. The main reception rooms have huge Portuguese blue tile pictures of classical scenes..The volunteers are doing an amazing job in restoring the rooms. We went on the tour but as we don't speak French most of the information was lost on us, although there are some before and after photos.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank pbhPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

This an impressive chateau in the process of restoration, all done by volunteers in the area. As has been said, it has a great story behind it and paying the €10 fee makes one feel like they are contributing towards the cause. We were keen to experience the tour offered by the infamous Tom (mentioned often in these reviews) but were disappointed on our arrival to learn he only does the English tours on a Tuesday afternoon (a day we could have visited had we known). So we had a lovely French tour guide whom we sadly couldn't understand. However, we were given a handout to read in English which gave us the general jist of things. It would be helpful if the chateau could note the English guided tour day and time on their website.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank kirib30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

One hell of a story. If you are in this region it's certainly worth a visit. The story of two eccentric brothers with a vision.

See it now whilst under conservation now with Government funding.

You simply will not believe this true and unfolding story. A MUST visit

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

We have been meaning to visit the Chateau for some time and eventually got around to it. What an amazing place. The guide Thomas was excellent and really brought the story alive for us. We will return next year to see what happens next. Keep up the good work.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Apeman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews