We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mystic River Resort
Nearby Hotels
$545
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
$85
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarissa Falls Resort(San Jose Succotz)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
$57
$55
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Tropicool Hotel(San Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mariposa Jungle Lodge(San Antonio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveler rating
685
49
9
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
49
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsben cruzpalapa baratm cavemayan ruinshorseback ridingevery morningyoga deckgoat cheesezip liningdaily specialson siteour honeymoonpacked lunchowners and staffthe open air restaurantsan pedrowonderful hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 748 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2011

What a wonderful resort - everything was just crafted with the feeling of love. You couldn't ask for better hosts than Tom and Nadege who orchestrated every detail to our stay and we can't say thank you enough. The rooms were wonderful, the food pleasantly good, and the staff amazing. We were only there 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vladdy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Mystic River is a fantastic resort. We stayed as part of out honeymoon before moving onto one of the islands. Tom and Nadege were fabulous hosts and have created a beautiful yet very natural resort. Our cottage was fabulous with a balcony over looking the river. All home comforts you could wish for. They were more than helpful in giving us advice as to what trips we would like to do. The food was great and cooked to a high standard, with the restaurant offering great views down to the river. The staff were amazing especially my new friend George!

Would highly recommend a visit......you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same with balcony over looking the river
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leewilko1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Let me just tell you that I'm one of those people who does a lot of research before booking a place and preparing for our Belize vacation was no exception. If you're like me, you should know by now that there are many places you can stay in the jungle but after pondering all of them I chose Mystic River and I'm sure glad I did! The place is spectacular of course and I'm sure others are as well but what really pulled us here was the incredible helpful Nadege. When you're in Belize for the first time, you need somebody to give you helpful and honest advice. Nadege took the time before we even decided to come to her place to answer all my many questions and all throughout helped us make our stay one of the most memorable ones. Most of the places in Belize want to sell you packages with all sort of tours and activities included so it is very difficult to compare them. We wanted to rent a car and drive to most places on our own so we can stop by and have a more direct experience. Nadege was very flexible in arranging a tour when it made no sense to go there on our own but also advise us on our own explorations.
Oh, and if Leo still mans the bar, you really lucked out.
Just go there and you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seibe_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

A bit off the beaten track, but that's what makes Mystic River Lodge so special. From the moment we arrived to the day we left, we were well taken care of by the resort staff and our host, "Mr Thomas." Wonderful cabanas with over-the-top amenities and jungle river views. Highlights included two separate adventures with our resort guides Lloyd and Ebert to Xunantunich and Caracol.

Because of its close proximity to the Mayan ruins, the location makes it a great half-day trip for visiting Xunantunich or an all-day trip to Caracol or Tikal. Wish we had one more day there to try another adventure, but we had to head down to Placencia. For those looking for a unique and fabulous jungle experience and first-class service, you can't go wrong with this gem of a resort.

Tim & Celia Metcalf
North Bennington, Vermont

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cody008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We spent several nights at Mystic River with our children, 6 and 3 1/2 and loved every minute of it. The kids loved riding the horses on the property and canoeing on the river. Mystic River offers the highest level of comfort and quality that you can get in a resort that is truly in the rain forest (six miles from the nearest paved road).

But I will have to say that the most memorable part of our trip was when we left the kids behind (Tom and Nadege can find you a sitter) and went off on an adventure of our own. Swimming into a cave used for ancient Mayan ceremonies in clear, cold water immediately sharpened my senses.

After swimming and climbing through some tight squeezes, we found ourselves in a beautiful cave chamber filled with ancient artifacts and a few surprises that I can't reveal.

Back at the resort, our kids had been well entertained (and thoroughly worn out), so we enjoyed dinner and got them to bed early and enjoyed a glass of wine (maybe it was two glasses) on the deck of our cabin before making our way to bed and anxiously awaiting another adventure the next day.

We can't wait to get back. Tom and Nadege make this special location an extraordinary place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasong1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews