We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for us and our dog.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Torthorwald, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nsg666
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ideal for us and our dog.”
Reviewed July 8, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Despite the cottage being compact we never felt it was cramped as best use of the available space has been made. It is on a roadside but very little traffic uses it as it only serves this property and two neighbours.
From the garden furniture to the kitchen appliances and entertainment, everything is to a high standard. The conservatory is a great place to eat and relax but also to shed any wet clothes and footwear and dry off the dog.

Thank you to the owners for the lovely shortbread and wine!

The only downside is that having had so much use of the conservatory we want future holiday cottages to have one and that restricts choice!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattyBoy3...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely cottage in a quiet location just 10 mins drive from the centre of Dumfries.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped, just the place for a relaxing break. The conservatory at the rear of the cottage is the perfect place to sit and unwind whilst watching the wildlife in the garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, extremely well stocked, and only 10mins from Dumfries The garden is a haven for wildlife, particularly birds. A very relaxing, peaceful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sun room & the garden view.
Liked least: No wi-fi.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Forget the TV!”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage was situated approx 4 miles away from Dumfries with views to die for! Forget the TV we sat in the conservatory admiring the view all week. It was warm and homely and had everything we needed

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
We are glad you felt at home in the property and could enjoy the fantastic views! Thank you for the great review - we would love to have you book with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worstead
Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing