We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Majika's Island Resort
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
109
68
9
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
68
9
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisland resorthot springsthe cottagescoral gardenstable tennisship wrecksno electricitytake caremarine parkcoron tripkeep up the good worknature loversthank you so muchwould highly recommend this placesoul searchingbeautiful naturenice house
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 198 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We loved the warm, friendly staff; all the food was served buffet style and the kitchen staff prepared it wonderfully; our room was large and spacious; we had water delivered to us daily and as much as we needed; we enjoyed our daily tours, snorkeling with the fishes and the live corals, seeing the lakes, the hot spring, the wildlife. Just be ready to get down and dirty when the tide is low and the boats are unable to dock close to the island; and power is run by a generator so interruptions can happen. -Vince and Leah, Cottage 4, April 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ald766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Majika Palanca, the owner of this island resort is warm & friendly but she should get out of her cottage more often and check on her guests. I will try to be as objective as possible in writing down what we TRULY experienced in our stay. First off, we were priced at 12,000 pesos per head inclusive of back & forth land & boat transfers, breakfast, morning snacks, lunch, afternoon snacks, dinner & continuous supply of mineral water & coffee. You can check this meal arrangement package at Majika's multiply account. The morning snacks were never served. The afternoon snacks they served was always sweet fried bananas in our 3 nights 4 days stay. Note also that they do not have refills when you are late in coming to the buffet table even for only 5 or 10 minutes. Also, ice is a precious commodity, you have to actually beg for the staff for a small bowl of this. I do not want to throw accusations because I do not have proof but on our last night, I started vomiting & suffered LBM until after a week later when we were already back in Makati. The doctor said I was suffering from intestinal flu that must be a result of uncooked, salmonella-infested food or unclean contaminated water. I do not know what water they use in their cooking at Majika but the bathroom water they provide in the resort's rooms are all murky brown with soil & grass particles. They claim that it was spring water; they fetch this from a well & deliver them to your bathroom. The rooms were fairly clean with two electric fans but I would like to GREATLY EMPHASIZE that THE HEAT WAS STIFLING. Note that if you are asthmatic or is suffering from high blood pressure, this is definitely not the resort for you. There is no cool sea breeze even during the night or early dawn. In addition to the fact that the resort only turns its electricity from 6 in the evening up to 6 in the morning, prepare also for nightly power outages - we slept 5 hours maximum a night in our 3 nights stay. DO NOT FORGET to bring a LARGE CITRONELLA candle or oil and a LARGE BOTTLE OF OVERTIME OFF LOTION because bugs and mosquitoes truly abound in this place. PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BE SOLD TO THE IDEA OF THE FIREFLY NIGHT ACTIVITY. The boatmen claimed that this is ony possible when there is no moon & during high tide. We asked why is this so & an overly talkative boatmen replied that if we wade into the water in the mangroves during low tide, we would be bitten off by bugs that lay lay eggs & larvae on human skin. This bites would be itchy for days & would only heal after a month; the black scars these bites would leave are horrendously ugly. The boatman even showed his own scars to us. True or not my group decided not to pursue on our quest for the firefly night activity. Unfortunately for us that was not the last time we would hear of the larvae-laying bugs. The boats of Majika are treated with utmost care in the resort during low tide, they are not allowed to wade in the almost QUICK-SAND-LIKE MUD (you cannot call this beach sand. This loose soil/sand resulted from the uprooting of the mangroves that grew on Majika's supposed shoreline) that is Majika's main shoreline because these boats would easily get stuck in the mud. Thus, we were forced to walk through these 50 meters of quick-sand-like mud inorder to reach the resort's shoreline. Our tourist guide even laughingly said that it was all part of the Majika Magic Adventure while were busily negotiating our way through the gooey stuff of the mud. One of our friends' havaianas even got stucked in the quick-sand-like mud & he had to crawl on all fours to try to dig & retrieve it out of the mud. We suspected that it was during this time that he got infeceted with the larvae-laying bug. The bug bites he suffered on his legs were scary-red & swelled as big as one peso coins which turned into watery blisters even after we poured half a bottle of alcohol on them. The blisters itched like hell according to our friend. Luckily, another of our companions brought a large bottle of white flower. It somehow helped because after an over night application the itching became bearable, the redness & swelling ebbed. Unluckily again for us we were not even served lunch on our last day despite of the fact that we have informed the resort owner a MONTH BEFORE that our return flight was at 3 in the afternoon. My friends and I had painstakingly saved up for this vacation in months and it is just so sad that the traumatic nightmare of a vacation we experienced at Majika outweighs the beauty of Coron. We are appealing to all not to mislead others in making a spectacular review of this resort. I agree when somebody wrote that this resort is over rated--PLEASE BELIEVE THAT IT IS HIGHLY SO. But then again I fully understand that we are all entitled to our own opinions.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank xamd_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajieCoron_Palawan, Owner at Majika's Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2010

Dear Tripadvisor member,

This review that was written with regards to our resort is quite troubling. Previously, we have only had to reply to 2 out of 33 reviewers. In those two instances, we humbly accepted our shortcomings. In this case, we would like to address every issue raised in order to air our side regarding the aforementioned complaints.

Firstly, we have no individual or group on record that was charged 12000 pesos during their stay with us in April 2010. Secondly, our food is always served buffet style. There is a specified time for lunch and dinner. Our guests more often than not get enthused when they see the food we serve. They put more food on their plates than they are supposed to. Guests who arrive late sometimes have to wait for more food to be cooked because the early birds have taken it. We make it a point that every guest who stays with us is well fed in order to endure our exciting adventure activities and tours. Morning snacks have been removed because the breakfast we serve is heavy enough. Ice is brought in from Coron town. It was in short supply at the time.

The water used for drinking and cooking and is also brought in from Coron town. It is filtered water and is safe for human consumption. The water used for bathing is from our natural spring well and is also very clean and fresh. However, the drought due to the El Niño phenomenon has caused the water level to drop causing our water pump to be inoperable. As such water has to be manually brought to the bathrooms. Individuals have their own unique responses to a change in food and water intake. This is part of Travelling. Fortunately, other members in your group were fine.

Global warming is getting worse. 2010 is the hottest year on record and April is the hottest month of the year in this country. Anywhere in the Philippines, the weather was uncomfortable. Our guests are clearly informed that we only have fan-cooled rooms.

Our tour boats, like all boats that are used in Coron, Palawan are outrigger boats with engines below the deck, with a fixed and immovable propeller at the back of the boat. Boats need to float in water in order to move. No boat can reach the beach when the tide is very low. (Except a hovercraft, which we do not have). Again, we cannot control the onset of low and high tides. This was clearly stated in our terms and conditions. There are days when it is unavoidable for our guests to walk to the beach. By the way, some of our more adventurous guests do enjoy this experience.

The firefly boat ride is an experience that can be best experienced here, since fireflies do not exist anywhere anymore. Guests who have tried it are mesmerized by the sight they see. Once again, we would like to emphasize that we always advise and instruct our Guests to bring Insect repellants and sun blocks for this adventure tour. Similar to the questionable tour rate that was written in the review, no skin irritations were reported to our staff. If there was any, they would surely have been treated.

Sincerely yours,
Majie Palanca
Resort owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The most beautiful travel tour ever you will got from Majika island resort in Coron Busunaga Palawan.Though every year we discover island in the philippines,Majikas Resort is different especially for my french husband.Simple and budget worth travelling guides from the owner herself Margaret(big thks¨!!) .Hidden lakes,laggons,big corals,cargo boats from 1944,hot spring in the middle of the sea?...and much much more magnificent scenes.Dont expect much from accomodations as it is simple as it is she's still working out for aircon but we do love the experience living the way the people out there.An enchanting experience with the islanders.They are great so dont critic as normal to give them more encouragement and help build the service in their island .Better to educate more and understand how wonderful to find in that island people still on their own way of living without hassles, unlike living in a modern city life . A place to stay for nature lovers and underwater reach marine life a beauty to share from our country.You should be an adventurer to love this place in Coron Palawan.Life in a boat and sea if you are not a diver as long as you can snorkel you will enjoy your stay at Majika especially if they serve you the big seafoods everyday.Reminder no nightlife but the bar service is also on improvement. Stay simple smile and find the inner happiness around the resort.Thks to Vangie & staffs as well.(just be more attentive to your guest) lucky you guys to have a very kind Marji.....Goodlucks see you again next holiday...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank arneo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Majikal Coron.
Another reason to go to Palawan and check out one of Philippines well-kept secret: Coron.


Late last year, a friend recommended Coron in Palawan, specifically Majika Resort. It is a breath of fresh air --literally and figuratively-- from the party scene in Boracay for Coron is
cocooned into Palawan's limestone cliffs, mangroves, hot springs, lagoons and raw natural environment. And its serene and quiet waters (at that time, November to early December) are perfect for snorkelling, kayaking, diving, open water diving.

From Busuanga airport we took a 30-45 min boat ride to Majika Resort. It's very affordable and the warmth of the owner from which the resort was named after and its staff more than makes up for its
simplicity.The resort has a very homey vibe, something that adds to the whole experience. It's like living in a small community where hospitality, warmth and good service is key. It's like visiting an old friend you have known for years. The owner, Majika, even prepared a simple birthday feast for my boyfriend made up of spaghetti and meatballs, crabs, shrimp/prawns and fresh salad. Simple but very heartwarming.

I suggest a 4-day stay at least for the first three days are filled with "adventure". We wake up at 7 am in the morning via a gentle knock on our cottage door and a soft-spoken voice saying "ate
ready na po ang breakfast", then have beakfast at 8 am and leave before 9am to snorkell at dive wrecks and exclusive beaches that you can only get at by boat.

Coron (Palawan in general) is filled with huge limestone cliffs, and lagoons you can only reach by swimming under rock formations then emerge on the other side with massive rock formations looming over you.
Another natural rarity is Kayangan Lake, which is a fresh-water lake filled with baby fishes, ensconced inside limestone mountains and to get there you have to hike up then down this terrain.

It's amazing how a fresh-water lake can exist amidst a massive body of salt water.
At that time there was no one there except for us plus the boatman who was our guide and there's a surreal feeling of being left all alone in a deserted island/place and at the same time in awe when
you are faced with this kind of natural wonder.

Another reccommended activity is to go Kayaking in the mangrove area especially around dusk when sea fireflies under the water give off a luminiscent glow (reminde me of the cartoon gloworms when
I was a kid) when you paddle your oar. Any movement triggers the fireflies glow. The resort is in the middle of a mangrove that is why kayaking anytime is very possible.

Apart from the various World War II ship-wreck snorkelling , trekking, island-hopping another thing to check out are the hot springs. You can get here by wading into mangrove swamp-y (but clean)
waters and just relax in mother earth's natural sauna.

So there, no time to waste: book your tickets and pack your bags and take a trip to Majikal Coron, Palawan.:)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TravelingMela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I'm so glad my sister accidentally clicked the link to Majika Island Resort, if not, then we would've wasted our time and money in other Coron resorts.

If you want a relaxing yet action-packed experience in Coron, Majika Island Resort SHOULD be your first choice.

Why relaxing?
1) The place is secluded and very quiet. Although I'm glued to my laptop and cellphone most of the time, I like the fact that they have no internet service and they only have limited cellphone signal in the place. I was not disturbed by emails, text messages and calls for 4 straight days. (If you really need to get in touch with someone, buy a SMART sim card. Globe only works at night.)

2) Hammocks can be found in front of resort and those were my favorite spots. The rooms were too hot to stay in because it was not airconditioned and they only turn on the generator at 6pm. But it's OK because you'll spend most of the time island hopping so by the time you get back it's already cool at the resort.

3) All we did was swim, eat, laugh, sleep (repeat 4 times).

Why action-packed?

Your day starts early at the resort. You eat breakfast at 7:30AM and leave the island at 8AM. Most visitors in Coron would go to Malcapuyao and/or Banana Island. Their boatmen prefer it that way because they leave their guests there for a whole day...less work for them. The staff at Majika make sure that you get to maximize your stay in Coron. They took us to so many places. We got to see 2 WWII shipwrecks, at least 5 coral reefs, 2 beaches, the Twin Lagoon, Kayangan Lake and the hot springs. We would've gone to more places but we were tired already.

So why should you pick Majika Island Resort?
1) Booking your stay is easy.
2) You get the best deal out of your money.
3) The Palawenos (most especially the staff) are very friendly and accomodating. My mom's medicine got spilled during our plane ride so the staff contacted someone on the other island just to get my mom's medicine.
4) They take care of everything for you. Airport and boat transfers, island hopping tours and meals are all part of the package. That's breakfast, lunch, merienda and dinner!
5) It's not a beach party place.

* Thanks again Ms.Majie, we will definitely go back :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank QueenIx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews