We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ecoturism doesn´t mean lazyness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Sitio do Alemao
Reviewed December 5, 2012

we we´re there for a night, found the pousada through our brazilguide. first it was way more far away from the park than described in our guide. there are other pousadas closer. the setting is really nice with the view and all. just the owner doesn´t received us really nice, we asked about having breakfast earlier (wanna see the park and hike before it gets too hot) and the response is just "i will try". he wasn´t helpful at all. the rooms are quite small, that´s ok, but it wasn't really clean. they looked like there haven´t been guests for quite a while. breakfast is ok, if you don´t mind superdry bread.
we expected little more, not in the way of comfort but in personal way. more than guests we felt like invadors in the self-choiced lonelyness of the owner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria01010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERBERT-Ubajara, Inhaber at Pousada Sitio do Alemao, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Sorry, I was returning from a trip (I arrived at home after the guests) and there were so many things to resolve. But I served the breakfast even earlier than they asked for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

herbert, the owner, makes your stay easy and pleasant by giving advice, by organising nice trip to wonderfull waterfall, by giving advice for nice walks..the pousada is outside the town (without car, you need to take taxis to go there for diner), located in a nice parc with all sorts of trees just like banana trees, cafeiers..., you may see some hosts just like monkeys, they came to steel our bananas !
the bungalows are completely hidden in nature, very quiet, simple but clean and comfortable.
the breakfast is top : fruits, sucos, eggs, cakes...and served near the bungalows, it means in nature.
there is no pool, after the walk, we went to tlhe neblina park, very close, where you can have a drink and a swim.
the region worth coming there : fresh atmosphere, very different landscape and not so many tourists.
we spent 2 days there, after having been to Sede cidades and before going to jeri, with 2 children, without a car but with buses and taxis.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clinemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERBERT-Ubajara, Inhaber at Pousada Sitio do Alemao, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

To go to town (4 km) without walking you can also take a motorbike taxi (one fourth of the taxi price) or rent our two bicycles. If people don´t want to go out for eating, we sell homemade lasagne here, or they can just walk in 20 minutes to the two nearest restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I really liked this pousada, I stayed 4 days. It is very close to the National park. You have your own cabin (with or without bathroom) and breakfast is served outside in a very nice location. Early in the morning you can see the monkeys hanging in the trees. Herbert, the owner can give you loads of information about the surrounding. He also organises a trip to visit cachoeira do frade and it is just great. The lasagna that you can eat there is also just amazing. I definitly still want to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annelies V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Herbert is a true POLYGLOTTE, he speaks perfect French, portuguese, English, German... and probably many other languages. I stayed in the smallest of his chalets in the company of bouncing frogs and crickets. It is located quite far from the centre but within walking distance from Ubajara National Park (Brazil´s smallest), though I would definitely recommend going with him to Cachoiera da Fraude and take his handmade map to explore the surrounding countryside.

Breakfast was abundant and delicious with homemade jams and potato bread (a WW II recipe when wheat was scarce...). And don´t hesitate in asking him to show you pictures of his trips in Asia, he´s got loads and is very happy to share.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wwhydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I visited Ubajara for one day only and stayed one night at Herberts Sito do Alemao - a beautiful place max 2 km from the entrance to the National Park of Ubajara. I strongly recommend Sito do Alemao for people loving nature, peace and quite - small simple houses are located among bananas and papaya trees. The owner is a very nice German guy who will provide you with all information you need to stay in the park and will suggest what else to do. Everything is organized in an eco manner. You can relax there in a hammock, take a walk to a great view point (500m), listen to the sounds of nature. In the morning a great breakfast will wait for you!

If you are fit enough I recommend going to visit waterfalls with Herbert - a place 30 km away from Ubajar (by his car). I must admit it's not an easy walk and if you are afraid of high, climbing and walking downstream the waterfall, don't go there. Anyway for those who like adventure it's really worth. Take shoes with stable soles with you as you need to go in the water on the stones which are slippery, forget Havayanas!

Room Tip: for booking contact sitoalemao@hotmail.com, visit www.sito-do-alemao.20fr.com, phone (88) 99 614 645
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bogusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Herbert who owns the Pousada is the perfect host - a well travelled man he knows all there is to know about the area and can take you to visit beautiful waterfalls - the best in Ceara. He can supply you with the information to plan visits to the local falls,springs and lagunas yourself. We booked for 2 nights and stayed 8! We were visited by monkeys one morning and everyday had fresh fruit from the garden. This is a jungle lodge that is affordable and in a beautiful setting and Herbert is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lecorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed here during four days and the owner was a excellent host and guide of this beautiful located pousada in the forest.
Breakfast was good and the National park with waterfalls and the 600 million year old cave where you walk with a guide, was just 15 min walk away.
Herbert the owner knows alot about different sites to visit in Ubajara and will give you a map how to get to the different sites
And he also arrange a tour to Cachoeira do Frade which is a beautiful place with big nature and a chain of waterfalls with the biggest on the end of the tour.
In the same area where this pousada lies you can take a walk to a wonderful site with a panorama view over the mountain and Ubajara national park.
The rooms are simple but cosy with private bathroom and having your own chalet in the middle of the forest.Was like camping but much more comfortable=)
I would recommend this pousada for those who love ecoturism and nature.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Braziliansweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubajara
11.3 mi away
Serra Grande Hotel
Serra Grande Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tiangua
108 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pousada Ubajara
Pousada Ubajara
#4 of 9 in Ubajara
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Semente de Luz
Semente de Luz
#3 of 7 in Ubajara
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Marina Camping Hotel
Marina Camping Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ubajara
15 reviews
10.4 mi away
Muda Eco Parque Hotel
Muda Eco Parque Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiangua
7 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pousada Alvorada
Pousada Alvorada
#5 of 9 in Ubajara
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Sitio do Alemao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Sitio do Alemao

Address: Sitio Santana, Ubajara, State of Ceara 62350-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Ubajara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ubajara
Price Range: $35 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 chalets of various sizes beside the national park. Inside a small farm with coffee, banana, mango and many other trees. A trail goes through rainforest to a viewpoint, where you overlook 100 km. Much Nature and calm. With the words of a guest: "It is the only guesthouse where you can hear a leaf drop on the bottom." Altitude: 900 m, therefore always between 17° and 29° C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Sitio do Alemao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Sitio Do Alemao Ubajara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing