We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aahmaazing Breakfast!!”
Review of The Flying Spatula

The Flying Spatula
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Flesherton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
1 review
“Aahmaazing Breakfast!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just had breakfast at the Spatula on our drive up to the Bruce Peninsula, and it was Great!! We're 4 folks from Ottawa and we thoroughly enjoyed the food here. Great service, our server was so nice and friendly, the food was excellent quality, and big portions for a low price. Highly reccomend this Diner!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makwabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elora, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After seeing this place featured on "You Gotta Eat Here' we thought we'd check it out on a recent trip up north. upon entering the diner you think 'really, this place is supposed to be great?' (lighting fixtures were trouble lights!) But once you get your food, you forget all about the decor. My western sandwich ($5.00) on grain bread was excellent. my husband had eggs and sausages; very typical diner fare....but it was the hashbrowns that had us raving. Really really good.
We'll be back to try the Fri roast beef!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Home Cookin'”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tasty meals, nicely prepared, generous portions and reasonably priced. This genuine diner is located only a few hundred yards East of Flesherton's compact downtown. If you're hungry (in winter) after a day on the slopes, or (in summer) after touring the very scenic Lake Eugenia and Beaver Valley area, you really won't find much better. Their menu has all the home-cooked favourites - Schnitzel, fish and chips, meat loaf with a luscious mushroom gravy, and tasty soups prepared in house. Their carrot and ginger soup was very good, and the advertised 'cup' of carrot soup turned out to be a large, full bowl. You won't leave hungry. Service is friendly diner-style and you pay at the front counter on the way out; tips can be left in a tip jar beside the register. The diner's cash only, but they have an ATM on site. The Flying Spatula Diner is well worth a visit.

BTW, there's a small, two pump, gas station attached to the diner. It's full service - they pump the gas. Prices were 5 cents a litre lower than Toronto and credit/debit cards were accepted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VisitorstoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dear John Catucci please revisit”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Saw this diner on "You gotta eat here" episode. Drove an hour to try it out and was disappointed. Slow service, lukewarm coffee and John, I think you got all the turkey on your sandwich because there was not much on the one I had. It was basically leftovers. I love the enthusiasm of the show, but I would just keep driving the next time, because you don't really need to eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Earl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Typical Diner”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We saw this restaurant being profiled on the show "You Gotta Eat Here". Since we only live about an hour or so from Flesherton and were in the area one day, we decided to stop in for lunch. I had the pan fried fish special, our son the turkey club sandwich and my husband an offering of breakfast fair. Both were delicious. The portions are substantial, but not so huge you can't finish your order. The place is typical diner, with miss matched cups, plates etc. and soda is served in their original can. Service was friendly and although a tad old, the washrooms were clean, something I always look for in any establishment. The Flying Spatula only serves dinner Wed - Sunday 4-8 pm and breakfast/lunch 8am-3pm weekdays. We would like to try something off their dinner menu in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Spatula also viewed

Flesherton, Grey County
 
Flesherton, Grey County
Flesherton, Grey County
 
Flesherton, Grey County
 

Been to The Flying Spatula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing