We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
$57
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
$85
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
$194
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$545
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clarissa Falls Resort(San Jose Succotz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Benque Resort and Spa(Benque Viejo del Carmen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
115
19
8
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
19
8
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmopan riverbullet treehand carvedsan ignaciocolonial stylelocal childrenhotel is perfecttiki torchesrefreshing swimthe general managerin townget away from it allgreat careinner tubesspecial placecave tourmayan ruins
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 154 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the last 2 nights of our action packed trip to Belize. We had an absolutely amazing time and were able to relax and enjoy Mahogany Hall the entire time. Upon arriving we were met with cold, minty towels at the front of the majestic wood doors. Our luggage was taken immediately from us and we were shown around the hotel. As soon as you walk through the doors you can hear the Mopan river and feel the breeze through the open air style of the hotel. We were then given rum punch that was an on the house welcome drink and tasted so fresh that I didn't want anything else to drink the entire time!

We were showed up to our room which was beautiful and decorated with tropical flower petals and a towel animal. The room was clean and had air conditioning as well as large windows that opened to the Mopan outside. The bed was very comfortable and we got 12+ hours of peaceful sleep both nights. There is free coffee in the hallway which we enjoyed drinking at the tables on the balcony that overlooked the river.

They set up a candlelight dinner for us on the first night and we had a delicious romantic dinner! The food was good and both nights we just chose to go with the chef's choice. Richard was very welcoming and showed us different spots in the river that we could sit and enjoy the refreshing water. Giovani was a server both days and nights and he was very attentive and never let our drinks go empty! All of the service we received was excellent and we had no issues with speed of service.

We wished that we could have stayed an extra night here as it truly felt like paradise and as if we did not have a care in the world! Thank you Mahogany Hall for the greatest possible ending to an amazing vacation in Belize! I would give you more than 5 stars if it was possible!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abscorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in Mahogany hall for 3 nights and loved it! It is absolutely beautiful- and incredibly unique. We spent most of our time out on trips in the jungle (ATM, tikal, etc)- so we were debating if we should just save our money on some cheap place since we were not going to spend much time in the hotel. I'm so glad we chose Mahogany instead. It is the perfect mix of jungle living and western comforts. After long days hiking and swimming- we truly appreciated coming back to such a luxurious hotel. The bathroom is huge and clean. The bed amazingly comfortable. Marsha was especially fabulous- we emailed prior to my arrival- and she really went out of her way to make sure we had everything I needed. I thought the restaurant was great. I see some other reviewers thought it was a little pricey- I thought it was reasonable, especially considering you are in the middle of a jungle. The food was fantastic- I'm vegetarian, and the chef was kind enough to make me special meals every night. The staff was so sweet- I loved the attention to detail- like all the fresh flowers in the room and the good night chocolates they left for us.

Every morning when we woke up, we could not believe how beautiful it was to be at Mahogany. Truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Mahogany Hall is a standout when it comes to accommodation in San Ignacio, Belize. This town, close to the border with Guatemala, is a tourist centre in Belize because of the many Mayan ruins, rivers and caves in the vicinity. As such, there are hundreds of choices for accommodation in the area. These range from backpacker hotels and huts to hotels. But Mahogany Hall stands out above them all. It is an elegant, gracious establishment with an incredible location. You simply can't get anything better for the price.

Mahogany Hall is located about 10 minutes outside of San Ignacio, in the little village of Bullet Tree Falls. The only downside is the rough gravel road to the hotel. But once you get there, you will find an old world style hotel set on the banks of the beautiful Mopan river and surrounded by beautiful gardens.

On even the hottest days, Mahogany Halls location and numerous trees ensures that it is comfortable and breezy. Birds sing and chatter in the trees. The rooms are upstairs and open onto a balcony with gorgeous views.

The patio/dining area looks over the pool and onto the river. There is a European style bar with counter and barstools. The rooms are furnished with classic, gracious furniture, granite countertops, spacious bathrooms, four poster beds etc. The floors are hardwood and the trim is luxurious dark wood.

The staff offer little extra touches that make all the difference. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a refreshing wet cloth to clean up after the journey. When we returned to our room in the evening, a tray with a bedtime snack was waiting. Trays are decorated with flower petals, and soaps and shampoos are provided.

During our stay we were provided with a free upgrade to the luxury suite. This turned out to be a splendidly appointed, large and spacious room with two balconies and a four poster bed. Not to mention a jacuzzi in the bathroom.

There is simply no comparison between Mahogany Hall and the other hotels we saw during our stay. The only thing I think of to note is that there are no screens on the windows, although no flies or other creatures came into the room during our stay. The food, while good, is a little on the expensive side. But this is still the best bet and the best value for your money in San Ignacio. I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The rooms are ALL great!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okavanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

How does one describe something that is indescribable? The short answer is “one cannot,” for some things simply must be experienced to be believed. Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort, located in Bullet Tree Falls Village Belize, exemplifies this concept more than any other resort in Belize, and possibly the world.

Most travelers perceive the place they are staying as merely a base-camp for their excursions through Belize. Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort has broken that mind set by being the destination itself. Upon arriving at this riverside masterpiece, one cannot deny the feelings of amazement and tranquility that rush over your body, as if you are home for the first time.
Enormous mahogany doors with perfectly crafted iron hinges welcome you into a resort like no other. The architecture alone is something to take in, for one feels as if this neo-colonial styled haven might actually hypnotize the mind into thinking that time travel is actually possible. As if on cue, the river winds blow the scent of the local flowers all through the open entrance-way, and greet you as if to say, “Paradise welcomes you.” One cannot help but smile and feel like a dream has come true.

With the heart now still, one hears the gentle rushing of the Mopan River not a stone’s throw away from the dining hall. Birds perched on the local mango trees sing sweet songs and invite one to stroll closer to the river for a cool dip before further exploration of this majestic location. Romance springs from every room of Mahogany Hall as if Aphrodite herself had a hand in creating each luxurious quarter. Be you one who enjoys the comfort and intimacy of a cozy room, or a newlywed couple who seek more to experience the breath-taking Honeymoon suite, disappointment cannot be found with either option.

Each room has its own unique design and atmosphere. The decor, the furnishing and the general aura of each room make one feel almost guilty for booking a tour for the following day. With comforts so welcome and accessible, one does find it virtually impossible to walk away from the luxury of your own personal in-suite Jacuzzi tub, private views of the misty Mopan River from the window above it and continuous wafting of gentle breezes bringing in both nature and the scents of the meal to come.

Rico’s Bar & Grill is the masterfully designed restaurant, which will delight your pallet and surprise your stomach with local, organically grown foods. A local 10-acre farm near Mahogany hall, as well as their own organic herb garden, provides the resort with the freshest ingredients for both their innovative and traditional gastronomic treats, along with daily fresh flowers to delight your olfactory senses while you share an unforgettable meal with the one you love most. Chef Mateo Villanueva (winner of the coveted second place award in the Taste of Belize Challenge in 2009) runs his kitchen with the skill and attention to detail one might find in a military officer. Each dish is carefully crafted, inspected and plated to such extreme perfection that one feels a moment’s hesitation before putting fork to food. Such a feeling is interrupted only by the anticipation of finally tasting a meal that seems to be made for the Gods themselves. Both the portions and the price will surpass every expectation and send you into a trance of pure exhilaration. The friendly and attentive staff is most helpful in coaxing you out of your delicious coma by lighting the inside fireplace and setting the mood of the hall from romantic to absolute enchantment.

With the sun now set and the warm winds fading, one may sit and enjoy the firelight as it dances along the glistening mahogany beams of the great hall, while wading in the infinity edge pool, which overlooks the river and marvel at the stars along with the distant lights and hushed sounds of the village. Should an ounce of stress or worry remain, a private massage can be arranged back in your room to gently work your muscles into a sort of pudding which brings the body, mind and soul to a state of balance and calm.

Your dreams will not seem so distant when you awake the next morning, for you will be unsure that the dream has ended. The morning mist gently dancing atop the river, a private balcony with both coffee and tea on the ready which to take it all in and the tropical morning sounds will make one imagine that this is a glimpse into Heaven itself rather than just a simple vacation destination.

Recently Belize was named “The #1 up-and-coming honeymoon destination” in Bride’s magazine. The Belize Tourism Board (BTB) is responsible for this through a vast and expansive marketing campaign to the world, telling others of the wonders of Belize. After personally visiting most of the major resorts throughout Belize, I cannot help but think that BTB had Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort as their main example of why newlyweds should visit Belize for their honeymoon.

No resort in Belize will pamper you more, treat you more like family or make your stay even better than you could have ever dreamed than Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort. For couples who have been together for years and are looking for a place to reignite the romantic spark, or those who are newly married, Mahogany Hall will inspire your hearts by providing one of the most romantic atmospheres ever conceived by humankind. Do yourself, and your relationship, the largest favor ever and experience the joy, the romance and the inspiration of Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeanoFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHBelize, Guest Relations Manager at Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you so much! We really enjoyed your stay and cannot wait for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have spent three happy and peaceful days/ nights in this charming hotel, beautifully nestled on the bank of the Mopan river. We had some nice chats with the owner Richard who supervises every detail of this excellent boutique hotel. Staff goes beyond expectation, they fixed us a special diner on the deck to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and offered us a bottle of wine. The hotel is perfectly located for day trips to ATM caves, Xunantuneech Maya temple, Tikal, Caracole....
Hope to come back one day...

Room Tip: The best room is the nuptial suite with a jacuzzi overlooking the river...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews