We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 River Cruise Operators...”

Jose's Crocodile River Tour
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Tarcoles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An action-packed river boat adventure on the Tarcoles River, Costa Rica. See crocodiles up to 17 feet long, over 30 kinds of exotic birds, iguanas and lizards, cruise through mangrove forest, and admire the rainforest scenery! Wildlife UP-CLOSE! An adventure you must experience! Located 20 minutes from Jaco beach and Los Suenos Resort and Marina.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“4 River Cruise Operators...”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Amazing river cruise...stopping frequently to feed the Crocs chicken pieces held by a young man...in the water w them...teasing w chic, like teasing dogs for a treat...Crazy.

There are more river cruises than Jose's...all do about same. Our guide (Ricky Ricardo ***) brought us to this spot

I thought before arriving we could bring Colectivo to bridge and find boats...not so. (not at the hwy, as I suspected, but we drove past the river coming from puntarenas, and turned right toward the ocean and came back around to river from south side).

We've shown these videos to friends n family, more than any other from our trip....crazy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Balann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    40
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Lots of Crocs and Other Wildlife”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We saw a lot of great wildlife on this boat tour including iguanas, egrets, herons, ibis, crabs, swallows, both golden headed and crested caracaras, tropical kingbirds, hawks, mot mots, Brahma cattle, and most importantly several huge crocodiles. At one point in the tour our boat driver got out of the boat to lure a big croc close to the boat, and we were able to get great photos and a nice video. Such a brave guy! Our tour guide was Rory, and he was very knowledgeable about all of the animals and was also multi-lingual, giving the tour in both German and English. The crocs have witty names like Monica Lewinsky and George Bush. We drove to the location from Manuel Antonio, and Jose met us on the road to take us back to the boat launch area; we thought that was great because it would have been hard to find on our own. Towards the end of the tour, our guide spent a lot of time on his cell phone and that made it hard to ask questions, but I think he probably felt like we had already seen all there was to see. I had read about how funny Jose was, and the guide we had was pretty serious, but we still enjoyed being able to get so close to these fascinating animals and enjoyed this tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank volcanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Jose's Crocodile Tour”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Jose is extremely Knowledgeable & Funny! Saw lots of Crocs from Babies one foot longs to 18 foot 80 yr. old. Tons of birds and exotic wild life ( a regular nation geophysics live).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WTCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Croc Tour”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

most croc tours are like youre in Disneyland...not w/ Jose' and his sidekick Jimmy. Jose' can be a standup comic at times and Jimmy has the nerves of steel as he jumps out of the boat to feed the crocs....Jose' makes the tour so much fun and entertaining he had our boat laughing all the time...and you'll be shocked how Jimmy get the crocs to jump up and feeds them...you will not be bored for one second and you'll have a blast....plus the price is right...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JFLocust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one our fav parts of Costa Rica”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We loved the Croc tour with Jose. He was very entertaining and easy going. The crocs were amazing and everywhere. you are guaranteed to get a good show and be amazed at how close these guys get to these HUGE animals. it is super impressive and very different than anything else we did in CR. Definitely would recommend this tour!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bua3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's Crocodile River Tour also viewed

Tarcoles, Province of Puntarenas
Tarcoles, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Carara, Province of San Jose
 

Been to Jose's Crocodile River Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing