We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manor Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
$100
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
$128
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhead Hotel(Lockerbie)
$128
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
52
37
10
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
37
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaggisfriendly family run hotelfamily roomoff roadblack puddingstayed one nightfantastic foodevening mealkendumfrieslockerbiehostspub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 110 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is our second time to stay at the Manor Country House Hotel. We were made welcome from the moment we stepped into the hotel. Our room was lovely - everything had been thought of, from the comfy bed and fluffy white towels (which are changed every day) to the little extras provided, including bottles of Scottish water and shortbread in with the teas & coffees in the room. However, what surprised us most was the food - The menu is extensive and would not be out of place in a top class city restaurant - prices were so reasonable. The full Scottish breakfast would set anyone up for the rest of the day! Ken and his family look after the guests so well, from adult to children. We plan to return again to this lovely hotel. There is something for everyone, well stocked bar, free internet, nice garden to sit in and the safe play area for the children.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AspenNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

the service we received at the hotel was excellent the owner of the hotel and all the staff we met were very friendly. breakfast was really good plenty choice, we ate our tea in the hotel on the night we arrived plenty of choice on the menu excellent meal.
the room which we stayed in was very clean towels changed every day and bed made also had facilities in the room to make a coffee or tea.
the hotel was central to where we wanted to go as it is mid way between lockerbie and dumfries.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days in July. First of all, it has to be said that the owner is really friendly and a great host. Our pub meals were alright and some of our family had large dinners off of the restaurant menu and said it was wonderful. Our breakfast was pretty good and plentiful.

The rooms were a bit of a downfall here in that they need an update and one of our family members had said that it was dusty in her room. I also thought the beds were a little uncomfortable and a bit small. I feel too that we should have been given the family room as we had paid for it and one of the people in our group didn't show up. However, this was never offered to us even though I'd told them that they weren't arriving (and was a little disappointing as we had a very small room).

One thing that all travellers to this hotel need to know is that you don't get a key to the front door. This means that there is a curfew and you need to be in at 12am. The owner stated this was due to insurance and the bar but we stayed at other places on our holiday that had bars and gave us keys to the front door.

Overall, okay but could be improved.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelduo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay the Manor Country House Hotel. The hosts were very friendly and made our stay enjoyable. Lovely views. The food is also very good. We would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortbread64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

as soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome, our comfortable family room was suprisingly huge and we settled in straight away. Ken and his family treated us with much respect, and we wanted for nothing. The food was delicious as our set one course meal turned into three courses! Thank you to Ken and family, have had a memorable stay. We highly recomend this hotel and shall be back :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheScotishWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews