We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base Camp Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Carara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carara
Ranked #4 of 4 Tarcoles B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Base Camp Hotel!”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed a week at Hotel Carara as I visited unbelievable beautiful natural environments in the Tarcoles area.
Red-tailed macaws sit in the trees all around the hotel!
Very peaceful and tranquil. The hotel is right on the ocean.
The sound of waves rolling on the shore.
The food was wonderful, the staff genuine and warm.
Clean and safe.
The restaurant is amazing, great food and cold cervaza!
You can walk through the small village of Tarcoles, everyone is so friendly.
A smile and an "hola" goes a long way.
A great hotel choice and full value for your money.

Room Tip: I liked that I could rent a room that did not have A/C. I prefer fans. And the room was less expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OccupyHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    21
    5
    10
See reviews for
19
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed two nights at Hotel Carara (website hotelcarara with the .com) and highly recommend it. To get there you need to take a bus bound for Jaco (popular tourist destination) for less than $5 from either San Jose or Alajuela. Ask the driver to let you out at Tarcoles. Then you can catch a taxi for a few dollars from there to the beachfront hotel (not a swimming beach but a great walking beach). You are right on the Pacific Ocean with hardly anyone else around, and Scarlet Macaws fly into the almond trees every morning and evening. The hotel is big, with a restaurant and a large swimming pool. At one time it must have been grand. The rooms, with private bath, are large, well appointed and clean, with a/c and cable tv. They also have apartments for long-term stays. $46 for a single included taxes and a full (very good) breakfast. Carolina, the desk clerk, was extremely helpful when I emailed her and while I was staying there. This hotel is very convenient if you are visiting Carara National Park (which has no lodging facilities). It is a ten minute and $6 taxi ride away. There is also an even cheaper public bus if you don't mind the 3km hike to the highway from the hotel. Be sure to check the water in the shower, the a/c, and the remote control for the tv when they take you to your room. Some of these things didn't work, but they were soon fixed or replaced cheerfully by the staff. By the way, the room also had a delightful little balcony looking out to the nearby Pacific Ocean.

Room Tip: Lots of rooms--all looked great. Lots with ocean views from a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Quite good was there only one night. Clean place, close to the park. Could see the macaws in the garden early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend. The staff was very helpful, in spite of our poor language skills. The service and food were good and we enjoyed the proximity to the beach and easy access to the clean, centrally located and large pool. The room was clean, even though it seemed a bit outdated.

The Macaws really stole the show, however, in that they fly by the hotel in the morning and perch in the trees surrounding the hotel. In particular they feed on almonds(?) in trees adjacent to the hotel. Their number is great and should you want to view these magnificent birds, it would be easier to see them here than trudge through the national park for a peak at them. We were able to see them feed, fly, perch, squabble and such for nearly three hours in the morning.

The staff helped us arrange a tour of the crocodiles, which ended up being a remarkable tour of birds which also included the feeding of crocodiles.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrillsOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Super location and very helpful staff. Comfortable room and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Stayed in Tarcoles for a week and was a great experience. Very friendly people and dirt cheap fresh caught seafood. Had a great time chatting with locals and walking down the beach every morning. The one thing I noticed after being in Jaco for a week was how much quieter it was on the beach...the waves are constantly rolling in at Jaco...not a bad thing, but it drowns out all other sounds of birds ect....Tarcoles had no big waves and the sound of the birds every morning was wonderful...saw Macaws just about every day and lots of humming birds ect ect...will be back soon i hope!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nocomment26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

My son and I stayed just one night at Hotel Carara on a weekend trip to the Carara National Preserve area. What an unexpected joy it was to discover this beautiful hotel set on the beach in the sleepy little town of Tarcoles. The staff was extremely helpful in helping us book several adventures (crocodile tour, horseback riding to a waterfall). It was helpful that my son is fluent in Spanish, though, because the staff doesn't speak much, if any, English. I wish we could have stayed longer, because the setting is spectacular for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciclogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcoles
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Lapas
Hotel Villa Lapas
#1 of 2 in Tarcoles
284 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cerro Lodge
Hotel Cerro Lodge
#1 of 1 in Garabito
304 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
823 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#2 of 2 in Punta Leona
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carara

Property: Hotel Carara
Address: Main Street | Carara National Park, Tarcoles 61102, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tarcoles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarcoles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carara 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel carara. Enjoy a tropical paradise on the beach closest to the carara national park. You will see many birds and especially the scarlet macao, ara macao, lapa roja. Pool, restaurant and secure parking in confortable rooms with a/c and ocean view.we wait ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carara Costa Rica/Tarcoles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing