We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Rock Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Black Rock
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gaia Riverlodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Benque Resort and Spa(Benque Viejo del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariposa Jungle Lodge(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarissa Falls Resort(San Jose Succotz)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveler rating
903
105
12
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
903
105
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsmacal riveron sitenight hikebird watchingfamily stylevaca fallshorseback ridingrope swingdeluxe cabincommunal diningremote locationcanoe tripacross the riveratm cavejurassic parkbumpy dirt road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
920 - 925 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Our 4-day stay in March 2010 was terrific, primarily for the people at the Lodge, both the staff and the other guests. We went on several bird walks and a canoe trip with the bird guide, Elvis, who was extraordinary. Giovanni was always looking out for us and arranging tours and other activities based on our interests. Did two Mayan ruins tours with guides from the Lodge, Yaxha in Guatemala and Xunantunich more close by.

Our cabin overlooking the river was very comfortable, and the food was very good. We will remember our stay fondly.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Roxtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

A week is just about what you need to appreciate all that BRL offers. Great birding, hiking, canoeing, tubing with historic Mayan ruins nearby. Small and friendly with great meals and attentive and conscientious employees. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendellCapeCodMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I just returned from a four night stay at Black Rock Lodge with my husband. We had an amazing trip. From the moment we got off the plane we were able to relax and enjoy our trip to Belize. The owners, managers, and staff go out of their way to make sure that the visit to Black Rock is as stress free as possible. The Lodge coordinates outdoor activities and excursions so that planning your stay is easy. They make everything possible. The outdoor activity guides are friendly and knowledgeable. The food is simple, fresh, organic, well-priced and delicious. The rooms are simple, yet clean. There is 24-hour a day electricity and running water. The location of the lodge is amazing, overlooking the Macal River. Enjoy!.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slefrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I spent a week at the Black Rock Lodge in February 2010. It was our first "rain forest" vacation and we weren't sure what to expect. Black Rock was a wonderful experience from first to last. The site next to the Macal River meant that we could immediately cool off with a swim (and it was HOT at times) and we loved being surrounded by the birds and sounds of the jungle.

There was more than enough to do. Using the Black Rock guides, we took tours to Tikal (mind-blowing) and did a cave-tubing adventure (my husband's favorite). Also did some river tubing and both the late-night jungle hike (don't do this if spiders creep you out) and early-morning bird hike. Also horseback riding to a scenic summit. Everything went smoothly and we loved every minute of it.

The food at Black Rock was great. I was a bit worried that we would be trapped there with no other food options, but the menu choices are varied and plentiful. Dinner is served family-style and it was fun to talk with other guests from all over the world and compare adventures.

The entire staff was wonderful. They made us feel very welcome. A special thanks to Elvis who amazed us with his keen eyesight and encyclopedic knowledge of Belizian wildlife. It was a vacation we'll never forget and we would highly recommend this lodge for anyone looking for both adventure and a little pampering in the jungle.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosings_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

If you want a quiet place in the rainforest, this is a good stop for you. And quiet is a relative term, because the rainforest is pretty noisy.

Good points here:
1) Drinkable running water!! Really!
2) No mosquitoes - high elevation and no standing water
3) Food that is delicious and good for you. This is close to gourmet quality food. Yum.

You might not like this if:
1) you want a nightlife (except for the guided night walk into the rainforest!)
2) you want to eat at more than one place
3) you don't want to have to walk much - you do need to walk here

Staff is great. They can arrange any number of trips and adventures for you. Our group did the canoeing, horseback riding, tubing down the river (ok, it's not exactly a swimming pool, but it's pretty good), caving, and many trips/walks to identify birds and see the environment.

One of the people in our group fell and broke her hip. The staff was superb in transporting her to the medical clinic for evaluation, and eventual flight to the states.

The dirt road in and out of the place is not the easiest road to navigate.

We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PieceOfPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews