We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Sitio do Alemao
Nearby Hotels
Miraserra(Ubajara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Seller Hotel(Sobral)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Cysne Hotel(Sobral)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Letiva Hotel(Sobral)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Derby Hotel(Sobral)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
35
26
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
26
4
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 68 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really liked this pousada and area and even ended up extending our stay. The pousada is set away from town, but very close to the national park which is a few minutes walk away. Rooms are in well-designed individual cabins that blend into the forest where they are nestled, so you can lie in and listen to the sounds of the forest. Around the extensive grounds are banana trees, avocardo, bread fruit, and absolutely stunning views. There were monkeys fighting over mangos in the trees while we ate breakfast and tortoises rustling in the bushes. One word of caution if you don't like spiders, even though the cabins are sealed from mosquitos there are a few 8-legged friends around.

One of the highlights of the whole holiday was the waterfall trip. It's an absolute must. The waterfalls are set in the most idylic surrounding, which when we were there were completely empty. We found it much more enjoyable then the actual national park which while beautiful had a more rigid path and other tourists there. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dl2399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

we we´re there for a night, found the pousada through our brazilguide. first it was way more far away from the park than described in our guide. there are other pousadas closer. the setting is really nice with the view and all. just the owner doesn´t received us really nice, we asked about having breakfast earlier (wanna see the park and hike before it gets too hot) and the response is just "i will try". he wasn´t helpful at all. the rooms are quite small, that´s ok, but it wasn't really clean. they looked like there haven´t been guests for quite a while. breakfast is ok, if you don´t mind superdry bread.
we expected little more, not in the way of comfort but in personal way. more than guests we felt like invadors in the self-choiced lonelyness of the owner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria01010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERBERT-Ubajara, Inhaber at Pousada Sitio do Alemao, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Sorry, I was returning from a trip (I arrived at home after the guests) and there were so many things to resolve. But I served the breakfast even earlier than they asked for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

herbert, the owner, makes your stay easy and pleasant by giving advice, by organising nice trip to wonderfull waterfall, by giving advice for nice walks..the pousada is outside the town (without car, you need to take taxis to go there for diner), located in a nice parc with all sorts of trees just like banana trees, cafeiers..., you may see some hosts just like monkeys, they came to steel our bananas !
the bungalows are completely hidden in nature, very quiet, simple but clean and comfortable.
the breakfast is top : fruits, sucos, eggs, cakes...and served near the bungalows, it means in nature.
there is no pool, after the walk, we went to tlhe neblina park, very close, where you can have a drink and a swim.
the region worth coming there : fresh atmosphere, very different landscape and not so many tourists.
we spent 2 days there, after having been to Sede cidades and before going to jeri, with 2 children, without a car but with buses and taxis.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clinemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERBERT-Ubajara, Inhaber at Pousada Sitio do Alemao, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

To go to town (4 km) without walking you can also take a motorbike taxi (one fourth of the taxi price) or rent our two bicycles. If people don´t want to go out for eating, we sell homemade lasagne here, or they can just walk in 20 minutes to the two nearest restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I really liked this pousada, I stayed 4 days. It is very close to the National park. You have your own cabin (with or without bathroom) and breakfast is served outside in a very nice location. Early in the morning you can see the monkeys hanging in the trees. Herbert, the owner can give you loads of information about the surrounding. He also organises a trip to visit cachoeira do frade and it is just great. The lasagna that you can eat there is also just amazing. I definitly still want to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annelies V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Herbert is a true POLYGLOTTE, he speaks perfect French, portuguese, English, German... and probably many other languages. I stayed in the smallest of his chalets in the company of bouncing frogs and crickets. It is located quite far from the centre but within walking distance from Ubajara National Park (Brazil´s smallest), though I would definitely recommend going with him to Cachoiera da Fraude and take his handmade map to explore the surrounding countryside.

Breakfast was abundant and delicious with homemade jams and potato bread (a WW II recipe when wheat was scarce...). And don´t hesitate in asking him to show you pictures of his trips in Asia, he´s got loads and is very happy to share.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wwhydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews