We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
208
13
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
208
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool putting green level of service every meal fish welcome drink sashimi fast boat from bali bedroom villa water cooler paddle boards stayed longer bamboo sheets baby sharks free of charge amazing staff romantic dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 222 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2019

We stayed at Kokomo mid Jan '19 as a surprise for my wife's birthday. We were meant to stay just one night, but it was no where near long enough so we stayed longer! The level of detail and service that the staff offer is 5 star. From the warming welcome and face towels when we were greeted by Wayan at the wharf to the time we left, we enjoyed every last minute. You can tell these guys are competing with some of the biggest names in resort offerings around.

There's two main types of rooms; the beautiful wooden bungalows near the water and a few larger, self-contained private pool villas on the hill; all connected by manicured lawns and flowering bougainvillea. We stayed in a private pool villa, with two showers, a kitchenette and dining area, lounge with flatscreen TV and a huge bedroom featuring a luxuriously oversized bed.The pool was a nice size and the deck area featured a small viewing platform perfect for a drink in the evening.

This is a place where you can either do it all or relax and be waited on hand and foot. There's kayaking, snorkelling, bike-riding, mini golf and game fishing. One night Wayan took a guest out fishing and got the chef to make us a plate of fresh sashimi from the catch. The chef (I believe Sydney-trained), was exceptional and the food is the best dinning option you can get on the island. The dining area has a sand floor so you get to dine with sand between your toes.

The location is also absolutely idyllic. Gili Gede is the largest in a series of islands off the south-west coast of Lombok. A lot of people seem to come from Bali, but we took a private boat from Tembowong Harbour in Lombok (an easy 15mins cruise to Gili Gede). If you've been to the northern Gilis (Air, Meno and T.), this is the unspoilt, yet to be discovered, less polluted, less-touristy, version. Which speaks to the kudos due for the efforts of putting up such a high-service establishment. I recommend a bike ride around the island, exploring the local villages, as the vistas are worth it.

The surrounding islands (Anyaran, Layar and Rengit) are relatively easy to get to by Kayak, the resort also offers boat tours. They have some of the best snorkelling we've ever done and apparently Layar has a lot of sea turtles. The mangroves nearby are a sanctuary for baby (harmless) sharks. There's a shop next door and a couple of small stalls in the village, but if you need anything the resort is more than likely able to provide.

To top it all off they have a spa with not just a masseuse, but a local healer, trained through generations. We got the hour but I highly recommend longer as they like to find problem spots and fix them, rather than just rub your back. Honestly the best massage we've had.

Families, couples, honeymoons, special occasions or just a perfect getaway, Kokomo is a great choice, you won't be disappointed! With this level of service on an Island like Gede, it won't be tourist-free forever. We will definitely be back.

Room tip: The upgrade to the pool villa was well worth it!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brenh189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

Great place! Unfortunately the photos here and on their website don't do the rooms justice, they make the rooms look a bit sparse compared to some of the over-decorated rooms at other resorts. But the rooms are great! Spacious, comfortable, perfect.

This is not a high-activity destination. It is more of a get-away-from-it-all place. So if you want constant entertainment and activities, go elsewhere. But if you want quiet relaxing days in an ideal spot, come here.

The service is great, the staff goes out of their way to be helpful, without being intrusive.

I have been worried about what happened to the hotel in the recent earthquake, and hope things are okay.

I did the picnic on a nearby island. Nice, but so much trash on the beach! This of course is a general problem throughout Indonesia, not specific to this hotel.

I also biked around the island, very nice ride, but if you do it, take a map!!!

The direct boat from Bali is a great way to get there.

Highly recommended hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank d_kester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

Kokomo really made our vacation. They upgraded our room from a front beach cottage into a 1 bed private villa with a pool, even before we got there!

The villa was awesome. Very spacious and clean. The dip pool was great. We spent most of our time in the pool, I guess.

Food was superb, and their desserts to die for. We had a seafood bbq on new years eve, oh soo good! And we also had their seafood platter, so fresh.

Kokomo staff were very friendly and helpful. They even arranged us a picnic on an unhabited island, brought us a large umbrella and bean bags. Great service!

Would surely love to come back

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RRajasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing!! We spent the first part of our trip in Bali and although that was great, we felt like our real honeymoon started once we got to Kokomo. Everything from booking and adjusting plans via email, to greeting us at arrival, a complimentary upgrade to a more private villa, their perfect service—it was unreal! Wayan and his staff, Jack, Sandy and Fandi especially, took such great care of us and knew our food & drink preferences from day one. They have an excellent balance of making sure our needs were met while also giving us the privacy we wanted. They also had inclusions like snorkeling gear, a big breakfast daily and more. We both agree that we are definitely going back there one day! Could not say enough great things about this place. Thank you!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Corrine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019

This hotel was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. From the moment we stepped off the boat, we were pampered and looked after. The service is exceptional and each of the staff members makes an effort to get to know their guests. The staff are very proactive (as opposed reactive) and anticipate their guests' needs, like bringing a glass of ice, cold water as you set your stuff down on a beach chair. Most of all, the friendliness of everyone and pride they took in their jobs really stood out.

We stayed in a private villa with pool with my wife and two small children (aged 3 and 4 months) and the villa was extremely well appointed. There was ample space, multiple flat screens, plenty of international charging ports (no need to even bring a converter!), black-out shades (awesome for infants!) and our own water cooler. Room service was quick and the pool area even had an adjustable awning. Everything about it was fantastic and top notch. Our kids really enjoyed the pool and the hotel offered multiple cleanings and turn-down service every time you ate at the restaurant (seriously, the service was amazing!).

Speaking of restaurant, the restaurant was another highlight for us. Gili Gede does not have much to offer in terms of culinary options, but there is no need to leave the resort. All of the menu items were phenomenal. They brought in fresh ingredients every day from Bali, offered tastings of their specials and the portions were more than generous. We never got bored and tried nearly everything on the menu during our 4 day stay.

The grounds of the resort were also fantastic and provided plenty of options. Each day, we had the choice to play some tennis, work out, practice putting and chipping, snorkel off the docks, look for seashells, walk around the island, take boats and more. The grounds were also covered in brilliantly colored flowers throughout.

All in all, this was one of the finest hotel experiences I've ever had and hats off to Tony and his staff. Everything about our stay was above and beyond what we expected and the memories from our stay will last a lifetime. Do yourself a favor and book this place. It's the perfect setting to enjoy Indonesia in full luxuriousness!

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank Nick_Zolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews