We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Lapas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cerro Lodge(Tarcoles)(Great Value!)
$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arenas(Punta Leona)
$191
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Club Punta Leona(Punta Leona)(Great Value!)
$132
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Caletas(Jaco District)
$188
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$365
$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$216
$153
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
76
129
70
32
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
129
70
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercosta ricacarara national parknature loversscarlet macawsextensive groundssky walkleaf cutter antsreception areanice roomair concreepy crawlieschose villaprivate tournearest townjesus christ lizardswedding parties
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 326 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I'd visited this hotel at least 10 times, since i was 10 years old. I had watch it change during time. My last visit was in june 2011. This place is awesome if you like an ecological experience, if you are a tech maniac it is not the place for you. Also, if you have allergies to mold, pollen or stuff like that you shouldn't go to this place.
The hotel consists in rooms scatter around their property. The rooms are small, but they have enough space. They do not offer kitchen of this kind of stuff. They really need to update the rooms, they had been looking the same for at least the past 10 years.
This hotel is located inside and i really mean inside the tropical forest. They have a large river that pass 20 feet from their restaurant (the river is crystal clear, and that's really kind of difficult to see near this area).
They had a wedding area, located on the other side of the river. They have a small chapel, colonial style, and 2 big indoor areas for wedding parties or meetings.
The restaurant is small, they offer really limited dishes. They also offer a all-you-can-eat option, but this is all you can eat from the menu of the restaurant, not a always ready buffet or something like that. You have to order from the menu and wait a considerable amount of time for your food.
They have trails, birds, a lot of things to do. And also, Herradura and Jaco (the biggest towns in this area) are 15 - 20 minutes drive from there.
They have a few small pools that are always crowded.
One thing you should consider is that this hotel doesn't have a beach on their property, the nearest beach is Agujas, around 5 - 10 minutes drive from the hotel. This is more of a “mountain resort“ than a beach resort.
Overall a good experience, if you do not have high standards.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the lobby.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drpjgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Hotel Villa Lapas has a great number of bird species on its premises and serves as a great base for visiting Carara National Park and the Tarcoles River.

Villa Lapas has a few short trails to walk. We racked up a good number of species on the trails as well as walking the dirt road outside of the lodge. Each day we were there Scarlet Macaws flew over the lodge giving their loud raucous call. The trees around the rooms attracted a large number of species. This was the only place on the trip were I saw Baird's Trogon. A pretty birdy hotel.

The rooms were decent and clean. The staff was generally pretty nice. The food was alright, probably on the lower end out of the places we stayed.

The only minor issues I had were that only breakfast was included in the room fee so we had to pay for lunch and dinner, which ended up making this one of the more expensive places we stayed at. The other issue was our shower didn't drain adequately..other than that everything was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isocyanide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We wanted to visit Carara NP on our way from South to North. This seemed to be the only place to stay so close to the park. The park really is lovely, especially when your the first going in in the morning.

The rooms weren't clean (more customers complained), noisy, old and heavily in need of an upgrade. I have to say, in Dutch we would call it a Van der Valk experience (not a good thing in such a place). It's a very touristic place where loads of tourist end up (in and out) to visit the hotel's lame zipline and little 'authentic' village.

Room Tip: They all are in need of an upgrade!!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaVaGeNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed here last month with a group of about 50 people for 5 days for our wedding at Villa Caletas. It was really the most perfect setting and set up that we could have hoped for for our wedding trip. They gave us a group rate for that was very reasonable so that everyone could be there on the all-inclusive deal and we could all eat and drink together without having to worry about splitting bills. After all of the reviews that seem kind of mediocre on here, I had warned my friends and family that the hotel might be a little campy and I showed up to a group of people telling me that they LOVED that hotel and the hotel staff. The rooms were maybe a bit dated but they had what they needed and weren't uncomfortable. The grounds were amazing and people from our group saw everything from macaws and toucans to jesus christ lizards and coatimundis here. It is a bit out of town but with the different restaurants, our group felt like we had a vacation in our own little city of Santa Lucia at Villa Lapas. Hopsee was the manager who helped our group and he set up an amazing welcome party the first night and an even more amazing rehearsal dinner/party the following night. We had karaoke and dancing each night. They set up a projection screen for slideshows during the rehearsal party. Hopsee worked until 2am DJing and then would be up for questions at 7am. They even provided a wheelchair for my grandmother to get around and special accomodation so she wouldn't have to do more walking than she felt comfortable with. They also took us all together on the Sky Walk tour and the Zip Line. These are both relatively small in Costa Rican standards but it was nice to be able to have them on site without having to transport all those people around the country. All in all, we had an amazing experience here. If anyone is thinking about arranging a group trip to Costa Rica, I would recommend this as a place for your group.

Room Tip: Great for groups
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tschannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Our room was a bit dark (one of the 2nd floor ones), but the mattresses were wonderfully firm and everything seemed clean and fresh. All meals were all buffet-style, with many choices. The juices were especially good. Both dinners were served in the "old town" area, so a bit of a walk (across a raised walkway); however, breakfasts and most lunches were served in the area by reception. (Note: If you learned Spanish elsewhere, "huevos revueltos" will get you fried eggs (unlike other countries I've been in); if you want scrambled eggs, ask for "huevos picados!") The AC worked well and was much appreciated; TV was available in the room. The bathroom was large and the shower (no tub) was very roomy and we had sufficient hot water. The grounds were lovely and full of lots of birds. No special feeders to concentrate them, so you had to work a bit to see them in their natural habitats. But the close location to Río Tárcoles and Carara National Park was superb. Río Tarcolitos runs through the property and offered a good number of birds along its shores.

Since we were part of a group (Elderhostel tour) and just paid a lump sum, I can't speak to the price.

Tina
trip report under construction at http://costarica201102.wordpress.com/

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ztsipapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews