We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mystic River Resort
Nearby Hotels
$545
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
$224
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
San Ignacio Resort Hotel(San Ignacio)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Table Rock Jungle Lodge(Cristo Rey)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarissa Falls Resort(San Jose Succotz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicool Hotel(San Ignacio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
691
50
9
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
50
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsben cruzpalapa baratm cavemayan ruinshorseback ridingevery morningyoga deckgoat cheesezip liningdaily specialson siteour honeymoonpacked lunchowners and staffthe open air restaurantsan pedrowonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 755 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I took my two adult sons to Mystic River. It was tranquil, secluded and beautifully landscaped. Our accommodations were well done and tasteful and the bathroom was elegant. We rode horses, tubed in the river and went to ruins and the ATM cave. Amazing. Our balcony overlooked the Macal River and we were surrounded by natural beauty. The staff was friendly, and the stay was perfect. The on sight restaurant had a view that was breathtaking. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 445Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had an amazing adventure in the jungle complete with a hurricane. Nadege and Tom bent over backwards to assist us when the hurricane threatened to hit Ambergris Caye our next destination. They made numerous calls to check when the airport would reopen and made new reservations for us.They kept us constantly updated on weather reports and communicated with our next hotel. A state of emergency closed all the national parks but they managed to arrange an incredible adventure for us. They have the most excellent guides we went on several tours in other parts of the country and none of the guides were as good. The food was great with a nice variety of dishes, they also would pack lunches for us to take on our all day tours. Our room was clean and spacious with a huge shower. It was hard to believe we were in the middle of the jungle with how nice everything was. We left a credit card in the room and they made a huge effort to get ahold of us and return it. Excellent staff and service, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runeasy92660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed 6 days at Mystic River Resort. It is a nice resort with beautiful grounds. It is really clean and there are no mosquitoes! The property offers horseback riding, hiking, tubing, canoeing. The staff is amazing, very friendly. The food was good but a little expensive. The resort is located in a secluded area far from town. I would have like to be able to walk to town to mingle with the local and try other places to eat. Overall we had a very nice stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was ok, but definitely doesn't deserve a 5 star rating. I was very surprised at all of the 5 star comments. It makes me wonder what the people who gave it 5 stars are comparing it to?

The food was VERY AVERAGE! I love food and am always willing to pay a premium for it, but there is nothing worse then being stranded out in the middle of no where to pay top dollar for average food. We paid about $20-$25 US for one chicken drum stick and a small portion of rice and beans.

The decor of the rooms also didn't match the setting. They were decorated like a midwestern US style bed and breakfast or a Canadian chalet, not like a jungle retreat. The rooms don't have AC so you have to keep your windows open and bugs get in from the cracks, which I guess you are in the jungle so some of this is expected.

Some people made it seem that the owners were just fantastic to deal with, so maybe we caught them at a bad time. But I felt like I was dealing a car salesman, not someone at a nice hotel. We always felt like we were being sold to. Even just a trip to town cost $25 each way. They said they would take us if someone was going, but then conveniently no one was going so we walked and then saw at least 4 hotel staff pass us on our walk into town.

We have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and this is definitely not one I would give 5 stars to, but maybe it is better then what's around in this particular area and that is way it's rated so highly. Lower your expectations and you might be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rschnurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Tom and I were quite surprised when we read your review especially since your last comments to us when you were leaving were what an amazing time you had! I am very sorry you did not enjoy the food we served you, especially our delicious Belizean special of Rice & Beans, which includes your choice of chicken/beef/pork or fish, with a healthy helping of rice and beans, coleslaw and fried plantain (the cost of which is $15 US). If I recall correctly, you did express the desire to walk to town for exercise, which was quite unusual since we had offered to call a taxi for you as we had no scheduled trip to town. I did check in my log book and we did not have anyone leaving for town that day so the staff you saw was definitely not ours!
Our units are furnished using the skills of local craftsmen and local hardwoods such as mahogany. All our tables for example were made by the folks at the Cayo Deaf Institute which helps young people with hearing problems develop a craft which they can use to support themselves. We are very proud to be an active participant in their program.
Tom and I are very enthusiastic when it comes to answering our guests’ questions and describing the activities and adventures our guests can participate in in the Cayo District of Belize. We are very proud of what we have to offer and do not want anyone to miss out. If we have offended you by doing this and did not meet your expectations, please do accept our sincerest apologies. Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went to Mystic River, San Ignacio without having done our homework on what to do there. But luckily for us, we met Nadege, a co-owner of the resort when we checked in and were able to make great use of our time there. The afternoon we arrived, we immediately set off on a hike through the beautiful grounds that belong to the property. That evening we went tubing down river with Nadege herself accompanying us on the drive to the starting point. We got back in time for happy hour at the bar where all the guests and the owners Tom and Nadege congregate every evening for a pleasant chat and a debriefing on everyone's adventures. The next day was taken up in an expedition to ATM caves - probably the most impressive tourist destination in all of Belize. Here we swam and waded up river, slithered between and clambered over slippery rocks taking in impressive stalactites and Mayan pottery and skeleteons dating back to the 2nd to 8th century AD in a cave system that was more than half a kilometer long! All this wearing spelunking gear - a helmet with a headlight to illiuminate our way. Back again to happy hour and a relaxing time in our large and comfortable bungalow. The food and service in the resort dining room was excellent throughout. Our last day there, we paddled the resort's canoe to San Ignacio (a two hour trip) where our luggage and driver were waiting to drive us to our next destination.

Yes, the meals were a little expensive and we did not have many other options than eating at the resort, but all in all it is well worth it if you want a relaxing, yet adventurous vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skk1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews