We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
17
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
17
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flora and fauna canopy walk lowlands amazon trail orchids feeders peru aca
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

We spent three days here and had a great time enjoying nature and bird-watching. The lodge is perched above a cloud forest valley, very scenic. We had some excellent meals, and enjoyed walking along several of the trails.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank bswift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2019

Just an overnight stay! The rooms are in cabins situated in the grounds, the restaurant is in a newer building(could do with having toilets near this). Free tea, coffee, chocolate available all day! Room 2 has a view over the valley. It gets very cold at night, beds have sheets, blankets, duvet, spare blanket and a hot water bottle! Shower had plenty of hot water. Breakfast was cereal, eggs, fruit, bacon and plenty of fresh coffee, dinner was lovely, delicious soup, beef with plenty of fresh vegetables, amazing! Electricity in rooms from 1800 - 2100. Staff were lovely.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank r0bert870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

Great setting in a cloud forest. Numerous trails for exploration, orchid trail, canopy walk...much to keep us busy. Well placed cabins allowed for enjoying the cloud forest and the mixed flocks of birds that came by. Electricity is limited and the lights go out at 9pm. Beautiful road with waterfalls and wonderful flora and fauna. Being at high altitude, it does get a bit chilly.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

The 1450 acre reserve around Wayqecha Biological Station is a biodiversity hotspot where treeless plains of the altiplano meet cloud forest. Wayqecha sits at 2950m above sea level, atop a steep slope that drops off sharply into the valley below. We stayed here for two nights during a recent birding trip to Peru, and wish we could have stayed for a year! Everyone comes here for the birding, but there is so much to do and see here apart form that. The cabins are comfortable and have magnificent views over the valleys below, and the recently refurbished common room is stunning; like something in a high-end safari lodge. The food was excellent, and the staff all friendly and extremely knowledgable. The scenery is truly wonderful; we took countless photos in the two days we were there! Wayqecha was a wonderful introduction to the famous Manu Road!

Room tip: All the cabins share the wonderful views of the valleys below and the mountains around.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

Tucked just below one of the mountain switchbacks on the upper Manu Road, The Wayqecha Cloud Forest Biological Station & Birding Lodge is the perfect (and only) place for tourists to observe the flora and fauna of Manu's high-elevation zones: puna grasslands, elfin forest, and cloud forest. On a clear day you can look out from the dining hall and see the Pini Pini mountains and distant Amazon lowlands below, and late in the day, a majestic rolling sea of clouds rises up the valley.

The main lodge & dining hall is shared between researchers and tourists. It's modern, bright, and spacious, with lots of info boards and reading materials inside about the research and wildlife possibilities on site. The staff seemed small, but did a great job. The hot, home-cooked Peruvian meals were fantastic, with convenient to-go options if you'll be out all day exploring. The wood-framed tourist cabins are clean and well-maintained, with modern bathroom fixtures, hot water, an enclosed shower, a work desk and a storage shelf. Each room has a small porch that overlooks the stunning mountainside. Make sure you bring plenty of layers—temperatures at night are very low this high up, even with the nice sleeping blankets provided.

There are many birds easily seen around the station grounds. We saw dazzling hummingbirds (including Sunangels, Sunbeams, Long-tailed Sylphs) at the feeders, and colorful tanagers (including Grass-green, Hooded Mountain-, Scarlet-bellied Mountain-) both around the grounds and from our cabin. In the evenings and mornings while we were there, an Andean Fox was even hanging about the grounds and dining hall.

There are some nearby station trails that are good for birding, but we did most of our exploring along the road above and below the lodge. The Manu Road is as incredible for birding as legend tells: we had great sightings of Grey-breasted Mountain-Toucans, Blue-banded Toucanets, Masked Trogons, Fruiteaters, and stop-in-your-tracks Golden-headed Quetzals. Mixed flocks included dozens of tanagers, warblers, flycatchers, treerunners, jays, woodpeckers, etc. Our guide, Percy Avendaño, from Amazon Conservation Association's tourism outfit Amazon Journeys was simply the best at finding them all. THE best.

We did hike to the Canopy Walkway, and while not very long, it's immaculately built and shouldn't be missed (it's the first of its kind for cloud-forest habitat). The trail around is dripping with ferns, bromeliads, orchids, and mosses along the way, and there are many cloud-forest denizens to be seen: hummingbirds, flowerpiercers, ovenbirds, etc. We got super lucky, and were treated to another Golden-headed Quetzal sighting from the walkway. At the end of the final platform, there was a fascinating climate change study going on where scientists have quarantined off a section of forest using green mesh in order to block out the rising cloud cover (simulating an absence of fog caused by warming temperatures). There are all sorts of hydrometers, measuring devices, and every tree, seedling, epiphyte is marked and monitored to study the effects of moisture loss. This is a great example of how Wayqecha operates as a one-of-a-kind living research lab.

ACA/ACCA are doing incredible work by operating this lodge that integrates ecotourism with education and biological research. The Wayqecha Cloud Forest Biological Station is a premiere destination for experiencing the high-elevation Amazon of Manu National Park and is not a lodge to be missed during an Andean-Amazon journey!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews