We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big4 South Durras Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Lakesea Park(South Durras)(Great Value!)
$69
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Lincoln Downs Resort Batemans Bay(Batemans Bay)(Great Value!)
$80
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachhouse Marina Resort(Batemans Bay)(Great Value!)
$63
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quays Hotel(Batemans Bay)(Great Value!)
$90
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle Terrace Motor Inn(Batemans Bay)(Great Value!)
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Drive Motel(Batemans Bay)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zorba Waterfront Motel(Batemans Bay)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel(Batemans Bay)(Great Value!)
$123
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade(Batemans Bay)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pleasurelea Tourist Resort(Batemans Bay)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
72
26
4
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
26
4
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjumping castlecamp kitchenacross the roadbatemans bayholiday parkheated swimming poolbasketball hoopthe managersclean amenitieshear the waves crashingbeautiful beachbedroom cabinquiet nightoff leashgas stoverainbow lorikeetspowered site
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 107 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were really enjoyed 2 nights stayed in powered ensuite and surrounded by our Mother Nature. Unfortunately while we setup the tent it was heavy rain. The place was mud sand and got little problem. We setup 2 large tents for 12 persons (4 family). The swimming pool was not heated during our attempt. The beach is near to the park. The service was so nice and they allowed us to leave after the checkout time. Definitely we will stay again. Beware, this park is near to the beach so you will hear the noise of waves during the night time. But we enjoyed.

The beach opposite to the park is dangerous (rip current), we heard from local people that couple of people died. But there is no signing board available and not advised by the park management.

Pros:
1. Well maintained park
2. Well maintained toilets and kitchen
3. The park is near to the beach
4. Surrounded by nature parks
5. Plenty of parking available
6. Well knowledge staffs
7. Flexible with check in and check outs


Cons:
1. Swimming pool not heated during our attempt.
2. My tent site was not grass. Mostly mud.
3. Not enough common toilets and bathrooms (but not crowded)

Room Tip: Try powered ensuite.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed at South Durras Holiday Park previously and absolutely loved it. This time, we decided to take the opportunity to bring our 2 boxer dogs along. The park provides a dog-friendly camping area and at the time we visited there were 2 other dog-families camping as well.

We all had an absolute ball. The camping area is just across the road from an enormous 24-hour leash-free dog beach, so our girls ran themselves ragged on the sand and then slept somewhat comatose each night in our tent.

There are commonsense rules for bringing your dog to the park - picking up droppings, common areas where dogs aren't allowed, dogs on leads at all times etc but these are clearly intended to make sure everyone - dog-lovers or not - have a great time.

The facilities are spotless, and it's obvious that a lot of care and attention is given to the Park. The camp kitchen is a great feature, allowing you to store fresh food in the large fridge and using the kitchen facilities. Kids will love the playground and pedal car hire, and there are now mountain bikes for hire as well (on a previous trip without the dogs we thoroughly enjoyed the fire-trail track out the back of Murramurang - about a 15km round trip for us through magnificent bushland).

Kay, Bruce, Gay and the staff are all very friendly and were very accommodating of our furry family.

The Park is surrounded by national park, and there's an endless variety of wildlife to entertain you while you stay - on this particular trip we saw the mob of kangaroos (complete with joeys), rosellas, parrots, kookaburras and even a pod of dolphins surfing the waves on our last morning.

The only reason we are reluctant to highly recommend this Park is because everyone will want to go there and it will be hard to get a site!

We love it here, our dogs loved it here and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dk7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Spent a lovely week here with our 3 children. The cabin we stayed in was lovely and very clean. The kids enjoyed all the facilities this park had to offer. Would definitely return again for a lovely family holiday. Thanks to all the helpful staff who made our visit so pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My familiy spent 2 weeks over Xmas. the stay was o.k except for the park manager who cruised around stopping all the young children (and adults) fun. This person has the albility to give young children nightmares. there is no fun to have at the park, we had to go to neartby Marrmarang tourist park just so the kids could ride thier push bikes. come 9pm every night it was expected that everyone is to be be in bed asleep, so not to interfear with thier and others sleep (pretty hard to do over the festive season). Even though the toilet blook and showers are imucualate, the septic outside was seeping through the camping area. not the healtheist place to pitch a tent.

Over all if you want to have an enjoable family holliday in where you can watch your children enjoying the traditional tourist park experience and not expect to be covered in raw septic waste, dont book here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stig42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken B, Owner at Big4 South Durras Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us some 9 months ago. We greatly appreciate all feedback from the Trip Advisor community and our valued guests.

At BIG4 South Durras Holiday Park we strive to provide a safe and enjoyable family holiday environment. This is particularly important in peak periods such as Christmas School Holidays when the park is at its busiest.

We do ask guests to respect a "quiet time" from 10pm to 8am so that all guests, including our campers and those with young children can recharge for another busy day.

The overall safety and well being of our guests is a priority to us. Bike riders should comply with the road rules when riding in the park.eg. Helmets must be worn at all times and no riding after dark.

BIG4 South Durras Holiday Park is located in a wonderful natural coastal environment. Professional assistance is on call to help us protect that environment which we so greatly value. We have also been recognised with a Silver Gumnut award for our Environmental Excellence.

If any guests would like to discuss our park policies, we welcome comments and questions on 02-44786028 or email us at stay@southdurrasholidaypark.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

It is located 15 mins from Batemans Bay, a short drive through the bush. We stayed at a cabin, small, neat and tidy. Easily sleeps 5. One room with double bed, another room with double bed & single bunk on top. However, the mattress is quite soft, a bit of backache after just one night. Great for family with kids, as the common area has slides, basketball hoop, BBQ area and children's movies at night on big screen TV. The downside is the area has kangaroo poo all over, need to be very careful walking around. Small parking space next to cabin, need good skill to manoevre into it. We saw people camping and everyone looked very happy and relaxed. Will try another BIG4 holiday park next time ! A very different experience from staying at hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer quietness, ask to stay away from the common area.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews