We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Paradise Palawan
Nearby Hotels
$124
$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$132
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$68
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Busuanga Bay Lodge(Concepcion)
$305
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$151
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$30
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$44
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$99
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
576
289
99
37
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
289
99
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub paradisebeach frontfishisland hoppingfruit batsmarine lifebeautiful islandwhite sandsea turtlesboat ridebusuanga airportbeachfront cottagelunch and dinnerscuba divingmonitor lizardsel nidosunset villa
Filter
Updating list...
850 - 855 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful resort. Staff is very much approachable. Food is great & rooms are well-maintained. I loved to go back in this paradise......

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank line15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

generally it is not a 5-star resort but the staff and location make amends for it.

the area is wonderfull the staff is friendly and helpfull, the room are decent and clean, the food it's not great but enjoyable and in vast amounts (!!).

i had a great time there, did some great snorkelling, had a great tan and took amazing pictures!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arginiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We chose to stay in Club Paradise instead of hotels in Coron Town because we relish having that island feel. For a beach vacation, there is nothing like waking up to a breathtaking view of the ocean right outside your window. Hence, our choice of staying in a resort with its own island. Of course, there are tradeoffs, most significant of which is the higher cost of everything.


THE UPSIDE:

The resort is beautiful and well-maintained. We stayed in a beachfront cottage. It was spacious (small recieving area, walk-in closet with vanity, well-functioning bathroom), clean, airconditioned and came complete with hot/cold bath (plus the usual basic bathroom amenities and toilettries you would expect from hotels, save for a bidette and tub). Our bed and pillows were comfortable.

Staff service was good. The guy who met us at the airport also provided us with information on Coron and all its tourist attractions on our way to the resort. Housekeeping always repsonded to our requests in a timely manner and made sure our cottages (we traveled with 2 other families and occupied 4 beachfront cottages) were always well-prepped and clean. On our first day, when we decided to go snorkeling around the resort (Club Paradise is surrounded with marine life...great to explore), we were accompanied by competent and amiable guides who would point us to areas teeming with fish, corals and giant clams. On our second day, we availed of the resort's Coron Island Tour service (Twin Lagoon, Kayangan Lake, Siete Pecados and Maquinit Hot Springs). The hotel packed lunch for us to be taken with the tour which commenced at 8am and finished 5pm. The guy who supervised the tour was very knowledgeable and even served as our swim/snorkel guide. The resort also provided us with free use of snorkel gear, life jackets and even had a first aid kit, which proved so helpful after one of my friends developed an allergic reaction to one of the dishes (smoked fish) in our packed lunch. The kit had life-saving antihistamines! Bravo!

Our package included 3days/2nights accommodation, transfers to from the airport and full-board meals, all of which (save for the packed lunch during the tour) was served buffet-style. Our dinners were satisfying. We enjoyed their Japanese dimsum (sushi, sashimi), grilled prawns with lemon-butter sauce, Korean beef stew, steamed red lapu-lapu (considered class a, as it is usually shipped to HK and Japan and picks up a high tab), fried crablets, Mongolian barbecue, calamari, peach float and halo-halo. The breakfast fare were also satisfying.

THE DOWNSIDE:

The absence of in-room safe in the cottage. This was a first for us as all the other resorts in other places we've stayed in (Cebu, Bohol, Boracay, Subic, HK, Singapore, US) had one. What I usually would leave in the in-room safe I ended up lugging around in my beach bag, even during the island tour (argh! heavy!).

Coffee is only served over breakfast, despite the package including full-board meals. This ain't so in other resorts/hotels. And us adults in the group LOVE coffee, so it was THAT big a downside for us. (moan! groan!)

The Coron Island Tour was expensive (P3K per head for a group of 6 or more). I ended up paying P12K+ for hubby, our 2 teenage kids and I (ouch! said my wallet). In Coron Town, you can easily get the services of a tour operator for only P5K for a total of 8 people (P625 per head!). We couldn't get the services of a reputable and cheaper operator as Club Paradise told us of a new regulation/agreement among Coron resorts that guests can only avail of the services of the resorts where they're billeted. (uh-huh!)

One dinner, we were served tuna sashimi. It seemed that the next day, the leftover sashimi was "recycled" as smoked fish and served as appetizers for our packed lunch. After I tried one slice, I felt a little itchy around the mouth and toungue, so I advised the other members of our group (there were 9 of us) to avoid the smoked fish. Another group who also stayed in Club Paradise and also touring alongside our boat and occupied the same area we ate in also observed the same about the fish. Unfortunately, a member of our group had already taken 3 slices of the fish and started manifesting symptoms of allergy (reddening in the face, headache, itchiness). Good thing our boat had antihistamines in stock. Thank heavens her symptoms subsided a while after taking the antihistamine! (whew!)

The airconditioner in one our cottages broke down twice in one night. My friend (same one who had allergies), whose cottage was the one affected, asked to either be transferred to another cottage or provided with a replacement a/c unit. Replacement was provided the next evening.

Not enough electric fans in the restaurant, especially in the summer (sweating over lunch and dinner...NOT a blissful experience!). This, though, can easily be remedied. Heads up, Club Paradise!

Bathing water is a little hard and salty. No matter how you scrub with soap, you still won't suds up. The tap water you gargle with is salty. Other beach resorts we've visited (in Boracay, Bohol, and Cebu) have desalinators (equipment used to renove excess salt and minerals in water).

CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND THE RESORT'S CONTROL:

jellyfish blooms/swarms around the resort's waters. My husband got stung on our first day, when we went off for snorkeling. He didn't even see the thing but just felt a sudden pain on his front leg. The 14-year-old son of my friend (same one who had an allergic reaction and whose aircon broke down) was also stung in the cheek! (ouch!). As soon as they returned to shore, the resort physician bathed the affected areas with vinegar. The discomfort had fully subsided the next day.

Our jeepney ride almost broke down on our way to the airport for our return flight to Manila. Problems with the clutch, they said. We were traversing a long dirt road where there was no cellular phone service coverage (scary!) when that happened. The jeepney was huffing and puffing all the way to the airport. When we got off it, we were so covered in dirt and aching for a shower. (yuck!)

Our flight (via PAL Express) was delayed for 2 hours for I-dunno-what-reason. Good thing we had good company and managed to while away the time snacking and chatting.

Club Paradise is a little more basic than other high-end resorts. It's still a gorgeous place to stay, though, and the staff are very endearing.

Would I consider staying there again? Damn straight, I would!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hot_tamale8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We decided to go with Club Paradise based on the unanimous good reviews here at Trip Advisor.. but this is probably the first time most of the people who has written good reviews for Club Paradise got it wrong (unless they've really never been out to other beach resorts across the Pacific or the Atlantic).

First of, the service/staff at Club Paradise is attentive/good. The beach for snorkelling is awesome. Unfortunately, it stops there. The resort is not even a 3 star resort. They charge over 200USD/person a night, so unless you plan on going alone, you'd be paying at least 400USD/night. For this type of rate, you'd expect the resort to be something close to what you'd get in Honolulu or Maui (We paid $250/night for a room at the 4-star Westin in both Maui and Honolulu - not even close to $400!). The buffet food they serve at Club Paradise is edible, but it's Filipino food you can easily get by paying less than $10USD in Manila. I don't advocate paying 5-star rates for mediocre accomodation and worn-down facilities. Their airport transfer is horrendous, they put you in this old dingy jeepney. Before you get to your boat, you're already covered in dust after going through 20 mins of unpaved roads. Some what different from how they'd treat you when you pay for the same amount and stay at the Shangri-la in Boracay.

I'd suggest going to El Nido, Palawan or stay at the Shangri-la in Boracay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ivyleague88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The best thing about Club Paradise is the location. The beaches are powdery white and the water crystal clear and light blue. The resort is situated on the private Dimakya island outside Busuanga. It is secluded and the only people there are the staff and the guests. The staff is helpful and friendly and made our stay pleasurable.
The resort has its own clinic which is very nice when you are far away from the nearest hospital, it has a nice diving center and offers tours (Coron island tour, island hopping, safari etc.). Besides this a boat sails to El Rio Y Mar for free where you can do water sports like water ski, wake board etc.
The house reef of the resort was good but I've seen better. The diving center offers diving excursions to the second world war wrecks and the reef at the other small islands. A dugong resides at the island but we didn't see it unfortunately.

The drawbacks are few:
- A few jellyfish in the water that might sting you :( But this is only a problem when it is windy and there are a lot of waves.
- The food gets a bit boring after some days BUT the dinner buffet has one 'special' dish every night which is pretty good!
- Mosquitos at night when dining so remember bug repellent or wear long pants.
- It's quite a ride in a jeepney from Coron/Busuanga airport (about 30-45 minutes) and then a boat ride of about 15 minutes which we didn't anticipate. It wasn't a big problem but people should now this as the road is very dusty and bumpy so if you get sick easily when driving prepare AND remember a handkerchief to breath through if you feel it is needed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews