We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Jose's Crocodile River Tour
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Tarcoles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An action-packed river boat adventure on the Tarcoles River, Costa Rica. See crocodiles up to 17 feet long, over 30 kinds of exotic birds, iguanas and lizards, cruise through mangrove forest, and admire the rainforest scenery! Wildlife UP-CLOSE! An adventure you must experience! Located 20 minutes from Jaco beach and Los Suenos Resort and Marina.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Keswick, ON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

we saw lots of Crocodiles and Birds, beautiful scenery. Jose gives an awesome tour! very informative and he speaks great English!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisamtravels003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    37
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Activity”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We just went on the tour in January 2014. We had a great time and saw some huge Crocs and cool birds. He is able to summon birds with his whistle and they come for him. He is by far the best tour going for Crocs. The best way to book this tour is direct. You do not need to use any of the resellers. The tour costs $35 each if you book it directly. Here is his number (01150683256533) or you can drive down to the launch in Tarcoles. It is right at the end of the road. You can't miss it. It is best to text him and set the time. The best time is when the tide is high. You can go farther and see more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best tour near Jaco Beach”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I had the best time with Jose and Jimmy on this tour! Jose was so much fun, knowledgeable and delivered on some truly large crocodiles. We were so close we got great pics of these massive crocs being hand fed by Jose's assistant Jimmy. All the crocs have pet names and Jose even called in some falcons that we fed as well. The new catcher for the Red Sox was on our boat (apparently for the third time) with his family. Anytime is a good time to go, but we went at 8:30am and nearly had the boat to ourselves. Don't bother with other similar tours, they are overcrowded with tourists from cruises and less personal. Jose is the man.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You can't get this at the zoo!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Jose is awesome, Jimmy is crazy! The whole river trip is totally worth it. I understand why it has been named the best.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tifpaschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jose's Crocodile River Tour was awesome!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I received a recommendation from a new friend, Karl, to go take Jose's tour! We we're certainly not disappointed! We saw numerous birds and lots and lots of crocodiles! Jose's expert Croc handlers were able to feed numerous wild croc's by hand! We had a blast on our last day before heading back to North Carolina!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kure_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's Crocodile River Tour also viewed

Tarcoles, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Tarcoles, Province of Puntarenas
Carara, Province of San Jose
 

Been to Jose's Crocodile River Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing