We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
York House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$177
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
106
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgebeautiful gardenbay windowwarm welcomeb bhay on wyeshort walkboth morningshomemade marmaladelovely fresh fruitwithin easy walking distanceevery morningfeel very welcometea traywonderful hostscomfortable bedplace to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 110 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at York house for three nights but I wished it had been much much longer, it was a very enjoyable stay at this wonderful B&B, Margaret and Jim are such nice people, the breakfasts were as good as I have ever had, a fantastic garden, we sat having breakfast and watched woodpeckers and all sorts of other birds feeding, and 3 great dogs which I played with in the garden, I cant praise the York House enough, we want to go back again, and soon.

L and C Clarke

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank colindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLWesley, Owner at York House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Margaret and I really appreciate it. We were pleased you enjoyed playing with the dogs, Rosie, Willow and Merlin would like you to come back and play again soon and we would just like to meet you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned after 7 nights in this beautiful B&B run by a super couple who really make hospitality a pleasure. Very comfortable beds with lovely views from the room and a spacious, well tended and cared for garden to enjoy.Just a short walk in Wales every evening to sample the local pubs and restaurants. Breakfast has plenty of delicious choice served in a light and airy room. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Tretower has a great garden view and lovely bay window to sit in.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We arrived en masse (7 adults and 4 children) to take over York House at the beginning of July whilst attending a family wedding in Hay. At the end of the weekend, we had eaten Jim out of porridge (a big hit with the kids!) and I had nearly run out of ways to express my excitement regarding the proliferation of birds feeding in the garden.
We enjoyed the comfortable beds, oodles of hot water, and really appreciated the free wifi and the box of games which kept the children amused.
The garden is beautiful, and if we'd had more time, we'd have loved to spend more time sitting in it, watching the woodpeckers flitted around the bird feeders.
Jim and Margaret are extremely welcoming and charming hosts; they deserve to do well.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jennifire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A fantastic weekend with Jim and Margaret at the York House B&B in Hay on Wye. A great traditional B&B experience (including a great traditional breakfast everyday). Jim and Margaret were always happy to respond to our endless questions about good walking routes, weather, taxi firms, places to eat etc. Recommended!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

A lovely house in a lovely situation, with very welcoming hosts who seem to have thought of every last detail to make our stay comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews